We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of paradise on earth”
Review of Relais La Cappella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais La Cappella
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

After leaving the walls of Lucca in our rear view mirror we navigated the switchback road leading to Relais la Capella. Breathtaking view after view greeted us on our 3 km sojourn. We were met by Emiliano our host who took my wife and I on a guided tour of his establishment. After bringing up our luggage we quickly changed into bathing suits and headed to the pool. Emiliano was right behind us with a bottle of Tuscna wine. After our swim we headed for the local supermarket for bread, cheese, pasta and pesto as we had a full kitchen. Falling asleep was easy with the cool night air caressing our tired bodies. In the morning we were greeted with a sumptuous breakfast of local and organic produce that held us late into the afternoon. As my wife and I have spent a month each of the last 5 years traveling through Europe and staying at over 30 heels booked through TA's advices, we can unequivocally say that Relais la Cappella is our heaven on earth and are planning to return.

Room Tip: Go for apartment 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tenpro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Be prepared for a beautiful and unique experience a few minutes from Lucca up a winding road through vineyards and rolling hills. Obviously you will need a car. This property was a monastery but is now a fun and relaxing accommodation with Emiliano as your host. We arrived late and Emiliano met us and showed us to our rooms. The next morning our family of six met outside on the patio for breakfast (included in the price) which was far beyond our expectations. Emiliano kept offering more food and cappuccinos. Emiliano offered to prepare dinner for us (not included in the price) if we notified him by 3 PM. We took him up on dinner and were extremely happy we did. He is a great chef and the meal was outstanding and well worth the price. He uses many items out of his garden both fresh and organic. The dinner included the best gnocchi any of us had ever eaten!. Emiliano is a very hard working guy and really wants to please and enjoys seeing his guests happy. The swimming pool was fun with a beautiful view even though it was a bit chilly. What a wonderful experience! We hope to stay here again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontanaBelievers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The location, rooms and facilities are just perfect as is the breakfast but a few small improvements in service would perfect everything.
A. The adress in booking.com is incorrect and we only found the place after help from friendly local people.
B. Please let people know in advance that there is no evening meal available on weekends, otherwise advertise as B&B only. This was disappointing after reading all great reviews of the cooking skills of the owner.
C. For example have some cheese and sausage available as afternoon snack when people come in hungry from a day on the road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A gorgeous old house on the top of a hill, looking over the valleys and hills surrounding Lucca, and is owned and run by someone who cares about the place, and wants you to have a nice time (Emiliano). The rooms are great, but are surpassed by the view - make sure you get a room with a view of the valley!!! Best thing even to look at while you shower, or also from the side of the pool which is kept nice and clean.

The breakfast is great - fresh coffee, bread, italian cheeses, tomatoes etc, as well as the standard cereals, and eggs etc if you want them. There are lots of common areas as well to sit, and enjoy and glass of wine (BYO wine, Emiliano provides the glasses). Dinner is sometimes available, check when you arrive.

To stay there you obviously need to have a car, and the road to drive up there is a bit narrow, but easily manageable. The only other thing I would suggest (if you book with Booking.com) is just to check the address - the one Booking.com says is different to what the hotel says (although you end up in the right place eventually, it is a bit confusing)

Would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to anyone who wants the best view in Tuscany :-)

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room with the view!!! No point staying here otherwise I dont think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed one night, we had a great reception from the owner himself, Emiliano.
The hotel (could easily be called gourmet boutique hotel) is very well located, with a beautiful view of Tuscany.
In addition to a wonderful room, very comfortable, large and with great views, the kitchen and the restaurant of the hotel are the highlights of the place, both are in the same open space, Emiliano prepares and serves great breakfast and dinner, well served and delicious, with a modern cuisine and typical of Tuscany and Italy.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views! The rooms are comfortable and welcoming. There are apartments with two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabricio I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here one night during our Tuscany trip. Everything was really impressive. Delicious food, very good conditions, amazing view.
Very quite and romantic place. Highly recommended for couples :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a fantastic experience at this hotel. The view is amazing and the service is top notch. The treat is Emiliano, who treats you with hospitality and kindness from the moment you walk in until the moment you leave. The treat is the food, a once in a lifetime experience, having Emiliano cook you a dinner with locally sourced ingredients cooked in a Tuscan style.

You absolutely must stay in this hotel on your trip to Tuscany.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LauraOmkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,126 reviews
6.8 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#3 of 47 in Lucca
655 reviews
6.2 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 47 in Lucca
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#15 of 47 in Lucca
376 reviews
4.4 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 47 in Lucca
954 reviews
4.0 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Cappella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Cappella

Address: Via dei Tognetti fraz. La Cappella | Ponte del Giglio, 55060, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range: £101 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Relais La Cappella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing