We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel just outside wall and close to train station”
Review of Albergo Celide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo Celide
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel just outside wall and close to train station”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I chose Albergo Celide based on the location (near train station and just outside wall for peace), size (small), decor and amenities (modern), spa with turkish bath and free bikes. My stay was too short but was wonderful and I would definitely stay here again. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was ample and delicious, and the room, while small was extremely comfortable, with luxury bed linens. In fact, the bed and pillows were the most comfortable I've ever slept on, far superior to most hotels. I had a single room and it was the first time I've ever had a full size bed in a truly single room, it was the best single room I've ever stayed in and the price was reasonable for a 4* hotel in a great location in high season. The rooms also have independent air which is very nice. The spa was fantastic, for 14E you get a spa kit with bathrobe, spa towel and flip flops and 90 mins. of use of the finish sauna (dry), turkish bath (steam) and large jacuzzi hot tubs with very powerful jets. There is also an "emotional" shower, as they call them, which sprays a fine herbal mist. You must reserve ahead of time as they only allow a max. of 6 guests at one time, so it's very peaceful and not overrun. I took every bit of the 90 mins. and was in heaven after a long day of bike riding and exploring the old town. They were very kind to let me use a bike on the day I was checking out, well beyond the check-out time and they held my bag for me until it was time to leave for the train, a ten-min. walk away. I couldn't have been more pleased with Celide and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romalaurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    384
    72
    16
    14
See reviews for
116
476
37
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Again we did enjoy the hospitality and good quality of the Hotel. There happen to be same blond lady at the reception and she is the best! The rooms are quiet small, but good for business travelers as well as for couples - this is not a family hotel. The breakfast is excellent, I specially enjoyed the fruit salad made of fresh fruits and strawberrys - and many more delicious items.
The location is good, just outside the city walls. I jogged on the walls in the mornings - highly recommend that!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Immuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A pleasant hotel located right by the old city walls (5 minute level walk) - free parking - breakfast was excellent - our bedroom was spotlessly clean but a little compact - staff were friendly and very professional - overall, I would recommend a stay at this hotel, but feel that it was a little pricey, but there again, it's location and ambience is ideal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rotiel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights and really enjoyed our stay. Hotel was clean, rooms were nice and hotel facilities were good. Breakfast was also good and couldn't fault it. Hotel is outside the city walls but is only a short walk and you are within the city walls, the train station was a ten minute walk away, so this hotel really suited us and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marieh2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Location just outside the walls works perfectly if you have a car- they have free parking. Only a 3 minute walk to get into the city. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Rooms quite small (as you expect in Europe) -lovely terrace to sit and relax outside. Expansive but not spectacular breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAJAToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiwaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Within walking distance and only for one night we slept in beautiful linen on a soft comfy bed.
Staff were friendly warm and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful and amazing array of food. We walked to the Wall after we settled in and they provided umbrellas for us as it was a rainy day. The next day we used the Hotel bikes and had a lot of fun circling the wall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here in a family room for two night and was thrilled that it was in such a great spot just across the road from city walls. Our room had two separate areas with a shower room in between and although bedroom areas were small it was nice that we weren't all cramped in together in one tiny room. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful, and we took advantage of the free bike hire which was fab and our children loved whizzing around the city walls. You couldn't ask for a better location.
The only negative thing is that there was absolutely no information in the rooms about any of the hotel facilities, but that was the only small thing to fault. Oh and the staff were all very nice and very helpful.

Room Tip: Family rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#7 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.6 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Celide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Celide

Property: Albergo Celide
Address: Viale Giuseppe Giusti 25, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lucca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#10 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Celide 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albergo Celide occupies a very convenient location on the main Street in front of the ancient walls of Lucca, at the border of the pedestrian area. It's easy to reach by car from all access roads to the town and 500mt from the railway station.Convenient, comfortable, central, the Celide hotel is suitable for leisure and business travelers. Completely renovated inside with warmly elegant public rooms, a beautiful terrace overlooking the Walls of Lucca and design bedrooms. Two private parking, bicycles available for our guests. Reception quality personally run by the family owners thanks to over four generations' experience. Explore the city on foot or in comfort and style using the free bicycles provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo Celide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Celide Lucca
Albergo Celide Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing