We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Nido della Rondine
Ranked #39 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Lucca
Reviewed 18 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank JLo993
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

First of all, my family and I ended up here by accident as the original hotel we were supposed to stay at cancelled on us at the 11th hour (even though we had a reservation). Whatever. That's besides the point. My cousin recommended Il Nido Della Rondine, and it was perfect. Claudio welcomed us, he came through, and allowed us to enjoy our vacation. It's located in a perfect location, close to the city center, and there's a cafe across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAtoNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed in Lucca for more than a week and this was a very comfortable and spacious apartment, just outside the walls of the old city. There is also good wifi and next door are a nice cafe place for breakfast and a take away pizza baker using a wood oven, which gives a delicious smell on the apartments parking place.The local manager Claudio is very helpful with local information. We really recommend this apartment block to others looking for a good place to stay around Lucca.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mouton-amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This apartment is advertised in Booking.com as a hotel, but it is an apartment, with daily maid service and breakfast. If you book the bigger ones, you get continental breakfast brought to your door, otherwise, I believe you are given money to use the vending machines.
Our one was one of the bigger ones, but it was very noisy, as it was next to the vending machines. Also, as all floors were tiled, sound travelled very easily. We could hear the bang! from the vending machines, dropping the goods inside it. Also, we could here next door as they dragged a chair across their room! On the positive side, Claudio, the young manager, was extremely helpful, which made up for our dis-appointments. Also, we were 6 to 7 minutes walk from the walled city of Lucca. Thought the apartment was expensive for what we got.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get the bigger ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Desperate to find accommodation for the night in an otherwise booked out Lucca, our search lead us to Il Nido della Rondine - thanks to the efforts of a hostess at one of the booked out establishments, who took it upon herself to find something for us.

Well, it was just for one night, but all we got was really four bare walls and a bed. No sofa or easy chair to sit on, despite the size of the unit. No cutlery, despite the kitchen, and no kettle to boil water! (There was, however, a dish washer!). And no breakfast - except for one teabag and some biscottes.

On the plus side? Free parking and an easy walk into town, and Claudio, the super friendly host.

But at 85 euros a night this was far and away the most expensive accommodation we had in Italy, in terms of value for money.

Moral of the story? Book in advance if you are going to Lucca on a weekend in September. (But not at Il Nido della Rondine...)

Room Tip: Not the one we had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I chose Il Nido della Rondine due to the free parking and location close to the centre of Lucca. We were met with a warm and friendly welcome from Claudio who gave us a map and information about the area. The accommodation we had was clean and spacious and located a short walk from the city walls. If you want to stay in a building with character, this will not be for you but we thought it was excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Stayed with 4 friends = a apartment for 5! Apartment was very good in size, impeccably clean and included a bedroom with a double bed, sofa-bed for two and one extra bed.

We ended up eating out: lunch, dinner & breakfast. Even so, the apartment was very well equipped: cooking facilities, fridge, dishwasher and ironing board, flat-screen, satellite TV and air-conditioning.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was not a question left unanswered and anything we needed they were able to help with.

Location of the apartments is excellent. It is outside the Lucca walls, but close enough for just a short walk. Parking is free. And the location is easy to find when arriving to Lucca.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudioRondine, Direttore at Il Nido della Rondine, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for your kindness and for this nice review, as you can easily understand this is really important to us.

Please, for your next trip in Italy, do not hesitate to call or send me an email and I will be pleased to give you all the useful information you may need.

Regards,

Claudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
4.7 mi away
Hotel Da Carlos
Hotel Da Carlos
#1 of 1 in Santa Maria del Giudice
182 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 48 in Lucca
1,148 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa Casanova Lucca
Villa Casanova Lucca
#1 of 1 in Balbano
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
La Pieve di Sant'Andrea
La Pieve di Sant'Andrea
#1 of 2 in Maggiano
59 reviews
4.8 mi away
Relais Victoria
Relais Victoria
#1 of 1 in San Macario in Monte
82 reviews
1.2 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 48 in Lucca
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido della Rondine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido della Rondine

Address: Via delle Tagliate I 231, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Lucca
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido della Rondine 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Really close to the historic center of Lucca, just outside Porta Sant'Anna, the new Apart - Hotel Il nido della Rondine offers to its guests a sojourn in an elegant, refined and equipped residence with all comforts. Il nido della rondine holiday apartments offers 15 apartments, 36 sqm studios for 2 persons and 45 sqm apartments for four or five people, all elegantly furnished and equipped with satellite TV, telephone, internet, air conditioning and a kitchenette with dishwasher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Nido della Rondine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing