We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Familyfriendly nearby Lucca”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great hotel for exploring the surroundings of Lucca and Pisa. Good parking, and the hotel also rent bicykles which we can reccomend for exploring the city of Lucca. The breakfast is well sorted with good selection. Nice and clean rooms. Friendly and serviceminded staff. Reccomend this hotel if you want to stay outside the center of Lucca.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jarle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hotel is well situated as it is just off the highway. The rooms are quite spacious and comfortable but the walls are paper thin.If you sneeze your next door neighbor will say bless you. The bed was quite comfortable and the wifi a bit spotty but hey for 1 or 2 days meeting clients and customers, its fine.
The city of Lucca is lovely and well worth the visit to walk the cobble stone streets.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pandora_is_Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is quite old fashioned in exterior and lobby but the rooms are clean and nice. Initially we were given a small room with single beds and facilities for disabled people which we did not request. However it was quickly sorted and we were moved to the second floor with double bed and spacious room. They also supplied a kettle, cups and tea upon request for free! Stayed with Globus tour, quite a distance from Lucca town too far to walk. Local restaurant L'Amico Fritz Bistrot excellent- must make reservation. Second night dinner at hotel was just OK. Overall good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sahara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent hotel and a proper four star. Nice, cool, contemporary rooms and bathrooms (and huge beds) and quite elegant and spotlessly clean public spaces. Friendly, efficient staff and superb wi-fi. Breakfast was also very good - a broad mix of the usual continental fayre but plentiful. Hire bikes were a touch ropey and - given the location about 25 minutes' flat walk from town (not recommended with luggage in a heat wave but quite pleasant after dark - might have been cheaper or even free (!). There IS a very good bus service at E1.20 which you can buy tickets for from the hotel desk. Best place to catch this very regular new LAM Blu service is to turn LEFT outside the hotel. Cross the road and use the new footpath to the brand new hospital. LAM Blu starts and finishes here. There is also an apperitivo culture here (buy a drink and get free snacks) which I discovered at a trendy little bar called Re:Wine

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ybyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my wife and two children.
The room was modern, very clean and very well furnished and included a bedroom and adjoining sitting room with sofa beds. The bathrooms were very good with jacuzzi baths.
I cannot understand why this hotel has not received more reviews, the staff were good, the restaurant excellent and Lucca town centre is quite near.
I would highly recommend this hotel especially if you have a family

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was an accidental find, as we were actually trying to stay in the old city of Lucca. Unfortunately, smaller hotels in Europe find it difficult to accommodate a family of 4, so the Best Western was ideal. We were very happy with our find, as it was easy to get to the old city (we had a car, but they also offer a shuttle), but it was also a great location to explore the countryside, including Pisa (only 30 minutes away). The staff was VERY friendly, and our children were thrilled to have such variety at breakfast!

Would definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephaniekessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were in a suite on the top floor of this modern hotel with a huge sitting room with flat screen tv, minibar and safe. The large adjoining bedroom was clean and comfortable (plus another flat screen tv) with patio doors onto a completely private enclosed balcony with views over surrounding countyside. The ensuite bathroom had a whirlpool bath, shower and bidet. Breakfast was as good as most Best Western hotels, whilst dinner was excellent value. The food was well presented and tasty, the service was good and the local wine was exceptionally good value. We found having a car was important and had no problem parking at the entrance to Lucca.

Room Tip: Worth having a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChasDartmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
1.0 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 47 in Lucca
946 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,110 reviews
2.1 mi away
Eurostars Toscana
Eurostars Toscana
#17 of 47 in Lucca
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
3.5 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 47 in Lucca
388 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 47 in Lucca
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi

Address: Via Romana 1247, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lucca
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#11 Family Hotel in Lucca
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range: £76 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel located near the historic center, offers tasteful decor, meeting facilities, restaurant & bar; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lucca
Lucca Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing