We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Families”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We have traveled several times to Europe and are always looking for something affordable that can accomodate a family of five. Our children are 11, 8 and 6. The Hotel Rex was one of the best places we have stayed. The prices were very reasonable and they could accomodate our family. Our room consisted of two rooms and a bathroom. The first bedroom had three beds and the second had a queen sized bed. The bathrooms had plenty of towels, plenty of hot water and was equipped with a hairdryer. The rooms were substantial in size - especially compared to other European hotels. The location was just steps from the train station - without the noise from the trains - and across the street from the entrance to the walls surrounding the city center (there was a cross walk right at our hotel). The hotel had a computer in the main lobby with free internet access. The staff was more than friendly. They provided great information, directions and suggestions and were friendly with our children. The Rex provided breakfast from about 7 - 10 am daily. Breakfast consisted of sweet rolls, croissants, cereals, yogurt, ham, cheeses, juices, coffee, tea, etc. Knowing we needed to leave early one morning, they had the breakfast out at 6:30 to accomodate our needs. They made great restaurant suggestions. This hotel was a real find for our family and we would happily stay there again and recommend it to those looking for accomodations that won't break the budget, that are conveniently located with a staff that is very friendly. Oh, and our room had a pretty view of the plaza in front of the train station.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2009

Our first impression was of a front foyer that could do with a spruce up but the welcome was good and we had an immediate offer of free parking right outside the hotel. The bedrooms were very spacious and were bright, clean, fresh and comfortably furnished. Breakfast had a good range of breads, fruit, cereals etc and everything was clean and well presented. The hotel is perfectly situated within a 3 minute walk of the city walls but the offer of free bicycles from the hotel owner meant we could cycle around the city to avail of the restauants, shops, market and other city sights. We would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

The hotel was in a great location, just outside the city wall and only about a 3-5 minute walk into the centre. The bathroom was tiny but adequate, and the room itself was very clean and although basic it suited our needs.

Parking was free and just outside the hotel. Trying to find the hotel in the first place was a bit of a mission, but that was mainly due to the satnav!

We only stayed for one night in Lucca, but there was enough to do for another day/night's stay, and would have been happy to stay in Hotel Rex for another night.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsCLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

We stayed at the Rex as guests from the UK during an animation festival held in Lucca. The organisers of the festival were kind enough to organise many events some of which lasted until after midnight and I hope they explained this situation to the hotel beforehand.
The hotel staff were friendly enough however if we came in after hours the man on the door was downright unfriendly.
This spoilt the atmosphere somewhat although I realise it is a family run hotel. Apart from this the hotel is very conveniently situated and pleasant enough.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whingerBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Rex in March for 3 nights. The location was perfect, just a 1 minute walk from the train station and a 5 minute walk from the walled city. We used their free bikes for a lovely ride in Lucca and around the 4km wall. Breakfast was excellent and even a tea maker in the room. The room was very clean with a large bathroom. A real highlight was the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff - including the 92 year old energetic hotel owner who was frequently in the lobby with a warm greeting. The young female day receptionist spoke fluent English and was extremely helpful with local information. The night receptionist went out of his way to give us bus and train information - even printing them out and putting them under our door. Don't miss the nightly Puccini concert at the Giovanni Church(10 minute walk). Discount tickets at 12 Euro were available at the hotel. We took a one day trip to Cinque Terre with great train connections and a one day trip to the leaning tower at Pisa by train(20 minutes to San Rossoro station). Free internet in the lobby. A real gem right outside the beautiful walled city.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walleyemanWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

This was a disappointing end to our holiday in Italy. We found small pieces of broken glass on the tiled floor of our bedroom and even after we reported this to the desk, we still found more the next day.The hotel lobby and stairs were not particularly clean. At breakfast they ran out of bread rolls and boiled eggs before 9am. However on a positive note, the location is good as it only takes 3mins to reach the city walls, the the beds are comfortable and the rooms are well sound proofed so the traffic noise isn't a problem and the night porter was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirchwoodScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We did an overnight stop here on our way back from Southern Italy. The hotel is ideally located for visiting the sights of Lucca as it is just outside the walls.
However, our room was dark and dismal and had dirty marks all over the walls. The air conditioning did not work properly and the room ingenerla left a lot to be desired.
If we go to Lucca again we will definately choose a different hotel.
Not recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMCRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 47 in Lucca
954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 47 in Lucca
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#16 of 47 in Lucca
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Piazzale Bettino Ricasoli 19, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lucca
#13 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range: £62 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy family-run hotel located 100 meters far from the historic center and 80 meters far from the main railway station, convenient location for easy exploration of the countryside and the coast of Tuscany. Hotel Rex offers a range of services to its customers, such as free Wi-Fi in the entire building and in all rooms, a rich buffet breakfast with sweet and savory dishes, comfort for children and free parking places in front of the hotel. The friendly staff at Hotel Rex is always happy to answer all your questions and give you tips on how to make your stay special in Lucca and at Hotel Rex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing