We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just outside of Lucca...”
Review of Hotel Carignano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carignano
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Pricewise this was a good choice for me. I was given a full size room as a single for 49E. I had also stayed inside the walls of Lucca for a couple of nites, but with a car i found this to be preferable and much cheaper. It was clean and the staff were very attentive. It does have a sort of "motel" feel---but it's 49 Euros!!! Even if I added my parking within the walls and fuel to run back and forth to this location it was a good deal. I did get lost initially but as I never take a GPS it's my fault entirely. You must be on the correct feeder road coming from Lucca proper as there are numerous one ways etc.

Room Tip: I dont think I'd want to stay on the ground floor or by the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

We had a woderful week at Hotel Carignano. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, quiet and ours opened to a lovely balcony from which we had a beauriful view of the countryside. It is conviently located near the walled city of Lucca. We walked the 4k along the river path, bikes are availble to rent and taxi service is also available. We also had the pleasure of taking a weeks worth of coking classes from Chef Paolo Monti, given in the hotel. We will reccomend this experience to all of our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertgorhamwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't fault the place. It's clean and simple with a perfectly ample breakfast buffet. A nice cool pool in the grounds and despite the number of rooms was incredibly quiet. Chef's Paulo's cookery course was an excellent addition to our stay. Easy location for driving to explore the Tuscan countryside and coast.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snorman1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

This hotel is just a few km from Lucca, set in the countryside. Very nice place to stay if you have a car. It's perfect as a base to visit Lucca, Pisa, and other surrounding areas. The staff are nice and professional and the room we got, although a little dated, was big, clean and peaceful. Wi-fi is available at a price.
The restaurant serves very nice food, so it's perfect for the location, as you won't have to look around for a place to eat. In fact, you can choose to book at half-pension and you will get your meal at a good price.
We had a very nice stay there and recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We booked the hotel for a week’s stay as a base to travel the area. It was a brilliant decision. On arrival they told us that they upgraded us to a better room at no charge. The room was spacious overlooking the back area (pool in a garden setting). The breakfast -buffet type- has plenty to choose from. The reception is always there to help you with questions, where to go what to do etc. The hotel is very conveniently located about 4km out of town, but on this side of town is a BIG FREE parking, just outside the town wall. You cannot drive into town anyway, so it is an ideal set-up. Attached to the hotel is an excellent restaurant. We ate there 6 of our 7 nights. It also incorporates a cooking school; unfortunately we had to miss out on that experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and can only recommend the place. We would happily go back there next time in Lucca.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downunder45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed here to explore Lucca, Pisa and Carrara. It is true that the rooms are not in mint condition (tv did not work, furniture is dated), But the things I value were there: good bed, stable wifi place to park the car, airco. The bonus of this hotel is the restaurant. The food is good and a 15-25 euro pp you can have a wunderful meal with great dessert.

The breakfast is above average as well for a 3 star hotel. Boiled eggs, two types of croissants, pastries, bread, yohurt,... the only thing I disliked was the coffee (powdered coffee machine).

The hotel is approx 6 km from the historic center, which can be cycled or walked 2/3 alongside the river.

And yes, the pool is small and away from the hotel. Is suits the need to cool down, not to have your morning excercise swim.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crowbarNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

lets get the one negative out of the way, this hotel is not in Lucca, its about 3 or 4KM outside of town..... that aside I had a functional spacious room, with a small balcony overlooking a private meadow to the rear of the hotel. I can't speak for all the staff but the young woman who dealt with me was friendly and very helpful. There is a restaurant attached to the building (I don't know if its attached commercially or not) and I would highly recommend it, we had an exquisite three course meal for two with wine for 60 euros.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwardsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
3.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#18 of 47 in Lucca
364 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Da Carlos
Hotel Da Carlos
#1 of 1 in Santa Maria del Giudice
179 reviews
3.4 mi away
Giada Palace
Giada Palace
#24 of 47 in Lucca
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
3.8 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 47 in Lucca
388 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eurostars Toscana
Eurostars Toscana
#17 of 47 in Lucca
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carignano

Address: Via di Sant'Alessio n 3680 | Localita Carignano, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range: £57 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carignano 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable three star hotel Hotel with 38 spacious bedrooms, air conditionig,family rooms for up to 5 persons, garden with childrens pool, ample parking, italian cuisine cooking school, typical local restaurant, pizzeria. vacation packages, 4 km from the center of lucca, 5 km from railway or expressway ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Carignano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carignano Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing