We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night slept close to Lucca city walls”
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Marco
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good night slept close to Lucca city walls”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel on June 2013 Italian tour. It is quite a new hotel just a couple of blocks away from Lucca city wall and few more steps to the piazza dell anfiteatro which is good spot to eat lunch or dinner out. This hotel is a Perfect place for travellers with own cars - they have plenty of free parking space close by.

Rooms are very modern and spotless with extremely comortable beds. Breakfast is just a average but included into quite cheap room price.

Lucca is one of our favorite old cities in Italy - very nice atmosphere and rustic well preserved outlook.

We would definately stay again in this comfortable hotel.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sulo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    182
    35
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
196
16
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at the San Marco for a week from 10-17 August 2013. The hotel got our holiday off to a brilliant start just by the friendliness of the owner's welcome. This was matched throughout our stay by the really lovely staff. A typical example was that when I asked if there was anyway I could print my ferry booking to Elba for later in the week, the receptionist simply said 'sure, come round and use the reception computer'. We also didn't spot the underground Campari when we first arrived but the hotel staff just told us to leave the car keys with them and they'd move the car for us - which they did. Breakfast is a nice cold buffet, fruits, meats, cheeses etc, and the hotel has a pizza menu, with pizzas coming from a local restaurant. The hotel is no more than10 minutes walk from the walled city and as such, is just a perfect location. The pool is clean and just about big enough to do a decent swim in. And don't be deceived by the 3*s. the rooms are well maintained, modern and clean. We're now staying in a 5* hotel in Elba, as I write, and there is simply no comparison with the level of service and warmth of welcome. San Marco every time!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DenzilLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay at Hotel San Marco.
Thank you to the most wonderful staff and especially Francesco who was so helpful to my friends lost in Lucca. All staff went above and beyond the call of duty to make my stay so enjoyable and I look forward so much to returning.

The hotel is very well situated just 10 minutes walk to the walled city so you can enjoy both the lovely calmness of the gardens and pool of the hotel, while been only a short walk away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of town.

Only one downside - nothing to do with the hotel - but beware of what taxi company comes to fetch you to take you to the station on your departure. The fare I paid on my arrival from Lucca train station to San Marco Hotel was €8.50. When the hotel kindly booked my return taxi to the train station on my departure that taxi company charged €20.00 for the same trip!!!! When I made a complaint they claimed the €20.00 fare was because we had booked the taxi via the hotel 2 hours before the trip (at 10am for a Midday departure). What a feeble excuse. I would imagine if we had booked just at the time we needed it, we would have been given that excuse also. So Beware - do not use the taxi service in Lucca with local telephone No. 02-53-53 - etaxi. Other taxis were very honest.

Thank you to San Marco Hotel again.

Valerie Pierce

Room Tip: The air conditioning was truly wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

An unusual modern building (with an interesting past as an ex car showroom, a church and a couple of other incarnations) set in a residential area and only a 10 minute walk from the walled town of Lucca and some decent local restaurants and gellaterias in the 'old-new' town outside the walls. Immaculately clean, very comfortable beds and pillows and staff whose warmth, friendliness and helpfulness we cannot speak highly enough! The breakfast buffet is perfectly acceptable, if a bit samey and though they don't have their own restaurant they serve excellent pizzas brought in from a local pizzeria. Thank you Francesco, Chiara, Fabio, Ena, Alessandro, Alberto, Jacqueline and the rest of the team, we look forward to coming back soon!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Versailles, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hotel is just terrific. It is in a great location - only a short walk into the walled part of Lucca. The room was ample-sized and very clean. The breakfast was very good and served in a lovely, cheery indoor room or on a very nice terrace. I liked the fact that it is a fairly small hotel and the staff always seemed to remember our names. In fact, the staff is the most outstanding part of this hotel. They were incredibly helpful and gracious. Everyone was happy to help with anything that we needed. We definitely hope to be able to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

After spending a week travelling around Tuscany staying in three other hotels, the Hotel San Marco was instantly a step above the competition in that the hotel was modern and chic and the service was professional and friendly from check in to check out.

All to often the stock of accommodation in Tuscany can be old, tired or basic and expensive for what you get. However, for the similar price bracket, the hotel was modern having been recently renovated and the rooms whilst not overly generous were very comfortable, well finished and very clean.

The other noticeable difference is that the staff are very genuine, professional and, in my case, assisted me completely in dealing with recovering some property left in the previous hotel.

The breakfast is very good including great coffee and is served in the very bright breakfast room on the ground floor or out on its terrace. The terrace overlooks the small pool area which is well equipped with chairs and loungers and has a table service for that coffee or beer in the sun.

As for location, the hotel is situated on a quiet street within easy and safe walking to three different gates in the walls of the city and its labyrinth of streets. You can also hire some of the hotel bikes for a reasonable daily price to cycle around the old town or along the 4km long avenue that runs around the top of the walls. Well worth it.

There is numerous restaurants to choose from but one reasonably close inside the walls is Il Geco which serves a small menu but the food is excellent. Its quirky restaurant room at the end of the entrance alley is cool and you can choose also choose to eat in its little courtyard.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhaleBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a great hotel, we couldn't have asked for better, the staff are so friendly the atmosphere was relaxed and warm.
Our room was very comfortable and clean with plenty of storage and a safe, the breakfast was plentiful....
I would recommend this hotel especially for those who like to be just outside the hub of a city.
We hired the bikes at reception, which were in good condition, we enjoyed the freedom and ease of cycling round this beautiful place, one little tip though we usually headed into the city most nights and it was on our last day that we decided to turn left at the front of the hotel, this brought us into a lovely little town area with great shops and a couple of restaurants.
The pool was very welcome at the end of the day... very relaxing.
Thankyou to all the staff we had a great holiday x

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are to the back of the hotel, we had no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyhitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 51 in Lucca
1,060 reviews
0.9 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 51 in Lucca
888 reviews
1.0 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 51 in Lucca
364 reviews
3.8 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#4 of 51 in Lucca
627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Property: Hotel San Marco
Address: Via San Marco 368, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lucca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Hotel
San Marco Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing