We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing holiday in Lucca May 2014” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eurostars Toscana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eurostars Toscana
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday in Lucca May 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I had searched for an affordable holiday in our beloved Italy and we decided to look at the walled city of Lucca. Our local travel agent showed us a range of hotels, however, the most attractive within the walls were prohibitively expensive - whilst others appeared below the standard we would normally accept. Compromising on a hotel in the suburbs outside the walls, we selected the Hotel Eurostars Tuscana for our 7 night stay. Checking reviews here also helped with our decision.

On arrival in the city centre we took a taxi to the hotel and were initially a little concerned it lay too far away from the walled centre to walk comfortably in and out for sightseeing and evening meals. We were also initially disappointed to be located close to a large motorway/road interchange next to a well known burger chain's drive through. However, all our momentary doubts were quickly disproved when we arrived

The Hotel is modest in size, extremely clean, and well maintained. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with an excellent en-suite bathroom. Worries about road noise from the interchange evaporated immediately and we enjoyed peaceful nights sleep throughout our stay. The view from our 2nd floor window was not spoiled by the neighbouring burger joint either, as we could see the mountains that surrounded the huge, wide, valley we sat in. On walking in to town on our first night, we discovered that we were much closer on foot than we first thought. At a leisurely pace we reached the city gates within 20 minutes following a very straightforward route which we became very familiar with. Renting two of their brand new bikes (which were delivered soon after our arrival) cutting travelling time even further. Good value at 10 euro per day compared to city centre rental charges too.

Although we dined in town every night (the restaurants are fabulous), we found the self service breakfast to be very good indeed. The dining room is well appointed and very clean and every morning we had a wide selection of local cold meats, cereal, fruit, cooked bacon,scrambled egg, sausages, and traditional Italian cakes. Plenty of teas, coffees, and juices were also available and the restaurant staff were attentive, polite, and very friendly.

Probably the most important feature of the hotel was the staff who were excellent throughout our stay. The girls on the reception desk were very smartly dressed, polite, and professional. Everything was done to a high standard and we came away with the impression all the staff really cared about their hotel - especially the housekeeping staff, who were absolutely lovely (always a cheery 'buongiorno' every morning).

We hope to return to Lucca in the not too distant future and we will certainly be keen to consider a return stay at the Eurostars Tuscana - well done to all the staff who help enhance our holiday!

Room Tip: We has room 213 and we were very happy with it - we can only imagine the others were of the same goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 798michaelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    314
    106
    23
    14
See reviews for
81
281
17
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed two nights and found the staff quite helpful and polite, great parking for italy, facilities clean and adequate, a clean and first class bathroom; on the negative side - 3 things:
- Noisy commercial radio at the dinner and breakfast table;
- Cigarette smoke smell in room.
- The Bed was nothing short of painful! with the bed sagging and noisy with broken springs on one side!
....I asked the receptionist after the first night, if it can be replaced or if another room available.....She really wasnt experienced enough to offer a solution and said that it may be sorted in the evening.....well here I am with the daunting thought of another night, sleeping on my matress with shoes tucked under the edge of the matress for support...Not really good enough for a 65 year old or a 4 star hotel?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We satyed there for one night. The hotel is 5-7 minutes from the city center of Lucca. We arrived at the hotel and rented bicycles and drove to the city center. the staff in the hotel were very nice and helping with direction and sight-seeing. the room is amazing and clean. the breakfest buffet was very teasty!! so for a great price you really get a great deal! very recommended hope I'll get the chance to return:)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dfire1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We chose Eurostar based on the reviews here. Because we were driving, we wanted to be able to locate the hotel easily from the main road and it has ample parking space. It is also close to Lucca. This is a typical business hotel and the room is quite spacious. Wifi works well in restaurant and lobby but not in our room.
Note that rooms facing McDonald will get some noise disturbance throughout the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

stayed there on the way back from our wine tour. easily accessible with free parking. if you have time the old town of lucca is just a short drive away and well worth a visit. Very good as well is the large supermarket nearby where you can load the car with italian groceries before heading home. rooms are typical business hotel rooms but perfectly fine for a one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TobiasWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We came here for an overnight stop, but, being on a motorbike, wanted to extend for another night at the last minute due to thunderstorms. This request, like others during our stay was dealt with charm and efficiency.
The initial greeting, quality of room including cleanliness, breakfast and light lunch were all very good indeed.
We will certainly return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducati50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We chose this hotel cause it was close off the highway and it was the end of the day. Pleasantly surprised by how nice it was. Close enough to walk to a lot of places...had our first Italian pizza right around the corner...awesome. Didn't get a chance to use the restaurant but it looked nice. Our first room had a problem with the air conditioning. They sent someone right away and when he couldn't remedy the situation, they moved us quickly down the hall so we didn't have to take our luggage so far. Nice off and on from the highway and we enjoyed the downtown area as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi
1.2 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#14 of 53 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#45 of 53 in Lucca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Toscana

Property: Eurostars Toscana
Address: Viale Europa 1135 | San Concordio, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Toscana 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Eurostars so you can book your Eurostars Toscana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Toscana Lucca Hotel Lucca
Eurostars Toscana Hotel Lucca
Lucca Eurostars Toscana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing