We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location but expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Universo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Universo
Ranked #39 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Townsville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal location but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We were forced to stay at this Hotel because evrywhere else was booked out. In its day it would have been magnificent but it is starting to show its age. Ideally situated inside the walls close to everything, but expensive.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyPTownsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniversoLucca, Proprietario at Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Dear BillyPTownsville, thank you for sharing your comment here. We are happy that you found our location ideal for visiting the city with its monuments and architecture. We are in the very centre of Lucca, close to the main attractions, shops and restaurants. The building was built around 1700 and became an hotel in 1857. We do our best, every day, to maintain the atmosphere of the past giving our guests all the modern comforts. We surely could do better and we will surely do. Thank your for sharing your opinion. Sorry if you found our hotel expensive. In August we have an average rate of 89.00 – 99.00 euros, so it doesn’t seem to be very expensive, but we accept every different opinion. We hope you will decide to come back and stay by us again to leave with a better memory. Kind regards. Marianna Marcucci – Hotel Universo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    168
    111
    41
    22
See reviews for
54
226
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Have just spent 3 days in the hotel and apart from a couple of minor issues about the faulty shower and the lack of cold water in the bathroom sink we have no complaints. except about the breakfast.I have read other remarks to the effect that if the guest arrives after 9.30 (the breakfast finishes at 10) the uncovered cheese and ham is hard and a lot of the options like the tinned fruit are no longer available.And when we asked for a yogurt ,for example the staff were compliant but unfriendly. I can see that the hotel cares about the opinion of its guests but does not address this particular issue.However we were not unsatisfied overall and the reception staff and cleaning staff were all very friendly

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil187497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniversoLucca, Proprietario at Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Dear Neil187497, thank you for leaving your comment here. I’m very happy that you have had a good experience with our reception staff, happy that you found them friendly. I’ve told them about your compliments. I’m sorry for the discomfort with our breakfast, I will immediately check with the staff in charge at the buffet and try to understand where the problem is. Thank you for letting me know. We hope you will come here again to taste our renewed breakfast.
Kind regards. Marianna Marcucci – Hotel Universo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Authentic hotel with really friendly and helpful staff. Great location.

Room Tip: Room 18. Split level room great for families with a nice view across the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniversoLucca, Proprietario at Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Mike P, thank you so much for your comment, we really hope you’ll find the chance to come back soon. Kind regards. Marianna Marcucci – Hotel Universo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here for three nights at the start of our holiday in Tuscany, just a 30 minute drive from Pisa airport. A bit of a challenge driving into the old walled town, but the directions we had from Citalia were good; we could only park by the hotel whilst we unloaded our luggage, then take the car off to a car park about 500m away - not a problem once you'd got the hang of it.
The hotel was well situated in a lovely square, with plenty of restaurants nearby. The female receptionist was friendly and helpful throughout our stay, and happy to give local information on request.
Our room was on the first floor, overlooking the side square; not over-special, but more than fine for a short stay, traditionally decorated with plenty of wardrobe space, minibar, air con etc. The bathroom was large, although the absence of a shower curtain was interesting - loads of good water pressure, large shower head, standing in the bath showering the entire room (and my husband who was shaving at the mirror!) if you weren't careful...
Contrary to some other comments on this website, we thought the breakfast was good for Italy; selection of juices, breads, pastries, ham, cheese, fruit, yogurt and regularly replenised coffee and hot water with a selection of teas.
Although there was some inevitable street noise during the late evening and early mornings (this is a city after all), due to its good position and reasonable price we would happily stay at the Universo again for a few nights, and would recommend it without hesitation to our friends as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackdownAlpaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniversoLucca, Proprietario at Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Dear BlackdownAlpaca, thank you for leaving your comment here, we appreciate your opinion. We are really happy that you will stay with us again and hope this will happen soon!
Kind regards. Marianna Marcucci – Hotel Universo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

A historical, a bit over-decorated but nice hotel perfectly situated in the very centre of Lucca. Close to all the main sites and activities.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjerring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniversoLucca, Proprietario at Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Dear Kjerring, thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel Universo. The Hotel dates back to the 18th century and the style reflects that period so it could appear a bit over-decorated but it’s a genuine antique hotel open since 1857! We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards. Marianna Marcucci – Hotel Universo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

This was our first trip to Lucca, while we love the city, this hotel was a disappointment. To start, they got our reservation wrong, giving us a room for two while we had our son as well, so they gave a large family room which was very dingy and almost unsafe (see photos).

The woman at the desk when we arrived was cold and rude.

Breakfast was OK, but not exceptional. To be fair, they did charge us a lower rate after we complained.

While this hotel has a good location, it's very very noisy at night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniversoLucca, Proprietario at Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Dear Pd, thank you for leaving your comment here. I’m very sorry for the discomfort. We have received a reservation for a double room comfort and in that room you can’t add a third bed. For a system error you were allowed to reserve that room anyway for three. When you arrived here we did apology for that and assign you a family room. The Family room is a bi-level room with a double bed downstairs and 3 single beds upstairs and a nice all renew bathroom refined with marble. The room is not unsafe, we usually assing it to families with children, we are sorry that you didn’t like it. To be fair we did not charge you a lower rate because you complained but because we wanted to say sorry for the error with the reservation. The hotel is located in the historical centre of the city, and Lucca is a city after all, so it could be a bit noisy at evening with people in the streets but the plus is that no cars could drive in the centre instead of the ones of the residents so it’s not so noisy! We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again, with the right reservation!
Kind regards. Marianna Marcucci – Hotel Universo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lucca hotels

Wolverhampton, England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband booked this for my special birthday, and we were not disappointed. Great location for restaurants, sights, walls etc. and helpful staff. Our room was very spacious, clean and tidy as was the bathroom, it would be helpfull if there had been a shower curtain though.
Our room overlooked the piazza, but the Music Festival was on, so our view was blocked slightly, however we did get to see and hear a couple of Free concerts, so that was a bonus. Some good `wall art`/sculptures in the corridors nice touch
Breakfast was good, although tea and coffee in the urns not so good, I usually asked for a espresso or cappucino which was fine. Nice sitting area outside to people watch and have a drink. The station short walk away, say steady 15-20 mins with cases, so 5-10 mins without. Overall - would recommend and definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emjay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniversoLucca, Proprietario at Hotel Universo, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Emjay7, thank you for posting here. We are very happy to read your nice words about us. We will work on our coffee and tea quality until next time you’ll come and visit us.
Kind regards. Marianna Marcucci – Hotel Universo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Puccini
Piccolo Hotel Puccini
#23 of 53 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Luna
Hotel La Luna
#20 of 53 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.4 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universo

Property: Hotel Universo
Address: Piazza del Giglio 1, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universo 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Universo is the very first hotel built in Lucca, locatedo in the hearth of the historical centre. Estabilished as a guesthouse around 1850, under the name of "Locanda Universo and Tosca" it became an hotel in 1857. The Hotel is definitely the best starting point to discover the treasures of Lucca and its surroundings: within a few minutes walk you can reach all the sights of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing