We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful lunch”
Review of Vigna Ilaria Ristorante Locanda - CLOSED

Vigna Ilaria Ristorante Locanda
Price range: US$46 - US$74
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 11 December 2011

After the sad demise of La Mora, I think this is the best restaurant in Lucca. Yes, you have to navigate carefully to find it in Pieve San Stefano but it is SO worth the drive. Charming welcome, helpful and attentive hosts, innovative delicious food - proudly and responsibly sourced by local farmers and producers, blazing log fire. We had the four course slow meal (I had the fish version and my husband the meat version). Our host Andrea Maggi brought us lots of additional surprise courses as well. Highlights are the tordelli, or meat and fish; the cheese fonduta with truffle, the anchovy starter, the crispy polenta and salt cod with leeks. Do go and enjoy this restaurant; we will return on each of our visits to Lucca (and we come over monthly!) For info: we paid 35 euros a head excluding wine - and we thought this was great value for what we had. It was much cheaper ( and better in our view) than our visit earlier in the year to nearby Butterfly.

Date of visit: December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank London-Silver-Tongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

We found our way to the restaurant without any difficulty, through a huge September storm. (We got soaked just getting out of our car!) The restaurant's setting is great, with a warm welcome, comfortable dining room, and top quality service.

We weren't really sure what to order and put our total trust in the staff to advise us. We had one menu with meat, and one with fish. We really felt like they had made the effort to understand us, and to provide a menu which matched the best ingredients of the day with dishes that we would like to try. In the end we were completely happy we had put our faith in them. We tried all of each other's dishes and we were in agreement that this was one of the very best meals we had had for many years.

Without writing detailed reviews of each dish, I would just say that It's clear that at Vigna Ilaria they genuinely care about their ingredients, and they combine them simply and confidently to really allow you to appreciate them to their fullest. They recommended some really interesting wines as well.

This was not the most expensive meal of our Italian holiday by a long way, which made it extraordinarily good value.

We think this is a must-try restaurant, and we'll definitely go back if we are in the area. But as you can tell from the other reviews here, it's not necessarily for everyone. If you want outstanding local ingredients in brilliantly executed dishes, give it a try. If you are just hoping for a posh pizza, it's probably best you go somewhere else.

Date of visit: September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank andrewb_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Sometimes we came to this lovely place tuscany with friends,we had pass to this place for dinner.Very disapointed.We get lost even tought we had gps.The place was very hard to find.When inside we waited for several time,nobody serve us.We wait for about15 min.The dinner was a disaster!The service itself orrible!Sorry we wont get back there for dinner!

Date of visit: November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank gerald l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The atmosphere is fab. At first you might think the waiter/owner has an off day but it all comes with the act. He and his wife (who does all the work and he likes to be the entertainer...) go out of their way to help you choose a good meal and an accompanying local wine. We had a lovely evening with good food and wine and we had a very good laugh with the staff and other guests.

Date of visit: November 2011
1  Thank travelblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We had a perfect family reunion in Lucca -- 3 generations and we could not have had a more wonderful time. We decided to cap off our stay with a perfect last supper so we ate at Vigna Ilaria. We picked this restaurant based on reviews from Trip Advisors. When we told our waiter (husband of the owner) that we picked this restaurant because one of the reviewers said it was their favorite restaurant in Europe, the waiter replied that it may not be the best all around restaurant, but it does serve the best salad in all of Europe. So of course, we all had to order that salad. And it was BEAUTIFUL. Each bite had another fresh herb whose flavor made your mouth sing. The appetizers alone were works of art, as was every other course. And we had a beautiful and memorable time eating under the tent. The cab ride to and from the restaurant was quite a sensation too. One of the passengers asked the driver if he was Jason Bourne, and who he was escaping from this time!

Date of visit: June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank MarshaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vigna Ilaria Ristorante Locanda also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing