We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Geco Circolo Eno Gastronomico

Il Geco Circolo Eno Gastronomico
Ranked #56 of 578 Restaurants in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$36
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We're so lucky to have our last night in il geco, the food was the best we had in all the trip, specially the bolognese, amazing! And the atmosphere, the staff, the wine and everything together. And not expensive, like 9 euros for a first course and 1 liter wine was 9 euros to.

Helpful?
1 Thank ASimula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    110
    40
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Worth looking for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband ands I had just arrived in Lucca, after a three hour train ride and two failed attempts to find a hotel room. We were hungry and tired and we wanted a place that was close to our (final) hotel, the Ilaria. This was it.

And when we arrived and found the place basically empty at 8 PM, we were a little suspicious.
But ten minutes with our hosts, and a look at the menu and the relatively low prices, and we were convinced. And when the food started to arrived, we were over convinced. Everything was delicious and original, although still traditional.

All in all, between the decor, the friendly service, the English-speaking staff, the great food, and the wonderful location, I'd sat Il Geco was a winner!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waverly, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere! Friendly Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

There are so many unique and interesting things to look at in this restaurant. They have a small menu written on a chalkboard. Daily specials. They also have a pleasant outdoor garden. I would definitely return !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We happened to rent an apartment two doors down from Il Geco for our week-long stay in Lucca and our landlady recommended it highly. It is a bit interesting walking through the hall past all the stuff to get to the dining room, which also was full of interesting stuff. No menu; our waiter is the son of the owners; his mother makes the pasta and his father cooks. He was very proud to tell us they only use locally grown organic vegetables and free-range meat products. He offered up 3 or 4 first courses and the same with secondo; we basically told him to pick. Everything was great; pasta delicious, both main courses fresh and well presented. Our bill was way under 100 euro including a liter of wine and a very generous tip. Recommend highly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank b1bayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Our savior in Lucca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stumbled on to this place on a dark deserted street while we were walking around lost on a very rainy Saturday night, after three restaurants we tried were fully booked. We thought maybe we had made a mistake when it was empty when we walked in, but the room was quaintly pleasant, the hosts were friendly, and the house Chianti was very drinkable. They only have about 4 choices of each course on the menu, but everything we tried was tasty and satisfying. This was home cooking - mama cooks the food upstairs and brings it down to the restaurant through the front door. The cost was very reasonable. I don't know why they were empty this night ( a few other people eventually arrived) and I hope they can stay in business. We were certainly glad we found it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndoverDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Geco Circolo Eno Gastronomico also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Il Geco Circolo Eno Gastronomico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing