We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Rex
Nearby Hotels
Albergo Villa Marta(Lucca)(Great Value!)
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Celide(Lucca)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Casanova Lucca(Balbano)(Great Value!)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
236
216
41
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
216
41
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationgreat locationfamily runwalled cityinstant coffeeold townyogurtfree bikes to ridea stones throwhard boiled eggsshort walkmain roadfamily roomthis lovely hotellucca wallsitalian hotelsthe perfect place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We rocked up after 9 pm expecting to not find a room without a reservation , but we were surprised and felt blessed we could get a great room with a good parking spot at the hotel Rex. Piero , the manager is a really nice helpful guy , loaded with information and eager to please . He speaks English very well and has the right attitude which is refreshing .
The room was spacious , I think we had the disabled room because you could hold a ball in the bathroom it was so big . It was comfortably decorated and everything worked well . The beds were comfy and in spite of the room being on the noisy square we did not hear a thing the windows are double glazed and there are shutters .
For 90 euros this was the best hotel for the price in the week we had been holidaying. We were expecting to pay much more in such a touristic place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saskiagrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We selected this hotel due to its proximity to the railway station and just outside the city wall. Whilst we were a little dubious as to how quiet the rooms would be, we were shocked that we slept in to 10.10am and missed breakfast. We were in room 41 which overlooked a side alley so the external shutters, double glazed windows and internal shutters kept most noise out. We headed out straight away as we wanted to bike the wall. The hotel only had one bicycle left so they arranged another one from the tourist shop across the square at no charge. The hotel also offered to iron a couple of shirts after we had visited a local self service laundry. There was plenty of choice at breakfast with cereals, fruit, yoghurt, cold meats, breads and pastries etc. The free Wifi with password was accessible in our second floor room and speed was fine. TV only had BBC and CNN but we weren't there to watch TV. Overall great service with value provided.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LandN449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Chose this hotel as it was not easy to find a single hotel room for our family of 4 in Lucca.

The hotel is located in the same square as the railway station and is directly over the road from the wall which encircles Lucca. The hotel has some allocated parking outside, but when we arrived this was full and we were instructed to park on the pavement directly outside the hotel reception.

Our allocated room (number 14) was on the ground floor and was split level, with a double bed on the upper floor and another double on the lower floor. The room had a rather old feel, however was clean and well equipped, with a TV on each floor, tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge as well as colouring materials for younger children.

The hotel advertises that it has free bicycles for hotel guests. When we asked at around 4pm they were all out, however a short time later we received a phone call in our room to say that 4 bicycles were available and I had not asked them to call me....a nice touch.

Breakfast was continental as is typical in Italy, but had a good selection.

We were very glad we selected this hotel and would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in order to visit Pisa by train.

The location of the hotel literally next door to the train station could not be more convenient, with the old walled town just over the road.

We really liked this hotel, genuine family run hospitality with good rooms. Reception staff were mostly family and very helpful and liked to talk, which made you feel welcome.

Our room looked out over the grassy square with fountain in front of the hotel and station and was quite peaceful. Room was a good size, beds were really comfortable, bathroom was modern and spacious, plenty of room in the minibar fridge, plenty of hanging space. Wifi was good and stable.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and there is even the chance to eat at the tables outside if you want.

Lucca town is a delight to walk around and must be one of the best preserved walled towns in the world along with York. The walk around the top of the walls is an enjoyable experience if you can dodge all the joggers!

We visited the Puccini Museum which was excellent, very well laid out and informative.

A day trip to Pisa on the train is easy to do from the hotel. Trains run every half hour and the journey takes about 20 mins. We found it easiest to buy tickets at the automated machines rather than queue, or you can buy tickets at the newsagents inside the station.

Pisa is an interesting place with lots of cafes to stop and watch the world go but, and the leaning tower should be on everyone’s bucket list to visit – it leaned far more than we anticipated and the experience of walking up and round the viewing platform is memorable.

Highly recommend the Hotel Rex as great value and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have nice view of the square
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bobsatravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

After a long tiring day, touring by car, we arrived in the centre of Lucca. What a relief to see the 3* Hotel Rex. After meeting the manager everything went from good to better! He left his desk to guide me into a free-parking space. Opposite the hotel, white lines mean spaces are free, blue lines mean there is a fee.
We really needed an evening meal. Again the manager came to our aid. He recommended the Da Francesco Trattoria Pizzeria and kindly got on the 'phone and booked us a table for two. Booking was essential, as the restaurant is very popular.The hotel owner, a genial 98 years old, supplied us with a handy map and showed us the close proximity of the restaurant.
Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. We had time to enjoy a refreshing shower and take advantage of the tea and coffee making facility, in our room.
The main line station is but a stones throw away from the hotel, but throw away any thoughts of being disturbed. I wasn't aware of any trains and slept soundly.
We only required to stay the one night. Our double room cost €90, which was really good value, as a most plentiful breakfast was included in the price. A further €3 covered the city tax.
The Hotel Rex was truly excellent. It is ideally and conveniently placed to tour Lucca or to take the train. Our bed and room were really comfortable. The staff were most generous with their help. All in all this made our stay a thoroughly pleasing and memorable one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 485AlanP485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews