We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A haven of peace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orto Botanico di Lucca

Orto Botanico di Lucca
Ranked #16 of 111 things to do in Lucca
Attraction details
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A haven of peace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

After the hustle and bustle of Lucca it is well worth finding the Botanical Gardens and enjoying the tranquility of them. Just to wander around in the coolness after the heat of the day if wonderful.
Evening concerts are held in the Botanical Gardens where the paths are lit with tea lights. A magical experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Polly03223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    116
    73
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice and relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

nice and a relaxing place in lucca, very calm and different trees inside of it. don't miss it. we so it while we were walking around the amazing city walls.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bomis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durres, Albania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“small but nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

walking around the city walls , we noticed this small and interesting garden. We decided to visit it and walked around this botanic garden. its small but very interesting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank marois s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3 hours in the botanic gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

The botanic gardens were quiet, elegant and simply stated. The plant material is impressive especially the age of some of the trees. Most of the specimens are clearly labeled and some of the larger trees show size comparisons. Get there early as it opens and you have the whole place to yourself!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pepperjam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I spent a blissful 2 hours or so wandering through these pretty gardens and admiring the plant life; resting on a well placed bench and soaking up the sun for a while. There is lovely pond with wooden bridge which is of course a great attraction for children, and of course the children are also fascinated by the inhabitants of the pond. I would like to see the Gardens in the Spring, I am sure they must be magnificent and will have to plan my next trip accordingly. Do put the Gardens on your list of places to visit, I'm sure you will enjoy it as I did.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ekrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orto Botanico di Lucca also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Orto Botanico di Lucca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing