We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel San Marco
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villa Cheli(Lucca)(Great Value!)
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Ponte(Lucca)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ilaria(Lucca)(Great Value!)
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Antica Residenza dell'Angelo(Lucca)(Great Value!)
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
US$260
US$148
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Da Carlos(Santa Maria del Giudice)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Celide(Lucca)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi(Lucca)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Carignano(Lucca)(Great Value!)
US$408
US$383
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eurostars Toscana(Lucca)(Great Value!)
US$1,232
HotelsClick
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
226
198
40
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
198
40
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townmodern hotelshort walkpool areawalled cityreasonable sizefree parkinghot and cold foodnice poolstar hotelexcellent hotelbreakfast was includedthe hotel offersair conditioningstayed for two nightsbooked this hotelnice stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I think I was fooled by its name: San Marco. Made me think of Venice. It could be anywhere in the world and its blandness plunged me into a depression which only lifted after two hours in beautiful, lively Lucca. Don't stay in bland hotels on holiday save them for business - incidentally this one cost over €120 for one for a night(online booking) - would have expected a better position and less of a box of a room for that kind of money.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alasdair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanMarcoLu, Direttore generale at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Sir, we regrett that you didn't appreciate your staying at our hotel.
As you can read also on Tripadvisor or on our Facebook page, our foreign guest (or from Italy too) are always satisfied.
Dont't you think, maybe, that it's the bad weather -in this strange summer- that had plunged you in depression instead of our bedroom? Did you ask to staff how you could spend your day, maybe spending your spare time in our terrace facing the swimming pool area?
Moreover, Italy is a country full of Saints... you can find a "San Marco neighborhood" in almost every city... so, it's a bit "naive" to think that every SanMarco-something would remember Venice.
Hope to see you again in a sunny holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here for one night while on a cycle tour of Tuscany.

The hotel was a great find.

The reception welcome was very friendly and nothing too much trouble.

Room small but a great bathroom with funky lighting.

The small outdoor pool and bar terrace area was a bonus.

Breakfast was buffet and very pleasant.

This hotel has a very cosy homely feel to it whilst being very clean and comfortable.

It is about a 15 min walk to the main walled town area of Lucca

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wattsy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanMarcoLu, Direttore generale at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Sir, we want to thank you for your pleasant words. We hope to see you again in Lucca, maybe in winter time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

What a super little hotel! The most friendly staff, immaculately clean, huge beds, satisfying breakfast, a very clean private pool, cold beer on tap and chilled Prosecco and wines. A short walk to the city wall and bikes to hire which was the best fun I've had for ages! You will not regret booking this fab place and we will return again and again! I like a good quality establishment, and this is one! Thank you so much for looking after us so well!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanMarcoLu, Direttore generale at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

We have to tank you for your nice words. Take care of our guests is our mission! Hope to see you soon in Lucca!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

stayed there for two nights only, well located, outside the walls...in one of the best borgos or residential areas of lucca...friendly staff, small european size room but very clean and nice bathroom, Ina from the staff went out of her way to help us out, great location if you want to be away from the bustling crowds in lucca but still close by to safely walk back and forth.... reccomend it...wifi is good but a bit cumbersome in the fact that you have to sign in and out everytime you use it!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanMarcoLu, Direttore generale at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review. We know that our wifi registration seems to be "boring" sometimes, but it depends on the law against pornography that we had in Italy. Now the law has changed and we're adapting our wifi system. You could discover our new internet registration next time you'll come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We got very good advices where to go and how to take the public transport. Also at breakfast everybody was very friendly. I will certainly come back here. Nice room with airco, clean. Very good bikes to rent, albergo molto piacevole.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marijke v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanMarcoLu, Direttore generale at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear guest, your completely right, our staff is very friendly and helpful! We're waiting for you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews