We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel in Lucca”
Review of Hotel Ilaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ilaria
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel in Lucca”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spent 2 nights in Lucca in May 2014 after our wonderful 6 night tour of Tuscany with Amber Road Tours. Hotel Ilaria was the icing on the cake of a fabulous vacation. The hotel is beautifully appointed; modern decor with lots of warmth. The staff at the front desk were very helpful, warm and friendly. Our room was lovely; very clean, roomy and comfortable. We booked our room with the complimentary breakfast, which was terrific...fresh fruit, juices, pastries, breads, yogurt, cereal, eggs, bacon, cheeses, Italian meats and of course wonderful coffee and expresso. An added touch were the snacks that were available throughout the day in the lobby, including sparkling wine in the late afternoon. We couldn't have chosen a nicer hotel for our final w nights in Tuscany. A big thank you to the staff at Hotel Ilaria!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    305
    44
    13
    5
See reviews for
197
550
33
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I previously did a review as I stayed at the annex. This time I stayed at the main house and it was even better. It was nice to roll out of bed and into the breakfast room. Just like the annex the rooms are spacious and well maintained by housekeeping. I enjoyed the meeting room or lounge downstairs. This is simply a great facility staffed by excellent people no matter which building you stay in.

Room Tip: As the staff to help you with places to eat. While there are many in Lucca the recommendations made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and was not disappointed. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and a decent size for a European hotel. Bicycles are available, free of charges, for guests which is a great way to get around. You can ride, run or walk on the medieval wall and see the town from above. A delightful and well situated hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenMartin1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a room in the annex which is attached to the Roman gate, which was very clean comfortable and a good size with tea and coffee facilities which was great as we had to walk over the road to the hotel. Staff friendly.
A good position within the main walls and near the botanical gardens which are small but well worth seeing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This place is fantastic.
From the minute you walk in here you just know you are going to be looked after.
All the staff I encountered were very friendly and helpful and they really made me feel welcome and that they genuinely seemed to enjoy what they were doing.
The room was a decent size, extremely clean, had a huge bath,nice view, excellent location, the breakfast had a good selection to choose from and there was an all day coffee bar with free beverages and snacks.
The only slight disappointment was that the bed was really hard, but as a tourist who is on the go all day then I still slept well.
This hotel is fit for royalty and I would stay here again without hesitation if ever in Lucca again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VMP68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Nice hotel with good access by car and parking. Nice terrace, excellent breakfast. Hotel is located directly at the beginning of the pedestrian area close to the botanical garden. Just try to avoid rooms at lower floor facing the street, as they are quiet noisy at night

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We spent 3 nights at this amazing hotel. We had a suite in the annex, lounge downstairs and bedroom up stairs but open to the lounge. 2 bathrooms and plenty of wardrobe space in a dressing room.
The street scene was wonderful, looking down on the locals at work, especially the bike rental shop! The breakfast was a delight, and the views over the Vila next door were lovely.
How the hotel porter managed to park so many cars so close was a miracle. The hotel is easy walking to the sights of Lucca, endless ancient streets, tens of churches, and hunreds of very individual shops.
The hotels was most helpful with handy hints on where to eat, where to buy local cheeses and hams etc.
We cannot wait to return to the delights of Lucca and Ilaria.

Room Tip: would recommend the suits in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilaria

Property: Hotel Ilaria
Address: Via del Fosso 26, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lucca
#2 Family Hotel in Lucca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilaria 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ilaria and the Residenza dell'Alba are situated in the center of Lucca, within the renaissance walls. Approaching to a medieval door and overlooking on a secular park, under a majestic plane tree, you will enjoy a spectacular architectonic scenery. Our hotel residenza dell'alba are the ideal place for a moment of charme or for a business meeting in a space of light and green designed by the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, ACCOR, Fastbooking, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilaria Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing