We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel”
Review of Hotel Villa Volpi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Volpi
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Reviewed 24 May 2014

When we called in the afternoon from Milan explaining that we were delayed due to traffic, the desk clerk (Michael) told us to follow the signs for Villa Volpi and that we probably wouldn't make it in until later than we anticipated. He offered to "look for" us if we couldn't find the hotel. We were impressed by his sincere effort to ensure that we got there safely. As he expected, we didn't get there until almost midnight. Without the GPS and the desk clerk's specific instructions it would have been hard to find at night but we made the trip easily. We were greeted at the entrance to Hotel Volpi by Adrianna who is perfectly suited to the hotel industry. She helped us carry in our old cat and showed us to our room, ensuring that our every comfort was met. The room was beautiful and exceeded our expectations. The grounds and views are breathtaking. The comfort of the room was fantastic. We had a king-sized bed and a lovely couch equal to a twin bed. Both were extremely comfortable; we couldn't have asked for better. It was quiet, safe, and the parking was perfect because we could see the car from our window. There were no cramped quarters or tiny parking spaces. Breakfast was good; the coffee was plentiful. The service was prompt and cheerful. The staff was a host of angels. Before checking out we were allowed to see some of the historical suites and we were able to buy a book in English which explained how special Hotel Volpi is. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellablue60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

It looks nice when you browse but the disappointment is assured. View is nice, pool looks nice but that is it. The breakfast must be considered with humour as the girls are not able to assure the coffee and buffet in rush hour and a patience is needed. The restaurant is marked as good but what we had was not even average, only the prices were high levelled.
We booked the suite but that is big mistake. instead of comfort you get a bedroom without view, a terrace with poor view and by bad weather it is cold. Price is fair but that hotel I would not recommend.

Room Tip: don't take the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Matjaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Very dangerous uncomfortable drive to the hotel, and if you are there, you have nothing to do AT ALL, and if you want to go down to the city it is EXTREMELY unsafe specially at night as the drive is very dangerous.
In addition, the room was not so comfortable that my wife and I couldn't stay there more than 5 minutes and had to check out. (Personal view)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Mohamed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is exactly what you want for a stay in Tuscany. Perfect surroundings. Perfect views. Idealy located in the mountains for trips to Lucca, Pisa, Viareggio and Cinque Terre. A good restaurant is part of the hotel. You do need a car. The pool is small and not very clean. The staff speaks poor English.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertRoskamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband and I spent. Week at hotel villa volpi, I looked for many months until I came across the villa..
I write very real reviews in hopes it helps others ..
We were there June 19th 2013 for one week.

Room number 41 was a little cottage that sat up the hill from the main house, it looks across a huge valley the most AMZING view.. I feel that the web site doesn't do the hotel justice, three of the four walls were floor to ceiling doors that open wide. The are NO screens so if the Mosquitos like you do bring bug wipes.
The bathroom was simple not too over the top, big enough, and clean.
we had a full refrigerator downstairs with a table and chairs and couch.. Out the front door were lounge chairs under a canopy..
The pool area is well kept and not to over the top that you feel it's fake..
Breakfast is in the rest rant area and is the same each day, meats, bread, yogurts, Nutella , good coffee, fruit juice.. So plenty to pick from.. Not and omelet and bacon kind of place.
There are lots of reviews on many sites that complain about having to pay for the pool towels , my feeling is that if you use it pay for it, why should others pay for towels if there not using them..
The restaurant that is connected to the hotel is ok.. Maybe a 6 out of 10 the staff are great and service I thought was great, the food was ok, for the price I felt it should have been better, I would defiantly recommend eating there once so you don't have to drink and drive.....

I have to add that the staff at the villa were fantastic, Veronica and Christian went way beyond what I have ever expected staff to do.. If your looking for white coats and gloves this is not your place, it's like a family and you should be very happy to be there.

We will go back again and hope nothing has changed..

Thank you to all the staff for making this a very special time..

Room Tip: Room 41... There are other cottages on the property or the main house. All are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susansch1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

This place is magical! We stayed here in May for one night and were so sorry for not staying longer!! The place is like an old mansion with old and beautiful Tuscan rooms. The restaurant here is amaing. They make their own wine and olive oil and the rooms include great breakfast. Surrounded by the Tuscan hills, you can sit in the yard or by the royal pool. It is like our of a movie!! You have to stay here and go to Lucca for the day. This is only 20 min from the old city of Lucca!!!! Don't miss it-perfect for honeymoon or just romantic travel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with stunning views but sadly is it badly mis-managed and guests seem to be an afterthought!
Our first and biggest disappointment was breakfast. In a country like Italy, in the height of the summer, the only fruit available were tinned peaches and prunes. After several requests they managed to find us an apple! Breakfast is served indoors although they have beautiful terraces which overlook the wonderful tuscan hills. It seems no one can be bothered to put up a few sunshades or lay tables outdoors.
You are charged 5 Euros to use a towel for the pool -- their explanation being that towels 'disappear'. Well, what is wrong with a deposit if they feel so strongly about it -- although other hotels seem to manage that problem.You are also charged for the use of the internet which is not acceptable in a hotel of this quality.
On our return at 2pm from a morning's sightseeing our room was still not made up. This was compounded by a very insolent chambermaid. Service all round was chaotic. What a shame!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
6.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#16 of 47 in Lucca
377 reviews
4.3 mi away
Antica Residenza dell'Angelo
4.5 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 47 in Lucca
391 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino
4.3 mi away
Hotel Melecchi
Hotel Melecchi
#17 of 47 in Lucca
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Volpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Volpi

Address: Via di Giuliano 47 | Mastiano, 55029, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price Range: £216 - £676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Volpi 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Volpi Hotel benefits of a splendid vista the villa was erected in the countryside nearby Lucca, however it is not far away from the walls of the Tuscan city so rich in Art and History. It is surrounded by an estate of 20 hectares of olive trees and vineyards where organically certified products are produced by Villa Volpi farmhouse. Its elegant architectural design and green surroundings are perfectly combined with the high quality services and hospitality offered and, together with the high quality services provided, contribute in making it the grand hotel it is. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Volpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volpi Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing