We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but a few small issues”
Review of Hotel Ilaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ilaria
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good, but a few small issues”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I choose this hotel very quickly, needing a place to stay after a last minute change in plans. The location of the hotel was terrific, within the city walls and on a small street without much traffic. My husband and I enjoyed using the bikes that were included in the room price. All in all, for choosing this hotel with very little research, I was quite happy.

There were a few small issues: Our room was on the same floor as the patio where breakfast was served. In the evening this patio was used for a reception, and there was quite a lot of cigarette smoke wafting down the hall, and we could smell it in our room. While it was not a big enough problem to have complained and gotten our room changed, I do think that if I were going to book a room at this hotel in the future, I'd ask to be located farther away from the patio area.

Comparing our room to the images on the hotel's web site, I think that the room we stayed in was not as nice as what is represented on the web site. In other words, I was disappointed in the overall room quality - just a little shabbier than I expected.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JanPeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    309
    47
    13
    5
See reviews for
202
563
34
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I was visiting Lucca for my third time and checked the reviews for Hotel Llaria - everything was spot on. What a great location - near the city gate, close to restaurants and Ste Michelle Plaza, the bike shop, wonder dolce. The room was very comfortable - was there four nights and each was better than the last. The elevator is a little small - I'm 6'7" and 230 lbs and with two pieces of luggage, was a little tight, but that is the only negative I could think of.
The desk staff was wonderful - I arrived a little early and they stored my luggage until the room was ready - thank you (was very tired hauling that stuff around, especially through the crowds from the Comic and Game Convention).
The daily breakfast was outstanding - nothing fancy, but great variety and all of it fresh,
Would highly recommend and I will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stepping into their lovely lobby was a nice welcome to Lucca. Desk staff cheerful, and attentive! Our triple room had everything we needed. Bathroom was all updated and spacious. They have nibbles and refreshments out almost all day. You must take their bikes for a ride around the top of the city wall. Love Lucca and this hotel is close to it all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Excellent hotel, booked after Tripadvisor reviews and it did not disappoint. Situation very good, close to everything in the old town. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the all day free snack and drinks area especially first afternoon when we arrived having had no lunch. We also appreciated the large umbrella in the room for our use which unfortunately came in handy as we had a lot of rain. The breakfast was great and there was a lot of choice, fresh fruits, yogurts, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon to mention a small selection. Staff gave restaurant suggestions. Gli Oltri close by - also good review on Tripadvisor- was excellent with local dishes and quite reasonable in price as well as unfussy with mainly Italian diners. La Drogheria in same street had very good Pizza.

Room Tip: Stayed on first floor with door straight out onto terrace. Would be great especially in fine weather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Located inside the old town of Lucca, great for afternoon walk in the old town. Food inside the old town is great.

I was surprised to find an open snack buffet in the hotel lobby.

Local People are friendly.
Great 4km walk around the town wall.
Nice place

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Naderalajmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota, USA
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I spent 2 nights at the Hotel Ilaria in what they called their tower suite. The property and service are fantastic. My room was detached and in a separate structure from the main building (not unusual in Europe) and was an absolutely beautiful room with a fabulous bathroom, all very large by Italian hotel standards and at a pretty good price. Breakfast was served and included each morning and was in a lovely room and of high quality. Parking was available at the hotel for a charge which is a nice benefit of properties inside the historic walls of Lucca.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomK84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear guest,

we are glad you apreciated the tower suite, our breakfast with its room and our parking space.
Thank you for sharing your kind review!
We hope to welcoming you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a proper unpretentious smart, efficient, and friendly hotel. Every where is spotless and in excellent order. It is not a modern hotel, all the better for that, but not at all tired. The bedroom was not over large, but the bed was a very generous 6 footer and a good sized bathroom with bidet. There were 3 really good aspects to this hotel.1. Free use of their bikes. 2. Bearing in mind that they do not serve lunch or dinner, the spread at breakfast was exceptional. 3. You can help yourself to coffee, tea, soft drinks, snacks and biscuits all day. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for such a nice review.
We are glad to know that you had a pleasant time here with us and we hope to see you again!

We also wish you a happy new year.

Best Regards.

Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.3 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 52 in Lucca
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 52 in Lucca
509 reviews
3.1 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#3 of 52 in Lucca
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilaria

Property: Hotel Ilaria
Address: Via del Fosso 26, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lucca
#2 Family Hotel in Lucca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilaria 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ilaria and the Residenza dell'Alba are situated in the center of Lucca, within the renaissance walls. Approaching to a medieval door and overlooking on a secular park, under a majestic plane tree, you will enjoy a spectacular architectonic scenery. Our hotel residenza dell'alba are the ideal place for a moment of charme or for a business meeting in a space of light and green designed by the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilaria Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing