We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centro Paradiso in Lucca!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Piccolo Hotel Puccini
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have been staying at the Piccolo Puccini Hotel when visiting family and Northern Tuscanny over many years. Paolo and Franco, the owners, treat everyone like family. You get to know the traditional values and charm of this particular slice of Italy. This albergo is small and quaint. Extremely well located in the medievial center of this walled historic city. Safely walk the cobbled stone streets to the roman amphiteater, Puccini's House where he wrote several of his world acknowledged operas, sip great coffee drinks while eating the local buccelatto or attend a free outdoor concert. A 12th century archers' militia may parade down a narrow viale, twirling their flags high into the blue sky! These and many more attractions, including easy access for jaunts to the Italian Riviera beaches, Pisa, Florence, and the fabulous natural setting of the Garfagnana alps make a visit to Lucca so special. We stay at the piccolo Puccini Hotel in Lucca at then explore from this wonderful homey base all that the "off the radar" Lucca/Tuscanny has to offer. Oh, did I mention that Lucca , being just over the hill from the Ligurian sea cools down at night? Why spend a day on a jet and not experience what you came for?



sheraton experience

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cosmo7760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very central in the Old Town of Lucca but away from the busy shopping street. Room was a good size but without a fridge or good hanging and shelving space and no AC but it did have a good ceiling fan. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Discount offered for cash. We thought this hotel was a touch expensive, particularly with no breakfast, as compared to other hotels we stayed in, in Italy.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Perfect location overlooking the square where Puccini's statue sits. Reception staff helpful and charming. Can wander out of front door straight into the streets of this delightful town. No aircon which could be of concern during hot ... room basic but comfortable. We loved our stay and will be returning in 2015.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yogaflowjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We used the Puccini as a rendezvous for our group of eleven starting the Via Francegina walk to Siena. The location of the hotel, up a quiet side-street, was ideal as a base to explore Lucca, though we wish wish we cold have spent more time there, Staff could not have been more friendly in helping out and waiting for some of our party whose flights were late. There is a annexe building where we stayed which is equally comfortable and secure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank morga7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

There's never been an equal to the location of this property and the incredible attention given to guests' every need by Paolo and Franco cannot be beat. The rooms were, however, looking a little dated and the carpets were showing their age. NOW...WOW! The new floors are just beautiful and the rooms have a sleek - yet welcoming - Italian-designer look. Hope to be a guest there for another eighteen years and offering further favorable commentary on this experience (more than just a hotel "stay") in the very center of beautiful Lucca. (Breakfast a real delight, too: you meet the most interesting people from all over the world. It's like joining friends, old and new, in a wonderfully hospitable atmosphere.)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SavannahMame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in June as the weather was hotting up. Air-conditioning would have been welcome but the ceiling fan did help to a degree.We kept the shutters closed all the time to keep the temperature down.
Our room was very clean and comfortable but rather bare and bland, if such things concern you. The bed was good and the bathroom worked well and was clean - all you really need. We could have used a minibar to keep drinks cold. Breakfast was a very small affair - both in terms of the space available and the quantity of food!
The staff were very helpful and welcoming but the biggest plus for the hotel is its location - very central to everything you might want to see/visit (Lucca is not very big) and with plenty of cafes and restaurants very nearby.
If I were staying longer in Lucca, I might want to seek out a hotel with more character but for a couple of nights and little time spent indoors, it was a very useful base.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, very close to the centre, but it lacks soul. The plastic tubes full of fake flowers that line the hallway are tacky. The whole room smelt like a dentist and I'm not sure why. The bathroom was very small and the shower was dark and dingy. Out of all the hotels we stayed at in Italy (there have been many and of the same star rating) this was our least preferred.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mel414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 47 in Lucca
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Diana
Albergo Diana
#26 of 47 in Lucca
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais San Lorenzo
Relais San Lorenzo
#15 of 47 in Lucca
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 47 in Lucca
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Hotel Puccini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel Puccini

Address: Via di Poggio 9, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range: £56 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccolo Hotel Puccini 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Piccolo Hotel Puccini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing