We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lucca”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2009

The hotel was in a great location, just outside the city wall and only about a 3-5 minute walk into the centre. The bathroom was tiny but adequate, and the room itself was very clean and although basic it suited our needs.

Parking was free and just outside the hotel. Trying to find the hotel in the first place was a bit of a mission, but that was mainly due to the satnav!

We only stayed for one night in Lucca, but there was enough to do for another day/night's stay, and would have been happy to stay in Hotel Rex for another night.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsCLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2009

We stayed at the Rex as guests from the UK during an animation festival held in Lucca. The organisers of the festival were kind enough to organise many events some of which lasted until after midnight and I hope they explained this situation to the hotel beforehand.
The hotel staff were friendly enough however if we came in after hours the man on the door was downright unfriendly.
This spoilt the atmosphere somewhat although I realise it is a family run hotel. Apart from this the hotel is very conveniently situated and pleasant enough.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whingerBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Rex in March for 3 nights. The location was perfect, just a 1 minute walk from the train station and a 5 minute walk from the walled city. We used their free bikes for a lovely ride in Lucca and around the 4km wall. Breakfast was excellent and even a tea maker in the room. The room was very clean with a large bathroom. A real highlight was the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff - including the 92 year old energetic hotel owner who was frequently in the lobby with a warm greeting. The young female day receptionist spoke fluent English and was extremely helpful with local information. The night receptionist went out of his way to give us bus and train information - even printing them out and putting them under our door. Don't miss the nightly Puccini concert at the Giovanni Church(10 minute walk). Discount tickets at 12 Euro were available at the hotel. We took a one day trip to Cinque Terre with great train connections and a one day trip to the leaning tower at Pisa by train(20 minutes to San Rossoro station). Free internet in the lobby. A real gem right outside the beautiful walled city.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walleyemanWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

This was a disappointing end to our holiday in Italy. We found small pieces of broken glass on the tiled floor of our bedroom and even after we reported this to the desk, we still found more the next day.The hotel lobby and stairs were not particularly clean. At breakfast they ran out of bread rolls and boiled eggs before 9am. However on a positive note, the location is good as it only takes 3mins to reach the city walls, the the beds are comfortable and the rooms are well sound proofed so the traffic noise isn't a problem and the night porter was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirchwoodScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We did an overnight stop here on our way back from Southern Italy. The hotel is ideally located for visiting the sights of Lucca as it is just outside the walls.
However, our room was dark and dismal and had dirty marks all over the walls. The air conditioning did not work properly and the room ingenerla left a lot to be desired.
If we go to Lucca again we will definately choose a different hotel.
Not recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMCRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2006

Hotel Rex is a quiet, clean hotel in a most convenient location. We (couple in our early 60s) arrived in and left Lucca by train (great connections to Pisa and Florence) and the hotel is literally across the street from the station on a quiet piazza. Since we were going to 4 cities in 9 days, my husband and I had small, rolling carry-ons, but the hotel would be convenient for those with more luggage since there is an elevator. Our room was old fashioned, exceptionally clean, with mini-bar, desk, safe and a great bed. The window opened to a small courtyard. The bathroom was very modern (new) with all the amenities, including a hairdryer and heated towel rack. Breakfast was very good, with cereals, yoghurt, meat & cheese, breads, fruit, etc.—not just sweet carbs. Cappucino/espresso made to order. Most importantly, the people were very friendly and helpful. It was nice to be one of only a few guests. I was alone the first night and reluctant to explore a new town in the dark, so the girl at the front desk offered to order me a pizza. She also called to check bus schedules if I decided to take a bus to Pisa. An older gentleman befriended me because I was attempting to speak Italian. Although he did not speak English, we managed to communicate quite nicely by the second day. He loaned us bicycles for a fabulous tour of Lucca, which is literally across the street the other way. We were there for March spring break, which meant great weather and few tourists. The groups of young students were not in Lucca. We ate at a marvelous (but not inexpensive) restaurant in the center of the town called Il Giglio—great food and very friendly waiters. Although there are hotels inside the city walls and there is definitely motor traffic within the walls, I was very happy to be staying just outside the wall and able to explore the town on foot. I wouldn’t want to haul luggage around the narrow streets. Arrival from Pisa Aeroporto is easy. Trains leave the airport approximately every 30 minutes for Pisa Centrale (a very short sprint). There is then a regular train to Lucca. The track is binario 2 ovest, which is a line very close to the station, rather than binario 2 which is further away from the station. Check the partenzas sign, but also ask people (even if you can only say “Lucca?”). Don’t be afraid to use the machines to buy train tickets if there is a line at the ticket counter; there is an English version. Also, be sure to validate your tickets by inserting them in little yellow boxes in the station before you get on a train; if you forget, be sure to contact a conductor. There is a big fine for using an unvalidated ticket. We have great memories of Lucca. Quiet, picturesque and very friendly. Wish we could have spent more than 2 days there. Hotel Rex made it a very homey experience.

12  Thank Lynn1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2006

Let me mention the good things about this hotel... The staff was VERY helpful and friendly. The breakfast was pretty good - slightly better than most. The location from the train station is right next door and you cross the street and there is the walled town of Lucca. Would have been perfect, except the beds were unbelieveably poor for a room that cost us $130 euro a night. It was like sleeping on sand bags. Before we left I had to look under the covers... there were 2 cots (the roll-a-way type) pushed together to make a double bed with old mattresses. We stayed 2 weeks in Italy and those were the worst 2 nights sleep I ever had! Other notes (insignificant to me, but maybe not to you)... there was a coffee pot in the room that you don't usually see in Italian hotel rooms, but the heating element was so green and gross from corrosion that you wouldn't think of using it. Being close to the train station, suspicious characters would hang out in the square at night making us nervous, but there's a GREAT family restaurant down the street making it worth the walk (ask at the desk). I rated this hotel low only because a good night's sleep was important on our busy vacation and our bed was pretty bad in my opinion.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eddied2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.4 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 47 in Lucca
946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 47 in Lucca
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
1.4 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#8 of 47 in Lucca
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Piazzale Bettino Ricasoli 19, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range: £71 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy family-run hotel located 100 meters far from the historic center and 80 meters far from the main railway station, convenient location for easy exploration of the countryside and the coast of Tuscany. Hotel Rex offers a range of services to its customers, such as free Wi-Fi in the entire building and in all rooms, a rich buffet breakfast with sweet and savory dishes, comfort for children and free parking places in front of the hotel. The friendly staff at Hotel Rex is always happy to answer all your questions and give you tips on how to make your stay special in Lucca and at Hotel Rex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing