We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piccolo Hotel Puccini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Piccolo Hotel Puccini
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We used the Puccini as a rendezvous for our group of eleven starting the Via Francegina walk to Siena. The location of the hotel, up a quiet side-street, was ideal as a base to explore Lucca, though we wish wish we cold have spent more time there, Staff could not have been more friendly in helping out and waiting for some of our party whose flights were late. There is a annexe building where we stayed which is equally comfortable and secure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morga7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    107
    35
    7
    6
See reviews for
32
103
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

There's never been an equal to the location of this property and the incredible attention given to guests' every need by Paolo and Franco cannot be beat. The rooms were, however, looking a little dated and the carpets were showing their age. NOW...WOW! The new floors are just beautiful and the rooms have a sleek - yet welcoming - Italian-designer look. Hope to be a guest there for another eighteen years and offering further favorable commentary on this experience (more than just a hotel "stay") in the very center of beautiful Lucca. (Breakfast a real delight, too: you meet the most interesting people from all over the world. It's like joining friends, old and new, in a wonderfully hospitable atmosphere.)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavannahMame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in June as the weather was hotting up. Air-conditioning would have been welcome but the ceiling fan did help to a degree.We kept the shutters closed all the time to keep the temperature down.
Our room was very clean and comfortable but rather bare and bland, if such things concern you. The bed was good and the bathroom worked well and was clean - all you really need. We could have used a minibar to keep drinks cold. Breakfast was a very small affair - both in terms of the space available and the quantity of food!
The staff were very helpful and welcoming but the biggest plus for the hotel is its location - very central to everything you might want to see/visit (Lucca is not very big) and with plenty of cafes and restaurants very nearby.
If I were staying longer in Lucca, I might want to seek out a hotel with more character but for a couple of nights and little time spent indoors, it was a very useful base.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, very close to the centre, but it lacks soul. The plastic tubes full of fake flowers that line the hallway are tacky. The whole room smelt like a dentist and I'm not sure why. The bathroom was very small and the shower was dark and dingy. Out of all the hotels we stayed at in Italy (there have been many and of the same star rating) this was our least preferred.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mel414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, MD
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visited this small hotel in Lucca and were quite pleased. The front desk staff was friendly and VERY helpful. We had a harrowing drive to the hotel as it is well within the walled city on a very narrow street. Our car was a bit large and it was a tricky ride to navigate the streets. The front desk person showed us an easy way out and saved us a bundle on parking by suggesting a car park for half price of the lots right near the walls.

The room was renovated recently and comfortable. Breakfast was typical Italian with rolls, jams, and very good coffee. The only surprise was that breakfast was not included in the room price. At check out, we discovered that we had to pay an additional 7 euros per person for each breakfast. Had we known that we would have had coffee at an outdoor cafe and picked up some tasty delights at one of the great nearby bakeries.

Overall, a very nice experience in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayekapostle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burghausen
Level Contributor
139 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I have been to the Piccolo Puccini several times. Now they are just about to finish renovations of the rooms. Modern interior, good mattresses, a desk with lost of plugs (which is a sign that they think about the IT necessities nowadays), good housekeeping - all at reasonable prices.
Breakfast is typically (sweet) italian, nothing for me, but you get a freshly made coffee, bread, jam, something sweet. Staff is very friendly and helpful and the location is right in the middle of the city next to San Michele square. 100% recommendable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itpchristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Franco and Paulo run the front desk and much else. They are welcoming,helpful,friendly. Fun too!Exceptional in every way..Grazie di tutto!
A small hotel,smallish rooms,older furnishings but a good mattress and
Fresh,white sheets and linens. Simple but beautifully located steps from St Michele de Foro and all the wonderful shops ,restuarants,places of interest.
Friendly,convenient,

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais San Lorenzo
Relais San Lorenzo
#16 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.1 mi away
Antica Residenza dell'Angelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Hotel Puccini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel Puccini

Property: Piccolo Hotel Puccini
Address: Via di Poggio 9, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccolo Hotel Puccini 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Piccolo Hotel Puccini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing