We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$209
View deal
Expedia.comUS$220
Hotels.comUS$220
PricelineUS$221
eDreamsUS$209
TravelocityUS$220
CheapTicketsUS$220
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
249
131
37
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
249
131
37
17
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We stayed here because our conference was held at this hotel. Had we been visiting Lucca on our own, we would have preferred to stay inside the city walls, closer to sights and multiple dining options. When hot, the road to town seemed too far to walk and traffic was a safety concern for us as pedestrians. We did walk to a bus stop and took #53 into town for 2 euro. We caught cabs at the 3 main taxi stands in Lucca (train station, edge of city wall and main square) and that worked well except were few on Sundays. Fares to Lucca were around 15 euros depending on exact location. We also used a great car service called mydriver, from the Pisa airport. Mosquitoes abound in June in Tuscany, but the hotel can't control that. Despite repellent, we were bitten a lot. The hotel has a lot of vegetation and is lower in the valley and seemed to have many more mosquitoes than in Lucca, or at the hotel on the hill next door (Villa Cheli). The rooms were adequate, not luxurious. Decor was grandmotherly. Large keys are left with the front desk when you go. The AC kept our room nice and cool. Food was well prepared with fresh ingredients and tasted great. Service times are set and reservations for dinner are needed because it can fill up. Housekeeping was up early and frequently made up our room while we were down at breakfast - that was impressive. The folks working there were nice and doing their best. They seemed to be working a lot doing multiple jobs. You may have to look around to find someone to pour a drink in the bar. I should state that the conference demands and full occupancy probably contributed to that. The pool was refreshing and clean, but I had trouble figuring out the poolside service. They didn't staff a little old bar next to it and the nearest restroom was inside the hotel. People had to go find someone inside to bring out refreshments. Quietly reading books and drinking seemed to be the main activity here.

Room tip: 123 looked toward the hills and pool
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CapricornSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Villa La Principessa for our last day and frankly it was perfect. Gorgeous hotel, very good and professional service, lovely pool, beautiful views, amazing breakfast. The hotel has a very good location: 25' away from Pisa airport and 2 minutes away from Lucca. We will come back. Our stay was too short.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 786rabi786
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear 786rabi786,

thanks four your important review , our intent is to offer our guests a pleasant and confortable stay at Villa La Principessa.
Looking forward to welcoming you during your next visit in Lucca
Kind regards
Ivan Cristofori
Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

The Villa La Principessa is a perfect property for me. It was beautifully decorated but not fussy. It is quiet and elegant, but not stuffy. The staff is gentle kind and well meaning.
My room was elegant, of a period which I like. The main salon is grand, gracious and comfortable, Especially suited for a late night cap.
The pool is huge and well furnished, and quiet. One can swim laps and nap in peace. The pool attendants are adorable if incompetent, but who cares...they are there.
I hope to return in the spring for weeks to paint and explore this region of Tuscany, when the pool opens!
It is a grand old lady who is aging perfectly!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank bobbyb220
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Bobby B
We woukld like to thank you for having spent some of your time to leave your precious comment about Villa La Principessa.
We hope you keep the intention to come back and we are waiting your next visit with great pleasure
Warm regards
Ivan Cristofori
Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Stunning old building with so much history. Great decor in the bedrooms and classic antiques on the ground floors. Lovely evening meal and good breakfast. Perfect spot surrounded by ancient trees and glorious Tuscan countryside. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good place to stay for visiting Lucca and other little towns around this area.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jackyp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear Jackyp 22,

we are very pleased that you enyoied your stay at Villa La Principessa ,

All the staff thanks for the nice comment.

We would like to welcoming you once again for your next visit in Lucca

Kind regards

Ivan Cristofori
Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

This is a beautiful hotel. Our room was extremely comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was rather ordinary, but the chocolate eggs on our plates Easter morning was a nice touch. Lovely grounds- tall trees, lots of shade, pretty pool.Good location- only a short drive into Lucca (but tricky getting back to the hotel from town).

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LCrissman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear LCrissmann

we want to thank you for the importan review about Villa la Principessa and we hope to welcoming you again in future
Warm regards
Ivan Cristofori
Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews