We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LITTLE BIT OF PARADISE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A LITTLE BIT OF PARADISE”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

When asked where to break our stay in Florence(How much beauty can you take in one long stay?) t he Consierge in the Ill Bianco Guedelfi, Florence suggested that we must go to Lecca and stay at the Alla Corte Degli Angeli.

However, on our way to Lucca by train the country side didnt look all that inviting. In fact it looked quite industially poor . What lay ahead? Had we made a mistake? Should we have returned to one of old favourite villages?

We arrived at Lucca...which truly was like an oasis in a drought stricken desert..Lucca is a town of unbelivable beauty. It is an ancient walled city much overlooked by todays tourist.

Our choice, or should I say, that of the Consierge was being proven correct..

Alla Corte Degli Angeli was without doubt the best boutique hotel we have ever stayed in.

What was hidden behind a not very attractive doorway was like another world. Although the reception area was not over the top extravagent it is suffice to say that the murals on the walls were of a standard befitting a cathedral, and a sample of what was to come.

We were escorted to our room and as the door opened we knew that we were indeed in a special place

The name of our room, or should I say apartment, was Rosa and the entire ceiling and the facing wall was frescoed with trellace and climbing roses. It was like looking out from the balcony of some rich viila toward tuscan styled hills. Im not sure if it was frescoed, or trompe l'aeil..the illusion of 3D. The atmosphere created was magnificant. The room itself was big by European standards and contained every feature, apart from a the availability of lunch and dinner. I can only guess that it was this lack that stopped the Alla Corte Degli Angeli from reaching its fifth star. However, to describe what was presented as breakfast was an insult to what it really was....it was a banquet like no other that could be expected. Name it, and it was there to be had. What's more it was served with a big Italian smile!

As good food and dining was abundant in Lucca the lack of lunch and dinner at the Alla Corte Degli Angeli.
could be forgiven.

Let me conclude by thanking the staff at Alla Corte Degli Angeli for a beatiful stay well beyond our expectations. I suppose I should also thank the consierge at Ill Bianco Guedelfi in Florence for helping us find a special place to which we will return.

Harold and Merle Karpin
Melbourne
Australia

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yarra123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllaCorteDegliAngeli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thanks a lot for your so kind review!
Hoping to see you again soon
Best regards
Vincenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    166
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
80
394
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed in the Camelia room, and it was beautiful. We had murals on the walls, and wood beams across the ceiling. Our bathroom was really pretty and new. We especially liked the large bathtub. We liked being able to open the windows in our room and look out on the street. The view wasn't incredible, but it was nice to hear the sounds of the city.

The breakfast was very nice. They offered fruit, pastries, cakes, granola, yogurt, cereal, prunes, hard and soft boiled eggs, cheese, and meats. The service was very friendly. They made you coffee and espresso based drinks on demand. Giorgio worked at the front desk, and he was great.

The only downside was that sound carried through the hotel. When there were noisy people drinking and talking in the lobby, it was very loud in our room.

Room Tip: The rooms vary quite a bit, so try to find reviews of individual rooms. Rooms on higher floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandySandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllaCorteDegliAngeli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thanks for your feedback!
Next time we can give you an upper floor room extremly quiet!
Regards
Vincenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

In a very difficult day, we had to take five trains and make four changes while travelling from Aix to Lucca.. Due to a railway accident, we were running hours late and missed several connections. Having caught the last night train to Lucca with only seconds to spare, we rang the hotel from the train and the wonderful Vincenzo on reception, told us that he would be waiting for us. If there wasn't a taxi at the station, we were to call again and he would send a taxi to us. He was very reassuring and calming, after a very long, stressful day.

On our arrival at 11pm, stressed and exhausted, a smiling Vincenzo took control, swept us and our luggage in to our room and, wishing us well, left us to settle down. This place is a delight. All staff members were cheery, welcoming and helpful, especially Gabriela and Rita. When reserving, we had to make a few calls and emails and Pietro, whom we never met, was very patient aand accomodating.

With only a dozen rooms, the front door looks like a large hole in the wall, immediately creating a centuries-old atmosphere. Stepping inside, there is a roomy reception area, a cosy guest salon to one side, with easy chairs, internet service and a couple of tables, with a lovely mural painted on the walls and ceiling, depicting a vine covered pergola. On the other side, is a big bright breakfast room, with a country landscape painted on the walls. Breakfast is included and offers a wide choice, including perfectly boiled eggs on request. Free wifi is included.

The building clearly dates from medieval times, with a lot of the features such as beams, door furniture, doors and window shutters, echoing the medieval feel. One window in our spacious room looked over a narrow, medieval laneway and the other looked over a tall church belltower. The room and bathroom were spacious and beautifully decorated, with landscape scenes and sunshine on the walls. We could even see the belltower from the bathroom. There was antique style furniture, a safe and airconditioning, which took a day or two to work out. The bed was comfortable and plenty of lighting. Housekeeping was very good, though the shower recess needed some extra attention. They have done a great job of renovating an old building to a good standard, without destrying the integrity of the original structure. We felt like we had been transported to the sixteenth century, with modern facilities.

The location is wonderful. Very close to the Centro Storico and lovely via Fillungo, the main shopping street. There is a lovely resto in the same street and I can still taste their tuscan rabbit. Within a few dozen metres, there are cafes, bars, shops, gelaterie, a laundrobar, banking and dozens of little piazzas where you can while away the time over a meal or a prosecco or three. The city walls are close by and the old town is easily discovered on foot or by a hired bicycle, which is readily available.

It's very good value, in our view. Our only regret is that we had only booked a four night stay instead of a week and that we had to continue to our next destination. We would love to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllaCorteDegliAngeli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you so much from your reassuring receptionist! :-)
Vincenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARCADIA, CA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Beautifully restored and decorated small hotel in Lucca. The room was fairly large, very clean and comfortable and wonderfully decorated, including what appeared to be beautiful hand painted walls, elegantly finished wood floors and all modern conveniences. Special mention should be made of the superb and very large, varied breakfast included with the very moderate price of the room. Corte Degli Angeli has parking available, an absolute necessity if you come to Lucca by car, since it is a beautiful but small walled city where parking is very difficult to find. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDEYES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

A little difficult to find (GPS does not do it!) in a city of small, narrow streets, but once there it was an enjoyable stay in a beautiful, small hotel. Would not hestitate to return ... in fact we are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lasvegasretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ta' Xbiex, Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

At the risk of sounding like the owner of this hotel, I have to say that I rate it very highly on all counts. It is a small, quaint and friendly hotel. Do not expect facilities of an international chain.

The room we were given was comfortable and traditional with an excellent bathroom (always important I believe). I was impressed by the cleanliness throughout. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was pleasant and the breakfast offered quite a wide choice.

The hotel is very well located in the centre of Lucca, a beautiful, smart town. Lucca is difficult to park in (and to drive through given the narrow streets) and while the hotel has parking facilities available for its guests, you might want to double-check availability before booking. We did not have a problem, in fact on arrival at the hotel, the receptionist took our car and parked it for us.

I will certainly make a point of returning to Lucca, unfortunately we were only there for 1 night, and I will certainly try and book this hotel again.

Room Tip: The road in front of the hotel is very narrow and thus not prone to traffic. Not sure about the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDG500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed here in March while traveling with 2 adult children and wish we had been able to stay for more than 1 night. The hotel is inside the walls and very quaint, but an easy walk from the Porta Santa Maria. The 2 rooms we had were roomy and comfortable, with modern bathrooms. The staff were pleasant and helpful, recommending a "neighborhood" restaurant which seemed to cater to locals. It was one of our best meals in Italy. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful, served in a lovely large breakfast room ( we found a few hotels to have small, cramped breakfast rooms). A nice touch is that all of the rooms are named for flowers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachburd117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 51 in Lucca
1,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 51 in Lucca
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 51 in Lucca
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Corte Degli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Corte Degli Angeli

Property: Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Address: Via Degli Angeli 23 | Centro Storico, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#3 Business Hotel in Lucca
#4 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alla Corte Degli Angeli 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I would like to add information for all the customers that book to our hotel,because cause the limit traffic zone there are a lot of mistake and trouble, so I would like to add in the form confirmation or straight away in the hotel's information, the right route for to reach us. Below there are description in english and Italian.1) YOU CAN REACH THE HOTEL BY CAR You are allowed to get inside the walls from Santa Maria gate ONLY. As soon as you pass through the gate turn right taking Via della cavallerizza St. keep going straight on and you'll get into San Frediano Piazza where the church is, you mustgo all around this church untill you'll find Via cesare Battisti St. on your letf side. Get into via Cesare Battisti St. take the secondstreet on your left side wich is Via degli angeli St. Our staff will help you out with your luggage. HOTEL STAFF WILL TAKE THE PLATENUMBER OF YOUR CAR, that has to be send it to the police department and then they will show you where to park. YOU MUST LEAVE YOUR CAR KEYSAT THE FRONT DESK DURING ALL YOUR STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Alla Corte Degli Angeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Corte Degli Angeli Hotel Lucca
Alla Corte Degli Angeli Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing