We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$209
View deal
Expedia.comUS$220
Hotels.comUS$220
PricelineUS$221
eDreamsUS$209
TravelocityUS$220
CheapTicketsUS$220
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
249
131
37
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
249
131
37
17
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Outside the walls of Lucca placed in a quiet location, this hotel has been an historic villa. The time is passed a little but it conserves all of its Charme. With gardens and a nice view on the surrounding the hotel is very quiet. Breakfast is good, with an acceptable choice and high quality food standard. Room was a little outdated but it is also its own strength. We loved this hotel for its atmosphere. We loved Lucca and Tuscany forthe same reason. We definitely will come back!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank neurichispd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear neurichispd,

we would like to sincerely thank you for your review and we are wery proud you find a good atmosphere at Villa La Principessa !
Our Staff really appreciate your kind compliments
Hoping to have the pleasure to welcoming you again in the future
Kind regards
Ivan Cristofori
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This hotel is a love it or hate it hotel. It is an historic villa just outside the walls of Lucca. Easy to drive to surrounding areas. It does not offer transport into Lucca, so you need to be aware that a 20 euro taxi fare to and from is in your budget. The villa was turned into a hotel in 1972, and has not been updated since. That can be a problem for some people. We had room 111, which has a connecting room which would be good for a family or friends on holiday. That room is large, but SPARCE. It could use new bedding and a fresh coat of paint. The bathroom is large, but again, could use some updating. My sisters stayed in another room on the second floor. That room was large as well, but with a smaller bathroom.

The front desk staff is very helpful and cheerful. The pool area is tranquil. Breakfast in the morning was good.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brink9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We are returning guest. It is an enchanted beautiful place. This villa/hotel is a real classy retreat. It is far from the noisy beach crowd of the Versilia beaches but close enough, 19 km plus, to hop in your car and get there in a short time. Couple of minutes from Lucca.
The building is situated in a huge garden, with a nice pool with bar service, etc. The rooms and the entire building has a smell of the early XVIII century aristocracy, high ceilings, antique walltapestry, fireplace, paintings, etc. so if you are looking for sonething modern and high tech comfy, this is not your place.
The only negative thing I could come up with is perhaps the breakfast, which although is served in a gorgeous park, has the same items on the self-service tables every day, perhaps unchanged for years.
So if you are looking for a nice relaxing plcae in a beautiful building, in a huge wonderful garden with startling vegetation, with a very helpful, smiling, and polite staff, and feel like an Aristocrat in the 18th century, I would recommend this villa.
The extra charm and proof of quality is that you meet people, very international, from previous years.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PAF1PAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2016

This was our second visit to this hotel and we were just as delighted as our first visit.
The staff were all wonderful. The lady at reception was even trying to teach my husband italian! The swimming pool is lovely and the pool attendant did everything she could to make you comfortable and relaxed.
Yes it is an old villa but the decor suited it. Breakfast in the garden was very nice. A good buffet selection.
We had a room with a separate lounge and it was always a pleasure to return to the lovely cool room after a day in the hot sun.
The hotel is on a main road but we didn't hear the traffic at night.

Room tip: Most rooms seem to have views either over the pool or to the front of the hotel.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sue260488
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Dear Sue260488

We are so happy you choosed our hotel again , thanks for your review and for the kind words about the Villa and our staff .
We do our best to offer a wonderful stay taking care of our guests in a relaxed and private atmosphere

We look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit in Lucca

Ivan Cristofori
Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Hotel is located about five kilometers from city center. It is middle of nice garden and there is average size pool.
Wi-fi doesn't work at all.
Hotel building is from 12 th century and very beatiful. Rooms are bigger than usually in hotels.
Breakfast average.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HarriY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews