We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and friendly!!!”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2006

Hotel Rex is a quiet, clean hotel in a most convenient location. We (couple in our early 60s) arrived in and left Lucca by train (great connections to Pisa and Florence) and the hotel is literally across the street from the station on a quiet piazza. Since we were going to 4 cities in 9 days, my husband and I had small, rolling carry-ons, but the hotel would be convenient for those with more luggage since there is an elevator. Our room was old fashioned, exceptionally clean, with mini-bar, desk, safe and a great bed. The window opened to a small courtyard. The bathroom was very modern (new) with all the amenities, including a hairdryer and heated towel rack. Breakfast was very good, with cereals, yoghurt, meat & cheese, breads, fruit, etc.—not just sweet carbs. Cappucino/espresso made to order. Most importantly, the people were very friendly and helpful. It was nice to be one of only a few guests. I was alone the first night and reluctant to explore a new town in the dark, so the girl at the front desk offered to order me a pizza. She also called to check bus schedules if I decided to take a bus to Pisa. An older gentleman befriended me because I was attempting to speak Italian. Although he did not speak English, we managed to communicate quite nicely by the second day. He loaned us bicycles for a fabulous tour of Lucca, which is literally across the street the other way. We were there for March spring break, which meant great weather and few tourists. The groups of young students were not in Lucca. We ate at a marvelous (but not inexpensive) restaurant in the center of the town called Il Giglio—great food and very friendly waiters. Although there are hotels inside the city walls and there is definitely motor traffic within the walls, I was very happy to be staying just outside the wall and able to explore the town on foot. I wouldn’t want to haul luggage around the narrow streets. Arrival from Pisa Aeroporto is easy. Trains leave the airport approximately every 30 minutes for Pisa Centrale (a very short sprint). There is then a regular train to Lucca. The track is binario 2 ovest, which is a line very close to the station, rather than binario 2 which is further away from the station. Check the partenzas sign, but also ask people (even if you can only say “Lucca?”). Don’t be afraid to use the machines to buy train tickets if there is a line at the ticket counter; there is an English version. Also, be sure to validate your tickets by inserting them in little yellow boxes in the station before you get on a train; if you forget, be sure to contact a conductor. There is a big fine for using an unvalidated ticket. We have great memories of Lucca. Quiet, picturesque and very friendly. Wish we could have spent more than 2 days there. Hotel Rex made it a very homey experience.

12  Thank Lynn1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2006

Let me mention the good things about this hotel... The staff was VERY helpful and friendly. The breakfast was pretty good - slightly better than most. The location from the train station is right next door and you cross the street and there is the walled town of Lucca. Would have been perfect, except the beds were unbelieveably poor for a room that cost us $130 euro a night. It was like sleeping on sand bags. Before we left I had to look under the covers... there were 2 cots (the roll-a-way type) pushed together to make a double bed with old mattresses. We stayed 2 weeks in Italy and those were the worst 2 nights sleep I ever had! Other notes (insignificant to me, but maybe not to you)... there was a coffee pot in the room that you don't usually see in Italian hotel rooms, but the heating element was so green and gross from corrosion that you wouldn't think of using it. Being close to the train station, suspicious characters would hang out in the square at night making us nervous, but there's a GREAT family restaurant down the street making it worth the walk (ask at the desk). I rated this hotel low only because a good night's sleep was important on our busy vacation and our bed was pretty bad in my opinion.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eddied2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2005

We stayed at the Rex Hotel Lucca in October 2005. Situated just outside the ancient town walls, the hotel is very near the train station. The road near the hotel can be noisy if the window is left open but the double glazing stops this. The hotel is very clean and the rooms very well equipped. The breakfasts are a delight, buffet style and plenty to eat including eggs, ham and cheese, fruit. The staff are friendly and helpful. We recommend this hotel for short breaks. Good value and near to transport links, trains and bus.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thompsontr4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
29
Reviewed 20 August 2005

Stayed 3 nights and had no complaints. Its in a good position next to the railway station ( but noise is not a problem) and a short 4 minute walk into the city - Lucca is a wonderful place. Rooms clean and a good size with aircon.We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2005

I really liked this hotel, the rooms are nice and cool (good air conditioning).

Lucca is a really nice city to explore with plenty of small shops and cafes / restaurants.

The receptionist at the hotel is very friendly and can recommend places to visit in the area.

The only problem can be parking, the hotel has a couple of spaces but the car park can get busy as it is shared with the train station. The tip is to use the cones outside the hotel to reserve a space!!!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2005

The Hotel Rex is about 100 yards from the train station (we took the local train from Florence) a short walk from the town center. If you have baggage, proximity to the train station is a real advantage. If light baggage, suggest staying in the town. The rooms at the Rex are typical European, small but OK if you don't plan to spend much time in them. Breakfast (included) was somewhat less than adequate. The staff is very nice and helpful. I believe we paid about $150/night. Lucca itself merits 1 or 2 nights (we stayed 2), no more.

2  Thank sseansully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
27
Reviewed 6 June 2005

Hotel was very clean and staff extremely friendly. facilities and breakfast were second to none. ideal location next to the station and a few minutes walk to the old town. very quiet location. would recommend the hotel to any visitors coming to lucca

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.4 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 47 in Lucca
948 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 47 in Lucca
1,112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 47 in Lucca
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
1.4 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#10 of 47 in Lucca
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Piazzale Bettino Ricasoli 19, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range: £72 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy family-run hotel located 100 meters far from the historic center and 80 meters far from the main railway station, convenient location for easy exploration of the countryside and the coast of Tuscany. Hotel Rex offers a range of services to its customers, such as free Wi-Fi in the entire building and in all rooms, a rich buffet breakfast with sweet and savory dishes, comfort for children and free parking places in front of the hotel. The friendly staff at Hotel Rex is always happy to answer all your questions and give you tips on how to make your stay special in Lucca and at Hotel Rex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing