We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Marco
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2006

We only have positive things to say about this hotel. We had driven several hours on the busy autostrad from France only to find out our reserved accomodations at another spot near Lucca had fallen through. Apparently in alot of places they consider you a "no show" if you are not there by 7pm regardless of whether or not you have a reservation. Needless to say we were near the end of our rope and needed somewhere to stay. We went to the local tourist office who directed us to this hotel and it was just what we needed. Staff were extremely helpful and sympathetic to our fatigue. They recommended an excellent local restaurant and made us tea when we came back from dinner. Breakfast on the patio was great and alot more generous comparerd to the breakfasts we were offered in France. While the rooms are not luxurious they are very clean and moderately sized.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Continentalred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2006

I have mixed feelings about this hotel and I'll explain why. If you arrive by car as we did, you can park it outside the hotel for 10-15 mins while the receptionist takes your bags and shows you the room. He was very friendly and helpful, greeted us with a smile and took our luggage. I then parked the car (free parking) in the car park opposite the hotel. The lobby is fresh and comfortable. We were on the top floor (room 15, 2nd floor). The room size was small but adequate for a town hotel; air-conditioning- nice big comfy bed although my wife said both the bed and the pillows were too hard- you can't please everyone! The bathroom had a shower, bidet, loo and sink and was clean with the normal assortment of towels, soaps etc.

So far OK but this is where I have negative feelings about the hotel. Both during the day (siesta time) and at night the room was very noisy. Don't believe the brochure blurb "quiet residential area". You are on a main road which is busy until about 1.00 in the morning. Whether you like to sleep with the windows closed or open there is constant traffic noise and is the total opposite of living in a "quiet residential area" as we do in the heart of London. To add to this noise, there is a guard dog in the garden of a house in a side road (via Paulino) right next to the hotel which barks at anything and anyone who passes. This can happen at any time of day or night and is frankly bloody annoying. I mentioned this to the concierge but he said they can do nothing as it is a private residence.

That said, the staff were incredibly helpful, they helped us with directions, times to various places, planning a route etc.For that reason I have given it an average rating.

You can pay the desk 5 Euros for 2hrs access to the single computer in the lobby.

Lucca proper is 7-10 mins walk to the walls via the side road with the dog. I can thoroughly recommend it as a beautiful, vibrant and entertaining town with a huge variety of shops, restaurants, ice-cream bars, cafes, churches and history. Don't miss this gem of a town!

Stayed: September 2006
3  Thank iankaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2006

This hotel sits outside the walls in Lucca and contrasts with the architecture in the old part of the city in that it's quite modern. It's well run, comfortable and we found it reasonably priced.

But the best bit was arriving early on a very hot afternoon before our room was ready and being escorted to the bar and offered a cool glass of wine and a beer while we waited. We found this friendly approach continued throughout our three night stay.

Being outside the wall has its advantages and disadvantages. You can park easily but you have to be prepared to walk about 15 minutes to get into the centre of town. Or you can easily hire a bike which lots of people do and it's a great way to get around because the city prohibits motor traffic from many areas.

So overall a good visit but avoid Lucca on a Sunday or Monday as most of it seems to shut!

Thank JamesRadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2006

The location outside the city walls is good if you come by car. The hotel seems a little shabby, not that well maintained even if it is rather new. The pool is very small.
The strength of the place is its staff - very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2006

We stayed at this hotel in july 2006 it was very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. It is about 10/15 mins walk from the walls but the hotel has bikes for hire which we used on a number of occasions it was good fun cycling round the wall ramparts lovely views and very peaceful. The pool was really good to come back to for a dip at the end of the day. Service from all the staff was friendly and efficient. We could get drinks at any time with no problem and these were provided with nuts or snacks and a romantic tea light and a smile. By the way you will need a map in lucca as it is like a maze inside the walls.

Tony and Diane, Leyland, Preston, Lancashire.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Centralg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2005

The sound system was cool - built in speakers above the bed to listen to the radio. The room itself was rather simple. I felt that the hotel had a chemical/hospital smell - which I didn't find pleasant. It is more of a modern cold hotel (but not in a "stylish" way) – than a warm cozy hotel. We stayed only one night, the second night we moved to a hotel within the city walls (we had no car) that was not only less expensive, but much more convenient and charming. I hadn’t researched any Lucca hotels since we had not planned to go to Lucca - called the night before we arrived and they had a room. Sure glad we did make it to Lucca - great town – great passagiatta in the evening – the entire town must come out. Renting bikes and riding the walls is a must! Inexpensive at $2.10 Euro an hour – the most fun for the least money of anything we did in Italy. Rented bikes twice at Biciclette Poli. Came home wishing I had purchased one of their cool bikes from their store and shipped it home - my one Italian regret.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davispeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2005

The Hotel San Marco's strength is it's staff. The staff were unfailingly helpful - even allowing us to practice our bad Italian on them when they spoke perfect English! During our stay they did everything from booking taxis to drawing us maps of which pubs were showing the football. We were in Lucca during a local festival and they told us the best places to go, what to do, and even the best place to stand on the City Walls to see the fireworks. Nothing was too much trouble.

The Hotel itself is modern, clean, and comfortable, has a small pool with sun loungers, and tables and chairs outside so you can eat and drink outside all day (and night) if you wish.

The only downside with the hotel was that the soundproofing wasn't great. It's in a residential area so it is generally quiet but if you had noisy neighbour's you could certainly hear them. Saying that, you only had to mention any problems to the staff and they would sort them out immediately.

The hotel is outside the City Walls but we did not find that this was a problem. From leaving the hotel we would be inside the walls and coming into the main area in just over 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DWAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,132 reviews
3.8 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#3 of 47 in Lucca
659 reviews
0.9 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 47 in Lucca
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#16 of 47 in Lucca
377 reviews
1 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
3.3 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 47 in Lucca
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Address: Via San Marco 368, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lucca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range: £66 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Hotel
San Marco Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing