We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best choice in Lucca”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ilaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ilaria
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Trikala, Greece
Level Contributor
146 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Best choice in Lucca”
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We stayed with my wife for 3 nights in this hotel and I must say that we have been both impressed.
The location in a picturesque and quiet spot in the heart of old town, the service, the comfortable room, the cleanliness, the free car park and the superb buffet breakfast made our stay unforgettable in this exceptional city. Don't miss it...


PS If only the matresses were a bit softer...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, 6 May 2010
Dear Trikala,

I'm glad to thank you for your kind words and for writing on Trip Advisor! Your review has given us into the top of the rankings! Also for that reason it has been lovelly reading about your stay! Many many thanks from all the staff and me!

I'd like to see you again in Lucca,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    304
    44
    13
    5
See reviews for
195
543
33
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We found the hotel here on tripadvisor. They put us in their annex. It was new, modern and had big rooms with the best bathroom of our trip. Right outside of walled city. The internet did not work in the annex. No working hard wired internet and no wireless. Breakfast was a pretty good spread, tailored to Americans. Newspapers were a nice touch. Night staff were definitely better than day staff. Beware that the parking lot is small and you need to give advance notice when you need your car.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Dear ItalianTraveler2010,

I thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, it has been very kind writing there!
I apologize if you had problems with Internet connection, but I inform you that in the anex you need the cable. I inform you also that we had a problem with the connection in a room during your stay, perhaps you were there. I'm really sorry for that.

I hope to see you again in the next future,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We were lucky to be upgraded to a superior room in the Annex. It was great - spacious and very comfortable. All the staff were most accommodating. Breakfast was plentiful. The jacuzzi was a little exposed to everyone on the terrace. We didn't like the hotel's associated restaurants - overpriced and poor service. Apart from these two gripes, we enjoyed an excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grogetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, MANAGER at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, 30 April 2010
Dear Grogetto,

first of all I thank you for writing about our hotel on Trip Advisor, it has been very nice from you.
About the restaurants I'm really sorry and I apologize, I would like to invite you for a dinner next time.

thank you so much,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

My wife and I relyed heavily on Trip Advisor for planing our recent trip to Italy. I was initially drawn to Hotel Ilaria based on the fact that they provided feedback to every review people made on Trip Advisor - good or bad. That told me they understood customer service. When we arrived at the hotel, we were informed that they upgraded us from a superior room to a suite. This turned out to be the best place we stayed in Italy (although we were very pleased with every place we stayed). When providing a review, I try to be as objective as possible. No place can be perfect. There is always areas for improvement. So here is my complaint with Ilaria - the bike I picked from their selection of many bikes (free use) appeared to have a slightly bent rear wheel rim. If that's the worst thing I could find, that should tell you all you need to know about this hotel. The rooms, service, breakfast, and other amentities were exceptional. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Lucca, and highly recommend Hotel Ilaria. They've earned their high rating for a reason.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, MANAGER at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, 27 April 2010
Dear Twiles,

thank you so much for the review you wrote, it has been very nice reading it.
We'll absolutely check the bikes! We thank you also for talking about that problem so we can try to improve!
We are very pleased to know that your stay was so good.

Whising to see you again in our hotel,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

We originally booked a superior room direct with the hotel for three nights, this became a 10 night stay due to the air traffic disruption, with additional nights spent in superior and standard rooms and a suite for one night.. Regular visitors to Italy, this is defiintely the most welcoming Italian hotel we have ever stayed in. In particular the reception staff Claudia, Fabrizio, Giulia and Samuela we felt became our friends, they were always pleasant and helpful, in fact all the hotel staff, porter, breakfast assistant and housekeeping always greeted us with a smile. The service we received was without fault. The hotel is ideally located, the public areas and bedrooms, particularly the superior rooms and suites are comfortable, well appointed and spotlessly clean. The daily free drinks and snacks were greatly appreciated and free internet access proved to be very useful. Breakfast by continental standards is excellent and the terrace a welcome place to relax. We will definitely return to the Ilaria and look forward to seeing again all the staff there who were so supportive during our stay. Grazie Mille!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
signorinella
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of april and really liked the hotel. It was slightly more expensive than we wanted, but seemed much better than the other options available.

A few nice touches - free internet use (computer provided), free bikes to use and free tea/coffee/beer/soft drinks/snacks in the lounge during the day.

Breakfast on the first day wasn't great - had to wait for a table and quite a few empty bowls/plates on the buffet. But overall a a nice hotel. Staff were very friendly and recommended restaurants for both nights, and booked them for us (though we didn't get the one we wanted on the 2nd night as the didn't ring straight away)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank signorinella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, MANAGER at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, 26 April 2010
Dear Signorinella,

I'd like to thank you for writing about Hotel Ilaria on Trip Advisor, it has been so nice from you doing it!

I hope to welcome you again in our hotel,

Best Regards
Giulia Colabella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2010

My boyfriend and I walked into Ilaria after an exhausting and stressful day of driving in Italy (we were first time drivers in Europe). Ilaria had just had a cancellation and were extremely accommodating. The service, breakfast buffet, internet, rooms, parking, and bike rentals all for a reasonable price were extraordinary and just what we needed. The rooms even had electrically operated black out shutters on the window...we truly enjoyed his hotel and hope to be able to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlliRUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, MANAGER at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, 26 April 2010
Dear AlliRUSA,

I would like to thank you for the kind review that you wrote on Trip Advisor and for writing there.

I really hope to see you again in Lucca and in our hotel,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#11 of 53 in Lucca
871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 53 in Lucca
490 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilaria

Property: Hotel Ilaria
Address: Via del Fosso 26, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lucca
#2 Family Hotel in Lucca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilaria 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ilaria and the Residenza dell'Alba are situated in the center of Lucca, within the renaissance walls. Approaching to a medieval door and overlooking on a secular park, under a majestic plane tree, you will enjoy a spectacular architectonic scenery. Our hotel residenza dell'alba are the ideal place for a moment of charme or for a business meeting in a space of light and green designed by the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Priceline, ACCOR, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilaria Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing