We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine but not as nice as expected”
Review of Casa Paolina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Paolina
Ranked #17 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Lucca
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fine but not as nice as expected”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

THE GOOD

The location -- near a large piazza, close to shops, sites, the wall (for strolling and cycling) and restaurants.

The facility -- easy access apartment building with elevator for elderly travelers.

THE NOT SO GOOD

Living/dining: Were not as large as web site pictures make it out to be. Only two very low-to-the-ground arm chairs -- each with tears in the faux leather upholstery -- for a flat that sleeps four make it uncomfortable for lounging and impossible for a disabled person to sit/find an comfortable chair.

Electricity Emergency -- lost all electricity while cooking. We called both emergency numbers -- the emergency services line and the staff mobile phone -- both long-distance called and with no answer. Went to the office to see if anyone was still there and HAPPENED TO NOTICE a sign taped on the opposite wall about electricity fuse box in basement. Took a bit of navigating to find, but it did the trick.

Kitchen -- is essentially in a closet: two hot plate-style burners, no counter space and sparse utensils. A plus: the fridge is spacious.

Cleanliness: Kitchen and bathroom were very clean, but dust atop bedroom armoire, sooty table and chair as well as a dirty sheet found on the balcony detracted from overall cleanliness.

Wi-fi: non-existent in our flat. Resorted to our own hot-spot, but could only use in certain areas as reception also very poor or non-existent. We would resort to lovely tea salon/cafe downstairs.

Blaring concerts and street closures: We were not informed at time of booking or even upon arrival that the streets would be closed -- as well as entrance to the building blocked, forcing long detours -- during the Summer festival concerts. Luckily we had a key to prove we were staying there or police would not have let us through the blockade. Concerts were in adjacent piazza and were incredibly loud and went until midnight. Also, street closures made it extremely difficult to drive car to the building. Driving thorugh pediestrian-filled narrow streeets is not for the feint of heart!

Staff: Conscientious and well-meaning, but full of excuses and unapologetic when presented with the litany of problems.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjsanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    15
    6
    2
    7
See reviews for
23
17
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We booked Apartment number 3, 7 month before arrival because we wanted an Apartment with a balcony and got our booking confirmed by casa paolina, but apparently they raised the prices since we booked the Apartment and when we arrived we were taken to Apartment number 6 which is a small dark Apartment on the other side facing a church wall, when we complained we were told only Apartment made a mistake, the Apartment that we have booked cost more Money and this was the only Apartment they had, after more complaining Apartment number 9 suddenly became available, when we were still upset that they rented our Apartment out on purpose to someone else without telling us. We were told we could either take the Apartment and be happy we got this apartment or get 200 euros (with the deposit we paid more) and leave immediately which they knew was not an option because all was sold out in Lucca because of a concert. We had to stay and this was a very uncomfortable stay , if it was a mistake with the Price why did the confirm our booking instead of telling us , so we could book at another place.. The wifi signal is very poor

Room Tip: be carefull booking when they have Lucca summer festival, you might not get the room you booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetteHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel location enables you to enjoy this city to its maximum. The facilities are great with modern comforts to enjoy and is exceptionally clean. My apartment fronted the piazza and heard no sound/noise what-so-ever. if you’re looking for a great place to stay - look no further.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springtimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaPaolina, Responsabile reception at Casa Paolina, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Google Translation
Gentilissimo Tim,
la ringraziamo per la sua ottima recensione torni presto a trovarci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

'Gli stranieri sono molto strani' she says to us as we arrive at Reception. 'Foreigners are really strange'. Well, what a nice reception that was too. Never have I experienced someone as false and discourteous as this lady. Sorry, but if you own and run a hotel in a Tuscan city that is particular popular with 'foreginers' would you not at least try to be hospitable and open-minded?
Anyway...
Next we ask for somewhere to eat, a nice local osteria for the evening, and we are recommended a snooty bistrot run by a (special) friend of hers. Umm... have you even bothered to try and understand your clientele? To add insult to injury we are not given a map and we are told that 'non mi ricordo' (I don't remember) the name of X street. Some things, I'd say, are fundamental when you run a hotel. Not knowing street names or directions is a crime of the highest order for someone running a downtown hotel. No other recommendations or helpful advice for the city AT ALL.

Broken shower; HORRIBLE furniture (including dead cow rug on the floor); 'double' bed two singles shoved together; two measly sachets of Nescafe coffee and Lipton tea; CCTV cameras everywhere like Big Brother; no wifi internet despite being 'free and non-stop'. Need I go on...?

In short, do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else if you want to enjoy this fantastic city. Don't waste your hard-earned money. Being asked nearly 200€ for one night here is a complete joke.

I imagine that all these gleamingly positive reviews must have been written by (special) friends and family members of the aforementioned.

Location perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boutros88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaPaolina, Responsabile reception at Casa Paolina, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Google Translation
Gentilissima Cliente,
mi dispiace veramente tanto per la brutta esperienza che ha avuto a Casa Paolina!
Io lavoro qui da 3 anni e mi sono sempre presa cura dei nostri ospiti come ha potuto leggere nelle numerose recensioni positive scritte su di noi.
Purtroppo il giorno del suo check in non ero presente e la persona che mi ha sostituito non è stata assolutamente all'altezza della nostra reputazione, che mi creda, ci siamo costruiti con molto impegno e sacrificio.
Spero quindi che un episodio sporadico non rovini il lavoro di tanti anni e la invito a tornare per verificare di persona che ciò che ha letto di positivo su di noi corrisponde al vero.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

As has been said before - great location, great apartment and very helpful and attentive staff. good for families and young children. Not much to do after 9PM as everything closes including most restaurants. so eat early !

Room Tip: Beware the church bells that ring every morning at 9 AM. Apart from Sunday ..? They ring later?? May...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malc0lm_L0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaPaolina, Responsabile reception at Casa Paolina, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
...and great review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were very lucky to land an offer on these apartments, in the very heart of beautiful Lucca.

These vast , clean, parquet floored apartments are a wonderful find. Comfortable, equipped with a very functional kitchen, a living room and spacious bedroom, the apartment could comfortably fit up to 5 people. Ideal for a family or close friends to share.

To me location is key, and these apartments are smack in the middle of Lucca. We were greeted with much kindness and were given great advice on how to enjoy and visit the city.

If you're travelling by car , Casa Paolina issues a car pass for you to enter the city . As for parking, it's available by the nearby train station at a very reasonable price.

If the price is right and you're considering booking at Casa Paolina , I would say go for it now!
Enjoy :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrza313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This apartment is in a fantastic location, is very modern and plush and well equipped, and gave us a very comfortable stay in the heart of Lucca. The space you get from a serviced apartment like this makes it a much better bet than an hotel, and hard to beat overall if you want somewhere right in the thick of the action. Noise not a problem for us even though there was plenty going on below. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3lance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.2 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.1 mi away
Residence Il Duomo
Residence Il Duomo
#4 of 75 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Paolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Paolina

Property: Casa Paolina
Address: Piazza Venti Settembre 2, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Paolina 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Paolina apartments are just a few steps from the town centre, at the junction of the cardum and decumanum, which marked the very heart of the ancient Roman town; Casa Paolina apartments overlook Piazza XX Settembre (once called Piazza delle Erbe because a fruit and vegetable market used to take place there), Via Beccheria, Piazza San Giusto, Piazza Napoleone (the most important square in Lucca). Besides boasting a particularly central position, Casa Paolina apartments also enjoy a very pleasant sun exposure, very difficult to find in other parts of the town. Casa Paolina Holiday Apartments in Lucca are the ideal place for both a historical and modern holiday; they are set in the very heart of the pedestrian historical centre of the town, rich in history of the 12th, 17th and 18th century and very close to Via Fillungo, the “most elegant promenade” in Lucca, whose smart boutiques fill the ancient town inside the Roman walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Paolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing