We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B in the Heart of Lucca” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Boheme
Ranked #7 of 166 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Venetia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great B&B in the Heart of Lucca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

From the moment we entered we were greeted by our host and were treated extremely well. She even drove with me to the parking area to be sure I knew its location. We were even shown two rooms and picked the one we liked. The rooms are very clean and decorated very nice. The best extra with this B&B is its location. You have Lucca at your fingertips! A must stay if you want to be comfortable and have everything within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnandjoanne1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarina2, Proprietario at La Boheme, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words! We understand it might be challenging to drive in the historic centre, but it can be fun! Anyway, we always try to make it easier and drive you to the parking, which is just a few steps from the B&B. We're very glad you've had a pleasant stay at La Bohème and hope to host you again some other time. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    41
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
134
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed two nights at La Boheme, and found it very pleasant and comfortable, with attention to all the tiny details that make a difference for travelers. Well appointed rooms, bathrooms are large and comfortable, the house itself is a large Renaissance building in the center of Lucca, tastefully redone, retaining the character of the old grand house. Best of all was Laura, the extremely helpful staff member. She was welcoming, friendly and infinitely patient with all our questions. She made all the difference in our stay. I hope to revisit this place often.

Sheila B, Portland OR

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Sheila66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarina2, Proprietario at La Boheme, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Sheila, thank you very much for your kind words. I'm happy you had a nice stay and wish you all the best. Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Terrific location, lovely authentic feel to B&B, great pastries, extremely helpful staff. Luckily we had a cab driver drop us off - otherwise, difficult to find if you've never been here before. But Lucca is tiny. Such a great time. Enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewJerseyCiaoBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarina2, Proprietario at La Boheme, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for such a kind comment! Some people think Lucca is like a labyrinth, but that's the fun of it and once you start exploring its small historic centre you can't really get lost. As for reaching the B&B by car, we understand it can be stressing to foreign travellers, Lucca is a medieval town... but it's worth the effort, isn't it? Anyway, we're careful in sending detailed maps and directions according to guests' mean of transport, they're usually more helpful than the gps.
Thank you again for your nice words, best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
336 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We took 3 rooms in this small hotel (B&B) in the city centre in October. The rooms were quite nice and the location was excellent. No cars can come down the street the entrance is located on, but its not too far of a walk with luggage to get a taxi. In addition, its only about a 12 minute walk to the train station, which is also where a parking lot is located in case you have a car.

The hotel reception is located on the 2nd floor, so you do have to carry your luggage up a large flight of stairs. Not ideal. The staff is quite nice, but they aren't there all the time, so you do have to let them know your arrival time. We had a set period that we had to be back at the hotel to pick up our keys when we were checking in. The room come with breakfast, which is very minimal but nice in a shared room. The rooms are all different sizes, I think the one we had might have been the largest, it had a nice canopy bed in it.

We had a nice time here, no complaints.

Room Tip: If there is the option, check out the rooms before you pick one as they are all different in size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandiUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarina2, Proprietario at La Boheme, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Sandi, thank you for your comments which give me the opportunity to clarify a couple of things: La Bohème is on the first floor of a historical palace, so there are some steps from the loggia on the groundfloor, as you wrote, but we usually help guests carrying their luggage. La Bohème is a B&B, which also means the reception is not open 24h: we're at the place from 8am until 7-8pm except 1 hour breack for lunch. We ask for approx. arrival times so that we can better manage waiting during lunch-time or late in the evening. As for breakfast, I'm sorry you found it minimal, it's usually considered a rich buffet... Anyway I really thank you for your overall positive words, I do appreciate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Laura was super friendly when we arrived after a long drive up from Volterra, giving us perfect instructions on parking and pointing us toward some nice restaurants and activities. The B & B is right in the center of Lucca -- an excellent pizza place is just across the street. The highlight of our stay was a long bikeride on the La Boheme's two bikes, around the city walls. A lovely two night stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strongthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarina2, Proprietario at La Boheme, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear Thomas, thank you very much for your your kind words! We're happy you found our tips useful and had a nice time cycling on the walls, that's fun isn't it? We hope to have you here again at La Bohème some time, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 young children) stayed in 2 rooms at La Boheme in January 2013. Sarah was a wonderful host, and looked after us very well. Even though La Boheme is not specifically family orientated, she went out of her way to make the kids feel at home, including allowing us to use the kitchen and dining room for a take away pizza and movie night.

The rooms were very comfortable and spacious with lovely little extras. They were not interconnecting however, so we had to have an adult and child in each room.

Sarah's restaurant tips were spot on, and we had 2 of the best trattoria meals in Italy in Lucca at Trattoria Gigi and Tre Melli. There is also a famous pizza shop downstairs.

The location was perfect - right in the centre of the old town. We walked everywhere. There is a laundromat about 200 metres from the B&B.

La Boheme provided free parking about 500 metres away and we were able to walk with our luggage to the car. Driving in the Lucca old town is hairy, although Tom Toms make it more manageable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarina2, Proprietario at La Boheme, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you very much for this comment! You're right, we don't have suites for four/five guests at La Bohème, but family groups usually find it comfortable since the B&B is quiet and gives the chance to gather in the hall or in the breakfast room. Some rooms are situated one beside the other, so even if they are not connected parents can easily check if evething is ok in children's room, just like home! Best wishes and thank you again for your kind words, I appreciate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Ontario
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay at La Boheme.

It is centrally located in the old city. The city is VERY walkable and you are close to everything.

We stayed in the Blue Room which had an ensuite bathroom and a good sized bed (two singles pushed together... typical for Europe) which was pretty comfortable. The room was clean and quiet... just what we wanted.

Breakfasts were very good... the usual European breads, meats, cheeses, cereal and fruit... and if you wanted eggs, Sara will prepare them any way you want (much better than the usual cold hard boiled offering you may find elsewhere). And the coffee/cappucinos are super!

Sara and Laura are also a great source of information on what to see and do in Lucca... and the available maps helped to keep us from getting lost! They are also more than willing to arrange reservations etc... and if you want to go to the nightly Puccini recital, they have discounted tickets!

If you are going to Lucca, and you want to stay in a central, welcoming, well run and clean B&B, stay at La Boheme.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Just_Passin_Thru001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarina2, Proprietario at La Boheme, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
What a review, thank you so much! I'm happy you had a nice time at La Bohème and in the Blue Room named after Puccini's opera Gianni Schicchi. As other rooms it has been recently re-styled so now it's even more comfortable and cute. You're perfectly right: we really like giving our kind guests some advice in order to help them enjoying our beautiful town. Lucca is quiet and small, but it's filled with treasures which are often hidden. One has to wander around and discover them, but some good tips can make one's day, I guess! Thank you again, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.2 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Boheme

Property: La Boheme
Address: Via del Moro 2, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Boheme 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Boheme Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing