We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ilaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ilaria
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Ideally located, spacious room , clean and additional service such as providing bikes. It has a beautiful terrace overlooking a gorgeous garden..
( coffee for breakfast was mot that good... Which is the only minus one may add).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smart_and_select
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know you apreciated our hotel.

Hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    304
    44
    13
    5
See reviews for
195
543
33
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

This hotel is located near the east gate along the city wall accessed by Via Elisa which has restricted access for cars. Hotel is on Via del Fosso intersection.

Stayed one night and slept comfortably. We arrived early, just before noon and our room was not ready. Receptionist asked if we would take another room on the ground floor which was ready. We did and it looked out onto the street. The room is nicely furnished with a lot of wood paneling. Bathroom is very modern and a bit small like other hotels in the area.
Shower has no curtain or door so water splashes outside of the shower area. Mopping job required.

Not sure if the thermostat in the room works. Couldn’t change the temperature of the room which was a little warm despite the cool weather in November. There is a safe in the closet and a small fridge. WiFi works with decent speed.

Breakfast buffet was included in the price of the room and it was very adequate. Average by Italian standards, but very good to excellent compared to free breakfasts at hotels in USA; even the paid ones. Hot English breakfast items are available. Continental breakfast items available also and of course local cured meats and fruit. Walnuts were in season so there was a basket of them in the buffet table.

In the lobby there is a self- service counter with Coffee machine and various cold beverages as well as light snacks. This is available throughout the day for hotel guests. A very thoughtful and convenient feature that I wish other hotels would provide. There are nearby restaurants on Via Elisa.

I chose this hotel because there is a full time hotel staff unlike many B&B places in Lucca which can be more expensive, but run into problems when the operators are not there when you arrive. Also I was sharing the room with my sister, and I know for sure that there are twin beds as it is not clear at the B&B hotels throughout the walled city of Lucca.

Overall I was happy with the hotel and if I find myself in Lucca again, I would definitely consider staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepslumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

I stayed at this property for 4 nights during Desco, a must see for all foodie types! This hotel is in a perfect location to get in and out of the city, Allows for parking with special permits. Or is a great location of taking a tour and need to walk from the gate from a bus since buses are not allowed in the city walls, free bike rental, free breakfast to start your day, clean rooms, fully stocked mini bar, What more could you ask for! I would stay here again for sure! Bravo!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fittours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Dear Guest,

we'd like to thank you for sharing your kind feedback. We are very happy to know that you apreciated your stay at our hotel.

We hope you will come back,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
571 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

As part of our Tauck Culturious tour in October, 2012 we spent 2 nights at this charming hotel right on the edge of town. What a great spot. You could grab one of their bicycles and ride around the delightful rampart and through Lucca as much as you liked. The rooms are clean. The bed was hard (as are Italian hotel beds).
The brekky was pretty good although nothing special. The downside was the "get your own" tea and coffee. You do not expect this in Italy! For goodness sake, have someone make you that Italian coffee and personally serve it to you and not get a young member of the staff "sour faced" and unwilling to assist you. It was a disappointment. The reception staff are very helpful. Loved the hotel, with the exception of the brekky and get your own coffee!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanP196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear Madame,
we are sorry for your disappoint.
The buffet is always available all day long, the guests are free to take soft drinks, hot drinks, beer, sparkling wine and snacks any time they want.
However we are really sorry about the behaviour of a member of our staff. It's our intent to help the guests any time they need.
Anyway we also want to thank you for the other compliments you had for us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed at Hotel Ilaria on the last night of a two-and-a-half week trip to Italy, and I can honestly say that one night was not long enough. The hotel is situated right inside one of the gate to the old city and is perfectly located for walking and biking through Lucca. We were upgraded to the Tower suite in the nearby Residence d'Alba, I believe because the hotel was full for a conference. The accommodations were wonderful, the service was great and breakfast quite delicious and varied. We especially liked being able to use the complimentary bicycles for riding along the walls.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milgreen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Goodevening,

thank you very much for writing about or hotel on the web.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and you apreciated the free upgrade to the tower suite. Sometimes it happens that superior rooms or suites are available, in that case we prefer doing upgrades in order to satisfy our guests.

We hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

This was easily the best hotel we stayed in during our trip to Italy. We were in the Tower Suite which is located just a 100m down the street from the main hotel. The room was fantastic, great bed, great furnishings, huge bathroom with jet tub. We really enjoyed the service, location and overall experience at the Hotel Ilaria & Residenza dell'Alba. Lucca is a gem and should be on your Itinerary if you vist the area. Was great that the hotel staff could recommend a fantastic restaurant and even a place to go for drinks.

Room Tip: Ask, beg or upgrade whatever it takes to get the Tower Suite its a fantastic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawnrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Good evening,

thank you very much for writing about the hotel and sharing your comment. It is always much apreciated reading new reviews, even more if they are good.
We are pleased you enjoyed your room, your stay and Lucca too.

We hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

The Ilaria is very well located and we couldn't have asked for better in terms of comfort, cleanliness and friendly service from the staff and front desk. Central in Lucca it's an easy walk to anywhere. Breakfasts were excellent, We had a very memorable time here and will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trish k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Good evening,

thank you so much for this kind review. We are glad to know that you had memorable time here and that you intend to come back.

We hope to see you soon,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#11 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilaria

Property: Hotel Ilaria
Address: Via del Fosso 26, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lucca
#2 Family Hotel in Lucca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilaria 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ilaria and the Residenza dell'Alba are situated in the center of Lucca, within the renaissance walls. Approaching to a medieval door and overlooking on a secular park, under a majestic plane tree, you will enjoy a spectacular architectonic scenery. Our hotel residenza dell'alba are the ideal place for a moment of charme or for a business meeting in a space of light and green designed by the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilaria Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing