We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in the heart of Lucca”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo San Martino
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Venice Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in the heart of Lucca”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I spent two nights at the Albergo San Martino. I was under the impression the hotel was one building. However, upon arrival, I was told I'd be staying in its sister hotel, Hotel Diana, which is right next store. The Diana has recently been renovated and it shows. My room was spacious and nicely appointed, tiled floors, writing desk and a very comfortable king-sized bed. The bathroom was large by most Italian hotel standards. A major plus. The wi-fi is free and easily accessible. Unlike the main hotel, the Diana does not have its own lobby. It feels more like a private apartment building which I personally liked. Guests are free to use the main lobby and there is a lovely outdoor seating area in front of the main hotel where you can sit, read, order drinks, food. Both hotels are centrally located, very close to Lucca's famed 16th & 17th century ramparts, churches, shops and restaurants. Lucca's a small city so it's very easy to get anywhere and everywhere on foot. Or, as many tourists do, rent a bike. There aren't a lot of cars in Lucca which is great. Most everyone bicycles. Each morning, a bountiful breakfast is served in the main hotel. Cold cuts, cheeses, fruits, yogurts, all sorts of delicious pastries, breads and cakes. My only complaint was that my breakfast was not included. Given the cost of my room, I felt the 10 euros for breakfast was excessive and should have been waived. Otherwise, I would have given the hotel five stars for service & value instead of 4. When making reservations, I strongly suggest you confirm in advance if breakfast is included. One final note: If arriving by train, the hotel is approximately a 5-7 minute walk from the station. When I told a taxi driver where I was going, he suggested I walk and gave me directions. Apparently it wasn't a big enough fare, but as it turned out, I was really glad I made the trek on foot. Along the way, I stopped to take pictures of the ramparts and walking through Lucca's stunningly beautiful, centuries-old stone archway gave me much more of a sense of its history than driving. However, if you're carrying a lot of luggage, you might want to insist on a taxi. All in all, a very good hotel in a gorgeous, laid back Tuscan city. Well worth the trip.

Room Tip: I stayed in the sister hotel, hotel Diana, so I can't comment on the main building. My room had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James458378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    182
    36
    5
    3
See reviews for
66
285
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed three nights in this hotel whilst exploring the fascinating city of Lucca. Although booked as a single my room was huge! It was very comfortable and clean. Breakfasts were also good although there are a limited number of tables inside. On a fine morning one can use the tables on the terrace however. The location is both close to the city centre and to the enormous city wall, and you can wander the streets for hours without getting bored or stroll around the promenade on the wall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxtonmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This small hotel in the heart of Lucca is a great place to stay. Good bedrooms...clean, and every thing works. Good breakfast. Happy and attentive staff. Good reserved parking nearby. Narrow streets !!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragnar1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level Contributor
529 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

we chose this hotel as it has parking, the access, be warned, is very very narrow and certainly not suitable for anything other than a normal saloon car and is a 2 to 3 min walk from the hotel but you can unload outside and the staff will lead you to the car park so no problem.

We had a lovely room with a really quirky shower area, we never worked out quite how to work all the showers! There was also a jacuzzi bath, not that we used it, to busy working out the showers!

Staff were friendly and welcoming in the evening, the morning guy obviously got out of his bed on the wrong side but at least breakfast was adequate. We'd certainly stay there again if we were heading to Lucca.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Wow what a great location inside the city walls and 5 mins walk to the railway station. We stayed in the annex which was just across the alleyway from the main hotel? Well I would say you can only call it a B&B which is fine, as it was right in heart of the old town. Breakfast was fine and plenty to eat, it was presented in the continental style, the weather being sunny we could sit outside to enjoy tiny front garden area. The rooms were clean and a loverly biggish bathroom, there was a fridge and air-con in the room, which kept us and our goodies cool. There was no evening food being served which in a way was for the better as it made you go out and enjoy all the wonderful eateries around the town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hotel is peaceful and very near the sights of Lucca being in the so-called pedestrianized area of the town. If travelling by car,follow the hotel's instructions to find it in order to avoid the ZTL zone (the area where traffic access is limited.) The staff will take you and your car to a car parking area only a hundred yards away, The stall are friendly and the rooms small but comfortable with air con. The price with breakfast is around 130 euros a night. There is a breakfast room and a small outdoor area with table at the front.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agrestic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellenbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is inside a walled city so our tour bus was not allowed inside. But no problems with the luggage. The hotel provides a little truck to collect it. By the time we reached our hotel the suitcases were delivered to our rooms. We were all charmed by Fabrizio on check in. This old building has been lovingly renovated. They are individual and different, definitely not the formulaic look of modern hotels. Our bathroom was modern and spacious..our room was disability friendly.
As for Lucca itself, our visit coincided with the Festival of Lights so a real treat. Bellissimo!

Room Tip: Some rooms are upstairs so may not suit elderly or or travellers with mobility problems but the staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PottsHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
1,034 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.5 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#11 of 53 in Lucca
871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 53 in Lucca
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Martino

Property: Albergo San Martino
Address: Via della Dogana 9, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Lucca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo San Martino 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of the town, inside the walls in the historical center of Lucca, San Martino & Diana Hotels are the ideal place to spend a holiday in complete relax. Retrieved from historic "house of pleasure" of the '50s, Hotel San Martino offers spacious, comfortable and well cared rooms, each characterized by the name of a "Lady" that used to visit the historic brothel, as Nuccia, Carlaccia or Wanda; each room offers a private bathroom with shower, air conditioning, digital TV, mini bar, safe, WIFI internet connection. A warm and cozy place to enjoy moments in the comfortable lounge and at the bar with a wide selection of drinks and snacks, for quiet evenings. Newspapers and a free internet terminal are available for the customer. Easily accessible from major access points to the town (train station at 500 mt, 600 mt bus terminal, exit Firenze-Mare 1500 meters), the hotel is centrally located and in a short distance from all the major points of historical interest, arts and culture, a few meters from Teatro del Giglio, from the Cathedral of San Martinol (Duomo) and Piazza Napoleone. The qualified and smiling staff will welcome you and help you in making your stay unforgettable. The staff is multilingual, is at your disposal from 7.00 am to 23.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo San Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Martino Lucca
Albergo San Martino Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing