We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location”
Review of Hotel Ilaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ilaria
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was in a perfect location, very close to the centre yet away from the busy streets. It was very comfortable, though the aircon was a bit noisy in our room, with a beautiful bathroom. The breakfasts were a treat with piles of freshly prepared fruits as well as the usual fare. A very enjoyable stay!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank IM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Exemplary service, free newspapers, free all day coffee/snack bar. Beautiful secluded terrace. Free bikes to borrow for as long as you need- the perfect way to explore the city and the ancient walls. Hotel is situated just inside the old city walls, easy walking to the shops and restaurants, 10 mins from the train station with regular trains to Pisa and Florence. Only down side is the daily parking charge, but can park just 10 mins away for free. (Hotel staff will give directions).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

A great hotel in a lovely Tuscan city. If holidaying in this part of Italy, we can highly recommend this hotel. The hotel location is fab if you are driving with easy access to the city gates. Staff are very friendly and speak excellent English if your Italian isn't up to scratch! When we arrived, we were upgraded to a superior double which was spacious and tastefully decorated. Our room was situated in the hotel buildings a very short walk from the main hotel which suited us well. Breakfast had lots of choice and we were never found wanting plus throughout the day, the hotel provides free coffee, soft drinks and cakes. The hotel has car parking but charges €15 a night. Fortunately we found parking our rental car on the space immediately outside the hotel for free was fine. We are planning to returning to Tuscany soon and would most certainly consider this hotel without reservation.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joniart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My spouse and I stayed here for 5 nights in June 2014. We found it to be nicely situated with very good amenities. The location for us was ideal. Not smack in the middle of the busiest areas of the city, but close enough to walk anywhere we wanted to go. Or, when we tired of walking, the hotel had bicycles that could be borrowed. This was an excellent feature that allowed us to rest our feet for a while yet continue to see the excellent sights of Lucca. This was an especially nice way to make the circuit around the famous Lucca wall. We borrowed bikes a couple of times; each time we wanted to ride there were bicycles available. The bikes were in reasonably good repair and came in various sizes. They are single speed, so they don’t go especially fast, but who needs to go fast when in such a beautiful city? There are locks on each one, so it is easy to make stops whenever needed.
One of the best amenities was the breakfast. It was the best selection of items I have ever encountered at any hotel. Huge variety of options, including large bowls of several kinds of fruit, bacon, eggs, gravlax, various cold cuts, various cereals, various juices, various pastries, various coffees, including an espresso machine. We really enjoyed this feature. Another amenity that we liked was the availability of refreshments throughout the day, juices, soft drinks, coffee and snacks, all included in the bill.
One disappointment we had was that the hot tub did not seem to be working properly when we were there. We couldn’t make the temperature very hot when we tried it on one occasion. Well, we weren’t really visiting Lucca to sit in the hot tub. We also found the tub in our room drained very slowly, which meant there was standing water when showering. Not a major complaint, but coupled with the hot tub issue causes me to award 4 stars, instead of 5.
We found the staff to be cordial, helpful and professional. Most spoke English quite well. If I am fortunate enough to visit Lucca again I hope to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in August. Elegant hotel, with wooden floor in the room, nice breakfast, and snacks during the day. After 18 o'clock free Prosseco is served:) Walking distance to the old city center, near the wall, bicyclesare free of charge, you can use it for wall trip around the Old city.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Katyan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in July as close to the open air theatre at Torre del lago where we had tickets for Madame Butterfly. The hotel was very comfortable and offered a small cafe for cool drinks and coffee and delicious little cakes (very nice) during the day. The hotel also has bikes for guests use which is a great way to see the city.The reception staff could not have been more helpful, arranging transport to the opera and ringing ahead to confirm ticket pick up on the day. We loved Lucca and this comfortably furnished hotel was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nirvana2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It was the second time we stayed in this hotel and we specifically wanted a room in the annexe. We like the design, the space. Very good price/value. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The bikes, the coffeemaker in the room; all the extra's make this a wonderful experience. We will certainly chose this hotel again when we cme back to Lucca

Room Tip: The suites in the annexe are really special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilou V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 47 in Lucca
946 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 47 in Lucca
526 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 47 in Lucca
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilaria

Address: Via del Fosso 26, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lucca
#2 Family Hotel in Lucca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price Range: £71 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilaria 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ilaria and the Residenza dell'Alba are situated in the center of Lucca, within the renaissance walls. Approaching to a medieval door and overlooking on a secular park, under a majestic plane tree, you will enjoy a spectacular architectonic scenery. Our hotel residenza dell'alba are the ideal place for a moment of charme or for a business meeting in a space of light and green designed by the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilaria Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing