We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 2nd visit”
Review of Albergo Celide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Celide
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our 2nd visit”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

As the title says this was our 2nd visit, the last visit was almost 3 years ago,they remembered this!!
Nothing had changed the hotel was immaculate, the staff probably the most courteous of any hotel I've stayed in. I just couldn't add anything else to my previous review

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cr1ck3t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    392
    72
    16
    14
See reviews for
118
491
37
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Very nice hotel. Most comfortable bed I slept on during a two week tour of Italy.
Small room, but cozy and nice bathroom - very clean. Great breakfast, free parking.
Great location, just outside the walls of Lucca. Would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jdon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Conveniently located just outside the wall of Lucca. We had a room looking onto the road and it was very noisy. No doubt, a room at the back of the hotel would have been a lot quieter. The breakfast was the best part of the stay. For a four star hotel, it is no better than average at best. I have stayed at better three star hotels. Welcome was luke warm, no help with luggage or guidance to the room, in fact not even told exactly where the room was. Some staff were reasonably friendly. It is quite difficult to find anything particularly positive about this hotel. I have stayed at a lot worse, and this is actually the best thing that I can say about it.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back, or better still, don't visit Lucca in the first place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxMosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We've stayed one night visiting Lucca. Nice place, just outside Porta Elisa. Easy place to visit Lucca. Free parking (a plus if you're travelling by car). Nice bathroom. Did not try the spa there. Good breakfast for start the day. They offer bike for free if you want to explore the area.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferrazalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Remy De Provence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Conveniently located hotel just outside the walls of Lucca, easy to find, with carparking. The room was a little small but had everything we needed. The staff were very helpful. The breakfast had a very good selection. We enjoyed a lovely walk around the walls.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Right outside the walls of Lucca.
In walking distance the centre of Lucca.
Some nice bars and restaurants also in walking distance.
The hotel provides bikes to its guest, which come in really handy.
Nice clean room and helpful staff.
Nice outside seating area to relax in after cycling around Lucca.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hotelhonestreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

On our tour of Tuscanny. Our last stop off was to Lucca. We arrived by train from Florence, and although it was only a 10 minute walk, it took us a wee while to locate it, at one point we thought we were walking in the wrong direction. However, although it did not stand out, it was a hidden gem and we were so pleased to have found it. The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful and even printed out train times and gave us advice on getting back to Pisa airport. We found our room to be very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was well organised with a large selection of self service items. However, one of the very best things about the hotel is the free loan of bicycles! Having not been on a bike for years we had a wobbly practice in the carpark and then we had 3 wonderful days touring around the walls and scooting around the narrow streets, stopping for a coffee, ice cream or when a shop or wine bar caught our eye. There was a market we spied from up on the walls and we went down and bought fresh bread, parma ham olives and cheese and had a great al fresco picnic at a picnic bench on the walls overlooking Lucca with our bikes propped up against a tree - pure magic! The Celide is just on the outside of the walls, but just opposite an entrance opening so really it was not an issue. The free loan of the bikes saved us quite a bit in hire charges and allowed us to see more of Lucca than we could have done by foot. I would not hesitate to recommend a visit to Lucca and a stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank catlover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCelide, Manager at Albergo Celide, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for your lovely and warm words!

I really hope to welcome you back to your "hidden gem"

Thank you very much

With my warmest regards

Luca Giovanelli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 49 in Lucca
1,070 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
2.6 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 49 in Lucca
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#7 of 49 in Lucca
420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Celide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Celide

Property: Albergo Celide
Address: Viale Giuseppe Giusti 25, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#6 Business Hotel in Lucca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#10 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Celide 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albergo Celide occupies a very convenient location on the main Street in front of the ancient walls of Lucca, at the border of the pedestrian area. It's easy to reach by car from all access roads to the town and 500mt from the railway station.Convenient, comfortable, central, the Celide hotel is suitable for leisure and business travelers. Completely renovated inside with warmly elegant public rooms, a beautiful terrace overlooking the Walls of Lucca and design bedrooms. Two private parking, bicycles available for our guests. Reception quality personally run by the family owners thanks to over four generations' experience. Explore the city on foot or in comfort and style using the free bicycles provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo Celide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Celide Lucca
Albergo Celide Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing