We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of Bar San Frediano

Bar San Frediano
Ranked #271 of 597 Restaurants in Lucca
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Ate lunch here with family on 2007 trip.
Sd
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Great food! Great coffee! And really amazing service! The bar is ran entirely by one family and has been for generations. The vibe is friendly and comfortable. Stop by and say hello to the owner Celestino, he's lived in Lucca his entire life and can help guide you around the city as well as make you an authentic cappuccino!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    25
    10
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great Hangout in Lucca”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This turned out to be one of my favorite hangouts in Lucca. It was fun to watch the tourists who were usually photographing the mosaic facade of San Frediano church and it was also fun to sit in view of that facade and just enjoy some wine and a meal. The food was rather ordinary but quite tasty and the staff - which all seemed to be family of the restaurant owners - were very accommodating. Prices were reasonable and it was a great place to watch life in Lucca pass by. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sketchyStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lucca's Best Kept Secret!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stumbled upon Bar San Frediano on my very first day visiting Lucca back in 2007, and was immediately welcomed by the local family who runs this cozy little bar. The meal I had was excellent- very tasty, and also reasonably priced! You can get anything from a big fresh salad, to local specialties. They even have plates of typical meats and cheeses... Pair that with some local Chianti and Tuscan bread... One can hardly ask for more! Come to find out, they also have some of the BEST coffee you will ever have (Bei e Nannini)- and that comes from a girl who lived in Italy for 10 years!

I spent a year in Lucca attending a small university just outside the historical center, and found myself coming back to Bar San Frediano time and time again. Even years later, every time I have the pleasure of visiting Lucca, I make it a point to come back to this place!

Bar San Frediano offers its patrons the peaceful atmosphere of the Piazza, a stunning view of the church, and simply delicious food and drinks! Enjoy the tastes of Lucca while people-watching and mingling with locals, and I guarantee you too fall in love with Bar San Frediano! It is simply magical :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“Good place for a coffee & to chill”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I love this Piazza as you can sit and watch life pass. You can also have a light breakfast if you wish & catch up on emails. The square is a flurry of activity from early morning till late in the evening. Food isn't that great but that's not why you go there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank afootandahalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallacoota, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great place to watch the world go by”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stopped in here one afternoon on the recommendation of our B&B hosts and also to get out of pouring rain. We spent an hour or so having a drink and during that time we were served a number of antipasto dishes (gratis), so much so that we did not need dinner. It was a pleasant experience sitting outside under the umbrellas and then inside when the rain got heavier. Staff are pleasant and the location is lovely. Mostly locals which is always a bonus.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aqob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar San Frediano also viewed

 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Bar San Frediano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing