We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Experience”
Review of Hotel Ilaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Ilaria
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New Experience”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Ilaria at the end of March 2014. Well situated for visiting all the historical sights, but not worthy of its four star rating. All staff were very nice and helpful. The choice at breakfast was average, but not as good as other four star hotels that I have stayed in. The breakfast tables were so small that it was difficult to accommodate cereal plate, cooked breakfast plate and cutlery etc. There is no proper lounge for guests to sit in nor a bar where you can relax with a drink after coming in from your evening meal as the hotel only does Band B.
My room was on the first floor as was the breakfast room and the courtyard where people sometimes sat at tables and had a coffee or cigarette. My bedroom window looked out on this courtyard so not a lot of privacy. The hotel is clean and room service good with toiletries regularly replenished.
This hotel would probably suit people who are looking for a place to stay for a couple of nights, but in my opinion it is not ideal for a 7 night stay.
I would certainly recommend Lucca for a holiday and a must is to experience one of the many Puccini concerts.
I would certainly recommend Lucca as a holiday destination and

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor beside the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elliemae c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    308
    46
    13
    5
See reviews for
200
558
34
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

First stop on our 10th Anniversary trip to Italy and we were spoiled for the rest of the trip. We stayed in the main hotel and the rooms were very nice and spacious. Staff was enormously helpful. And location inside of the old city really couldn't be beat. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 192ivans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Hotel Ilaria on its own, is quite sufficient reason to visit Lucca. On one side of this hotel rooms look out to a public garden where you may wake to bird calls. On the other side, rooms face a quiet street leading only to the hotel, with an outlook from rooms towards picturesque buildings which are across a stream containing fish and ducks. Rooms are clean, well maintained and very comfortable with modern bathrooms. All staff encountered were most friendly and helpful.

The Hotel Ilaria breakfast has all the usual offerings found in better hotels except that here extra attention has been paid to selecting for the best quality and flavour.

Lucca, one of my favourite towns, is worth a visit of at least several days so it can be seen after dark as well as in daylight. Barga, a small, ancient town high in the mountains, is a short bus ride from Lucca and is well worth seeing. Pisa, with its wonderful cathedral, can conveniently be visited from Lucca also.

Room Tip: I would be happy with a room on either side of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vancouver_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

we spent seven days in the hotel Ilaria via del fosso in LUCCA Italy recently. we encountered two managers both of whom were helpful but the first one particularly so. the hotel is worthy of 4*. It is clean and friendly. room service is good and toiletries adequate. the reception staff are particularly friendly and helpful. the hotel is sited inside the old walls and attractions are easy to get to. It is particularly suited to short stay visitors since there is not a full sized lounge and bar. there is TV and some lounge chairs in the vestibule. the hotel supplies free cold snacks and soft drinks and beer throughout the day to residents up to seven in the evening. It is well served by quite a few bus stops for the small buses that can go through the narrow streets - though walking is by far the preferable way to go, these buses are invaluable in getting about the city quickly or when you are tired having walked all day.The room was on the street side and there was no noise whatsoever to disturb sleep. Breakfast is adequate and only scrambled eggs are supplied which are quite rubbery as you would expect from lying in a heater pan. all in all we would recommend the the hotel Ilaria and we would certainly use it again if we return to Lucca..
the city of Lucca itself is ia marvellous city to visit - it is a medieval walled city with many historic buildings. the streets are narrow and paved. many people go about on bikes available for hire. - free from the hotel - there are no tricycles to be hired in Lucca for those unable to use bikes - walking the walls is fabulous. we liked the Puccini.
we have three highlights of our holiday apart from the wonderful historic legacy of the city - these are 1. the opera, 2. the leaning tower in nearby Pisa (3 euros bus fare , half an hour from Lucca) and 3. the performance of a visiting manager of the hotel - he was very big, the ferocity of his coughing endangered the fittings and he sat in the vestibule letting off wind (rear end) with fearsome regularity and terrifying volume- no inhibitions whatsoever.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable King bed, check
Great bathroom, check
Towel warmer, check
Breakfast with cappachino and express machines, check
Staff at desk, check
We were in the annex, but not a problem at all. Complimentary Food and beverages available throughout the day.
When I asked about their shampoo, they graciously gave me a few bottles free.
Would I stay again? Absolutely without a doubt... Fabulous hotel!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank julietravels106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Our third visit to Lucca and our second to Hotel Ilaria. Being within the city walls is a great bonus - just wandering around the streets is a great experience.
We were there with a group of friends; we had stayed at the hotel previously and enjoyed it so we returned. it is a lovely hotel with the river running by just outside the gates.
The rooms are spotless and maintained to a high standard (tea making facilities included);
Buffet breakfast on the terrace is a treat and it is wonderful to relax in the early morning sun with a second cup of brilliant coffee!
From around 11.30am cold / hot drinks, nibbles and snacks are available to guests at no extra charge. At around 5pm bottles of fizz are on hand with more nibbles!
The receptionists are most helpful - we wanted to go to Torre del Lucca to the opera and a mini bus was organised for us through the hotel.
There is a 'hot tub' on the terrace and this is just superb to relax in after a hard day's sightseeing in the sun - towels and slippers are provided by the tub and are quickly replenished if they run out.
The new bicycles were a treat and we had several enjoyable rides around the walls and through the city (early!)
Lucca is a beautiful city full of interesting things to do and see; it is also easy to use public transport to get to other places in the locality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly03223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I choose this hotel very quickly, needing a place to stay after a last minute change in plans. The location of the hotel was terrific, within the city walls and on a small street without much traffic. My husband and I enjoyed using the bikes that were included in the room price. All in all, for choosing this hotel with very little research, I was quite happy.

There were a few small issues: Our room was on the same floor as the patio where breakfast was served. In the evening this patio was used for a reception, and there was quite a lot of cigarette smoke wafting down the hall, and we could smell it in our room. While it was not a big enough problem to have complained and gotten our room changed, I do think that if I were going to book a room at this hotel in the future, I'd ask to be located farther away from the patio area.

Comparing our room to the images on the hotel's web site, I think that the room we stayed in was not as nice as what is represented on the web site. In other words, I was disappointed in the overall room quality - just a little shabbier than I expected.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JanPeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 51 in Lucca
888 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 51 in Lucca
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilaria

Property: Hotel Ilaria
Address: Via del Fosso 26, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lucca
#2 Family Hotel in Lucca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilaria 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ilaria and the Residenza dell'Alba are situated in the center of Lucca, within the renaissance walls. Approaching to a medieval door and overlooking on a secular park, under a majestic plane tree, you will enjoy a spectacular architectonic scenery. Our hotel residenza dell'alba are the ideal place for a moment of charme or for a business meeting in a space of light and green designed by the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilaria Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing