We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Subtle Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast La Romea
Ranked #9 of 173 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The place to stay in Lucca if you're after an elegant, perfectly positioned and classy haven in the heart of Lucca. Set in a beautiful 16th century merchant's house, in the centre of Lucca's historic old town, it has 3 well-equipped, spacious and period rooms. The staff are unbelievably helpful and will happily arrange everything from vehicle access to restaurant reservations. Breakfasts are served in a beautiful high-ceilinged room and are not sizeable and scrumptious. La Romea is the place to stay in Lucca.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoyageurIrlandais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Bed & Breakfast La Romea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is a wonderful en-suited B & B styled accommodation in part of a 14th. century merchants house in the middle of the walled city of Lucca. Rooms are beautiful with many ornate ceiling and plaster work. Staff are helpful . Service is wonderful. Breakfasts are elegant. Pedestrian access is easy. Vehicular access for luggage is possible by arrangement.

Room Tip: Book in advance and pre arrange vehicular access for luggage. The property is on the first floor of...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJALVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Well situated , comfortable and roomy. This 14th c home was a delightful change from the typical hotels we'd been visiting. . Our hosts anticipated our every need. Breakfast was wonderful . Only regret was we stayed just one night. Lucca itself was well worth the visit as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed just one night, but it was one of the highlights on our Tuscany trip. Super friendly and personal service, great large room and wonderful breakfast in the morning. It's smack in the middle of Lucca, which with our car was a bit challenging but we were expertly guided through the city and then on to the parking lot (free of charge). Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamillaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

right in the center of Lucca. We rolled our bags easily from the train station to the B&B. The breakfast was among the very best we've had in Italy. Loved the idea of being in a 14th century building. Very spacious, with a nice large modern bathroom.

Room Tip: We were in the Ivory Room and enjoyed it a lot, though I think all the rooms are very nice.
Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Right in the centre off Lucca in a very quiet square is this utterly charming B&B. Situated on the 1st floor of a very large spacious 14th c house, the rooms are huge, airy and light .... Furnished beautifully an simply. The red room is very comfortable, with great shower room and is super quiet. It has all mod cons...frig, tv , Wifi. Giulio and Gaia do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. Good breakfast in their delightful living room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hirschowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at La Romea for three nights during a ten day trip to Tuscany and Florence, started off in the sumptuous yellow room followed by a final night in the cute green room both rooms were a delight with amazing works of art and fittings. Giulio and Gaia were so friendly and helpful and always on hand to give advice and suggestions especially when serving the marvelous breakfasts.The location is perfect for exploring Lucca itself and for getting to the train station. We had a great stay here and would definitely visit again without hesitation. Only one problem - we missed Leonard Cohen performing in the Summer Festival the day before we arrived!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidpjwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.4 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 47 in Lucca
520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 47 in Lucca
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast La Romea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast La Romea

Address: Vicolo delle Ventaglie 2, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: £87 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast La Romea is a typical exemple of historic residence, located on the first floor of a late XIVth century palace in Via Sant'Andrea, a short walk fron the Guinigi Tower. Guests will be welcome in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere at the hart of the medieval town. The spacious living room gives room for your private meetings and a wonderful breakfast. We can organize Baby sitting as well as Dog sitting, please ask the reception. We can organize for transportation to and from the two major airports of Pisa and Firenze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bed & Breakfast La Romea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast La Romea
Bed & Breakfast La Romea Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing