We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay with lovely hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
phillipi
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay with lovely hosts”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Hi Just came back from here with a group of 6 friends, we thoroughly enjoyed the accommodation,location and the very friendly and helpful hosts Roberta and Renko.

The pictures accurately match the property, the garden was lovely as was the pool.

We didn't hire a car and just about survived by hiring bikes , but if I was to go back (more than likely) then I'd hire a car.

The kitchen was huge and a pleasure to cook in.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne P
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely situation”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I stayed at Il Mandolato with extended family in June 2014. The property which is a converted barn is situated in a lovely position and has a beautiful scenic outlook. A car is necessary as it is off the beaten track which is part of its charm. The property is approached by two small flights of stairs to the main area and a minus point is that the lower one does not have a handrail making it difficult for any person who may be a little unsteady.

The appearance of the property is exactly like the pictures shown and has a huge kitchen – the whole length of the conversion, so lots of exercise can be had walking from the fridge which is at one end and the cooker at the other. Another black mark is from a cleanliness point of view. The floor had not been washed between occupations and when visiting the bathroom on my first morning I discovered the soles of my feet were black when I walked barefoot from my bedroom across the lounge to the bathroom. The loose cover over the settee was also a little grubby, but the bedding was clean and fresh and changed weekly.

Unfortunately also what is not made clear is that there is absolutely no privacy, so it may be ideal for an extended family but not say for 2 couples with children who are thinking of sharing the sizeable accommodation. It does indeed sleep 8 people, with bunk beds in an alcove off the main room the alcove also has doors leading into the main bedroom and 2nd bedroom. The second bedroom is off the lounge area and also contains a flight of stairs to the mezzanine area where there are 2 single beds. This area is not closed off but has a waist high rail overlooking the 2nd bedroom. From the mezzanine bedroom you can also look straight into the main on-suite bedroom because of the structure of the wall which is rustic Tuscany barn style with gaps for air.

Despite the above comments as a family we adjusted and as the weather was very good wge spent a lot of time by the pool when not sightseeing. It is ideally placed for sightseeing.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2014
Dear Mrs.Anne P.
in all these years when we rented the house no person has given feedback so negative.
I can be proud of how we deliver the home from every point of view and the cleanliness is a very important aspect for us and you can also see from the photos.
I do not know exactly what motivated you to write this judgment, if the floor was dirty is because when you came you were in a lot of people and you have soiled the floor , being in the countryside is much easier than entering and exiting the floor is dirty.
Perhaps you have had other problems beyond the home because his judgment is too bad and certainly not true.Sinceraly Roberta Traversa MANDOLATO
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela196...
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picture perfect ideal holiday house”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This holiday villa is perfect. We were a party of ten who did not want to leave. Roberta & Renzo are the perfect hosts and not at all intrusive. The house is beautiful with everything you need. The pool was ideal for keeping us all cool. The grounds are stunning with fruit trees and a vegetable garden. Perfect relaxation for all the family.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2hopeless
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent 5 star”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is a very spacious and comfortable rental with large dining kitchen area and salon with outstanding views. Superb inground pool in beautiful setting together with a warm welcome from hosts who leave you in complete privacy but are available to call on for any requirements, tips or information you may need.

Unusually for rental properties all cleaning materials are left i.e for dishwasher, washing machine etc which saves a lot of hassle shopping or bringing in luggage

Well appointed bathrooms with ample hot water and towels, separate towels are also provided for the pool.

Full netting is provided for mosquito season although we did not need them.

The property can sleep 8 with two of the beds being bunk beds in the alcove between the two very spacious and well appointed double bedrooms. Twin beds in the mezzanine above the 2nd double bedroom. There are also cots available should they be required.

Ideal house for a family - a car is necessary

We liked it so much we are returning this year as a couple renting their smaller property La Pergola.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy288
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect House for a Large Group near Lucca”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had 8 people in our party and the house was perfect for us. Everyone had a bed and the living room and kitchen were huge. Two full bathrooms as well. It is an old farmhouse but everything on the inside is very modern and looked brand new. It was very clean on the inside and outside. The price was very reasonable and the location was fantastic, only minutes from the walled city of Lucca. Lucca is a great base for Florence, Pisa, Cinque Terre, and the tuscan region. The property had a large yard and a very big swimming pool, which we used many times during our stay. The owners (Roberta and her husband) are very friendly and answered all of our many questions before and during our visit. They also live next door and are always around in case you need them. We highly recommend IL Mandolato and hope to return to it again for another vacation some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural setting, modern interior and large yard/pool
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Le lieu, l'état de l'ensemble, la gentillesse des hôtes
Liked least: Le temps passe trop vite
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartzagat...
Mol, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing