We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decaying hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
on the move
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decaying hotel”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed at hotel Rex only for two nights as a base to go see Lucca, Pisa and Viareggio.
We initially chose it because we read it had a parking, as we're travelling by car. By looking at the diverse reviews including those of Booking.com it seemed the best option to be only a few minutes from the centre of the city.

As we arrived we realised that the "parking" was only a space in front of the hotel where a sign indicated that hotel clients could stop to unload luggages... luckily a spot (large enough for a maximum of 3 cars or 4 small ones) was free and that's where we left the car... but it was no parking place. In fact on the second night the spot was taken and we had to wait a couple of hours until one car left, to be able to park in front of the hotel.

As we got in a rather dark reception with fake flowers, a young lady did check us in (no smile, "welcome" or comment whatsoever to make you feel "at home") two keys handed, room 43 (a large room with a king size bed and an extra single bed, bathroom with shower and toilets suitable for disabled), looking toward the main square and room 41 (much smaller room, with double bed bathroom with bathtub) with view on a wall and a window. The hotel seems to have been left decaying from what might have been a good hotel in the 50's.

The rooms where completely dark as we arrived, nobody had bothered to open the blinds or curtains... , in the bathroom the cleaning had not been done in details (hair from previous customer was hanging from the shower...). In room 41 the water, after taking a bath, the water could not evacuate and although the problem had been signaled it was not solved.

In the stairs of the hotel there was clearly a filtration of water and a collection of strange objects (empty perfume bottes, stuffed animals set in a sort of shrine...).

The position was good only 10 minutes walk and you are in the main shopping street (Via Filungo) of Lucca. Luckily the hotel had maps and the young lady at least pointed out where that street was.

Although next the hotel is position accross the street from the station and on a street with a lot of traffic it was isolated well enough, so that you could not hear a sound from the street. So sleeping was ok.

Breakfast ok, buffet offering croissant, bread jam butter or ham, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruits, selection of teas, thermos of water, coffee (one could also order a capuccino to the lady present), milk, even a Nesquik distributor.

If you can I would strongly recommend looking for some other newer hotel around the walls of Lucca or even inside the walls if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackyOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    186
    36
    8
    3
See reviews for
93
216
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
257 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Fantastic location, right next to the small town train station. Makes it really easy to deal with luggage. Staff was okay. Internet service not very strong.

Great restaurant up the tracks from the hotel... Francesco's or something like that.

A lavenderia within a ten minute walk.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdfromTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Great location and the rooms were fine, clean and spacious. The air conditioning was a welcome respite from the 40 degree heat!! A short walk to the old town of Lucca and very quiet even though it is on a main road and next to a train station. Breakfast is not worth paying for so rather skip it, only 4 boiled eggs amongst 30 guests and the pastries were soggy... basically only cereal. So head into the town for something cheaper and better. Be careful if you want to come home after 10pm as the guy at the desk will tear strips off you when he comes to open the door- felt a bit like breaking curfew! Overall a good hotel to stay in for accessibility and location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunt4holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We arrived and departed by train from Lucca and the Hotel Rex could not have been more convenient - just a short block from the station, and yet no train noise.

What surprised us was how close it was to the wall and historical city. The walk was just across the street and up a path about one block long. You then actually went inside the wall and up a staircase to arrive on top of the wall. It was a fun way to enter the city each morning.

Breakfast was excellent, the rooms large and clean, with a nice large bathroom also. Everyone was very helpful as we awaited our lost luggage from our flight.

We were very happy with our stay at the Hotel Rex.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

This is one of the worst hotels of our trip to Italy. I booked a triple room since there are 3 of us. We walked into the room to find a fold out bed taking up most of the floor space then there were stairs up to the bedroom with a queen size bed and a twin. The beds were comfortable and we slept fine but you had to duck under the stairs to get around the room with that bed which we didn't even need since we all slept upstairs. The stairs were open and at eye level. A fact my husband found out by running into them twice. The bathroom was small but ok. The breakfast was ok., typical boiled eggs and bread. The staff was nice and helpful. The best thing about the hotel is that it is just outside the train station. We were tired and expecting to have to go in search of our hotel and there it was. They let us leave our luggage so we could see the sights the next day. Also, there is a gelato place next door that was the best we had in all of Italy and we had a lot.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smd3onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

This was the last room available in town so we stayed. Not good value for money, breakfast is extra, rooms are tired and dark. Strange velvet fabric on the doors. The hallways smell of cat litter, the overall feel is dark, dank, uninviting. Caters to tour groups primarily. Breakfast is charged extra so we didn't stay. Location is convenient, right outside the city walls, and across the street from the train station, so you can easily walk everywhere. Rooms in the back are quieter than those in the front, where you can hear the train station announcements starting very early in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pangea10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We visited Lucca and wanted to stay in the center of town. Unfortunately, some comic/game conference was going on and the city was overcrowded with people and hotels were filled. Thanks to a very friendly girl at this hotel we could stay here for a reasonable rate and could even park the car on the sidewalk in front of the hotel. The hotel is located just outside city walls. Room was okay and clean. The only minor thing was a very weak shower.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hofke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
1,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#11 of 53 in Lucca
871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 53 in Lucca
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.6 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Piazzale Bettino Ricasoli 19, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy family-run hotel located 100 meters far from the historic center and 80 meters far from the main railway station, convenient location for easy exploration of the countryside and the coast of Tuscany. Hotel Rex offers a range of services to its customers, such as free Wi-Fi in the entire building and in all rooms, a rich buffet breakfast with sweet and savory dishes, comfort for children and free parking places in front of the hotel. The friendly staff at Hotel Rex is always happy to answer all your questions and give you tips on how to make your stay special in Lucca and at Hotel Rex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing