We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved this church”

San Michele in Foro
Book In Advance
More Info
US$10.92*
and up
Walking Tour and Exploration of Lucca
Ranked #6 of 111 things to do in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
285 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“We loved this church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stumbled across this church when we were leaving a restaurant across the street. So glad we did! The choir was rehearsing for a Beethoven concert and we got to sit inside and listen. Truly beautiful! The architecture and art are lovely, especially a 12th century crucifix from the School of Lucca that hands over the altar. Glazed terra cotta Madonna attributed to Andrea della Robbia is also a must-see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TallyWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    315
    58
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful facade. Unique "wedding cake" shape.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Lovely from any angle, but particularly straight on to appreciate the lines of the tiered, step-like construction.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tbc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“An amazing facade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

An amazing facade of tiered columns, some twisted, some carved) crowned by an angel (st Michael), visible from the terrace of our appartment.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hatfia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great basilica facade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

one of the many city pizzas but this one is distinguished with a great basilica with Romanesque /Persian design (I guess). We had the pleasure of watching a wedding which made it all the more enjoyable. Always something going on in this lively square.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David_S_K1V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great frontage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Amazing from the square, never quite completed inside so plainer than you might think. We went to a concert there including Beethoven's Mass in D Major - a great setting for this music.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Michele in Foro also viewed

 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to San Michele in Foro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing