We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It Felt like visiting old friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast La Romea
Ranked #10 of 168 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It Felt like visiting old friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Well situated , comfortable and roomy. This 14th c home was a delightful change from the typical hotels we'd been visiting. . Our hosts anticipated our every need. Breakfast was wonderful . Only regret was we stayed just one night. Lucca itself was well worth the visit as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    45
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
157
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed just one night, but it was one of the highlights on our Tuscany trip. Super friendly and personal service, great large room and wonderful breakfast in the morning. It's smack in the middle of Lucca, which with our car was a bit challenging but we were expertly guided through the city and then on to the parking lot (free of charge). Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamillaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

right in the center of Lucca. We rolled our bags easily from the train station to the B&B. The breakfast was among the very best we've had in Italy. Loved the idea of being in a 14th century building. Very spacious, with a nice large modern bathroom.

Room Tip: We were in the Ivory Room and enjoyed it a lot, though I think all the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Right in the centre off Lucca in a very quiet square is this utterly charming B&B. Situated on the 1st floor of a very large spacious 14th c house, the rooms are huge, airy and light .... Furnished beautifully an simply. The red room is very comfortable, with great shower room and is super quiet. It has all mod cons...frig, tv , Wifi. Giulio and Gaia do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. Good breakfast in their delightful living room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hirschowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at La Romea for three nights during a ten day trip to Tuscany and Florence, started off in the sumptuous yellow room followed by a final night in the cute green room both rooms were a delight with amazing works of art and fittings. Giulio and Gaia were so friendly and helpful and always on hand to give advice and suggestions especially when serving the marvelous breakfasts.The location is perfect for exploring Lucca itself and for getting to the train station. We had a great stay here and would definitely visit again without hesitation. Only one problem - we missed Leonard Cohen performing in the Summer Festival the day before we arrived!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidpjwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Little and charming B&B. The "peach" room is lovely, very spacious, with a spaciuos bathroom.the breakfast is very good and served in a homely living room. The owners are super kind and lovely. It is very well located in the historic centre, heart of Lucca and just few steps of the main shop street as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Perfect from start to end. The Blue Room with the amazing bathroom is a wonderful place to stay in the historie centre. Giulio called us to make sure we found our way with the car and we just had a good time from when we entered the 600 year old building. Gaia served our teenage boys extra breakfast in the nice liiving room, where we also played cards and had an evening Prosecco by ourselves. We stayed 4 people for 2 nights and felt as spesial guests, just around the corner of everything that happens in Lucca.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quatrofamilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.1 mi away
Guest Apartment Margherita B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast La Romea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast La Romea

Property: Bed & Breakfast La Romea
Address: Vicolo delle Ventaglie 2, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast La Romea is a typical exemple of historic residence, located on the first floor of a late XIVth century palace in Via Sant'Andrea, a short walk fron the Guinigi Tower. Guests will be welcome in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere at the hart of the medieval town. The spacious living room gives room for your private meetings and a wonderful breakfast. We can organize Baby sitting as well as Dog sitting, please ask the reception. We can organize for transportation to and from the two major airports of Pisa and Firenze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bed & Breakfast La Romea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast La Romea Hotel Lucca
Bed And Breakfast La Romea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing