We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of B&B Anfiteatro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Anfiteatro
Ranked #17 of 173 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Have stayed here before in there original premises this time we were in the annex. What lovely accommodation, considerable thought has gone into the renovation of this old building and the end result is great. Comfortable rooms with terrific shower room en-suite and very good décor. The breakfast is available on time and consists of a good range of continental style choices. The location is in the heart of Lucca near the old amphitheatre with lots of interesting places to visit within the walls. Plenty of choices for evening meals including the B & B's own restaurant which is well worth a visit. This is also a good place to stay when exploring the area as Florence, Pisa and Sienna are all within reasonable driving distance. Good rail and bus connections also. We shall definitely be back to stay in this great bed and breakfast establishment.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street and was a little noisy with the window open late evening. The tip is...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lawman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for B&B Anfiteatro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed in the newly renovated annexe of the B@B,it was lovely, very spacious, comfy bed, and a super walk in shower. Lucca kindly prepared an early breakfast for us on the day we went to Florence by bus. The bus station is near the main tourist office, and we went there the day before to buy our tickets. We caught the fast bus, which went up the Autostada taking about an hour and a half.It leaves Lucca at 08.55, the next one 09.55. The return bus leaves Florence at around 18.15 and was a very comfortable journey.Lucca is a great place to visit, with lots to see, and some great restaurants.. . .

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are very comfortable, but are on one of the upper floors, which is quite a clim...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DeirdreNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just home from a 5 night stay in beautiful Lucca. The apartment is quirky, basic, very clean, super value for money and in a fabulous location. The pictures on the Internet are an accurate representation of what to expect. Francisco very kindly carried our heaviest suitcase up to the second floor, 32 steps in all - thank you! There is no wifi in the apartment but plenty of little cafes and bars around offer it. The lounge area overlooks the piazza, see the photo for the view from the window, and the bedroom the little street at the back. Both are busy during the day but quiet around midnight. There is air con in the bedroom which is too noisy to have on overnight. Our opinion - needs updating, a few minor faults but what a fabulous experience staying here. We would definitely book again in either an apartment or the b&b when we return. We visited Lucca a few years ago, opting for an hotel at nearly twice the price. At that time we wondered who lived in the flats on the square never thinking we would have the opportunity to do so even for a short time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was a greate b&b inside the walls. Nice owner met us at the reseption and we slept in the suites a two minute walk. With two small children ( 2 years and 2 months ) we had spasious rooms. Our double stroller was too wide for doors so we had to fold it to get in and leave it downstairs because of stairs to 3. floor. It was not a problem. Ok breakfast and parking in underground garage about 10 min walk was ok. Recomend the place also with small children.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norgemarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice B&B in a perfect location sitting 50 metres from a gate into the anfiteatro.The owner Luca met us on arrival and was very friendly and informative.He took us through a map of the old town and explained some of the attractions.He also owns the Tre Merli restaurant adjacent to the B&B and offered us a 10% discount on dinner.We dined there on the first night and would recommend it.Breakfast is fairly basic but adequate.All in all great value for money.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Magoo809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were very happy with our recent 2 night stay here. The location is fantastic - very central & very easy to find your way back to after a day exploing this beautiful town! Our room was very prettily decorated, with what was possibly the nicest bathroom on our trip! (apart from the lack of anywhere to hang anything!) & the bed comfortable. Breakfast was fine, although served a little late if you were wanting to be up & out to enjoy the town & its surrounds. Wifi did not work in our room, only in the breakfast room - which for us was a hassle as we were planning & booking our trip as we went, & also for family reasons. The stairs to get to the room were steep & narrow - not a problem for us but may be for some. All in all, would happily recommend this property

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

In a central and attractive location, the property has been recently renovated and furnished to a good standard with attention to detail throughout. The room was spacious and comfortable with a separate hallway/dressing room. The hosts were friendly and helpful. Breakfast, which was included in the price, was very good. There was free wi-fi available in the room and we were welcome to use the kitchen facilities; it was good to be able to make a cup of tea when returning from a day out.
Overall, this is the best, yet reasonable priced, B&B /hotel we stayed in on our trip to Italy and would be very happy to stay here again one day. Highly recommended for anyone planning a trip to this lovely city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,098 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#10 of 47 in Lucca
467 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#8 of 47 in Lucca
931 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Relais Inn Lucca
Relais Inn Lucca
#19 of 173 in Lucca
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Anfiteatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Anfiteatro

Address: Via dell'Anfiteatro 25, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: £49 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B Anfiteatro 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Anfiteatro is located in the historic center of Lucca, in front of one of the finest squares in Italy, Piazza Anfiteatro; from the large living room windows you can admire the remains of ancient columns that formed the Roman amphitheater. Our location is very central and close to the B&B there are many wine bars and restaurants. The B&B offers accommodation in 5 rooms (3 double and 2 doubles) all finished in wood with furniture carefully selected and treated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Anfiteatro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Anfiteatro
b&b Anfiteatro Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing