We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel find in the center of Lucca”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Hayward, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel find in the center of Lucca”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Near the end of via Fillumga in a treasure of an old building is thr Palazzo Busdraghi. Only 7 rooms, but quite nice. The rooms are quiet and nicely furnished. Breakfast is plentiful with fresh squeezes oj. My room has a jacuzzi tub. Walk out of the hotel into a sweet courtyard and out on to Via Fillunga, the main shopping street. I urge everyone to stay in Lucca and not just visit as a day trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonHayward_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    44
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
128
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We returned to Lucca and once again chose to stay at the Hotel Busdraghi. As our first trip the service was professional and friendly. We asked for the same room and got it. Impeccably cleaned every day and as charming and elegant as our first stay in 2011. This is our official headquarters from now on as we travel to Lucca every year. We always had breakfast in the small yet cozy breakfast room and found the same assorment of quality breakfast treats such as cornetti, cakes, Italian bread, eggs and of course the espresse and cappucino all expertly made. My compliments to the staff and the hotel management. This hotel, on Via Filalungo is right at the heart of stores, great restaurants and of course the Luccese architecture. If I were a rich Lucca Signore or count this is what my palazzo would look like!

Sorry, accidently clicked on pool. No pool in this hotel. I did not know how to erase the seeting

Room Tip: Sorry, accidently clicked on pool. No pool in this hotel. I did not know how to erase the seeting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeloDaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Went to Lucca for a 3 day break with 2 friends. We were delighted with this hotel. It is ideally situated, within the walled town, for exploring and shopping. The staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful. It is a charming, small hotel , well maintained and spotlessly clean. We had requested a room with 3 single beds. Whilst one of the beds was a sofa that had been converted it was still comfortable and the room met with our requirements. If we are lucky enough to return to Lucca we would not hesitate to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3ScottishLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We had stayed 4 nights at Palazzo Busdraghi, inside the city walls, and it was beautiful. We had a baby in a stroller with a luggage bag, and the first view of the long flight of stairs up to the hotel was daunting, but the duty manager that night ran down and help us with the bags and stroller up the stairs. Though later in the stay we've noticed that not all duty managers do this. The first impression of the hotel was impressive with the nice wall decoration painting. The room is adequate with a comfortable bed. It is on the main street but our baby was not affected by the occasional noise outside on the streets. We had a jacuzzi in our bathroom, which took a bit of fiddling before it works, but very nice. It has a free wifi but signal is weak at one end of the room.
The staffs were extremely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, especially since our kid was sick on the first night. Breakfast includes the standard cereal, various pastry, boiled egg, yogurt, etc. Step out of the hotel and you're in the city, on the main shopping road. No hotel restaurant but that's not a problem as there are plenty of choices of restaurants a stone throw away from the hotel.

We flew into Pisa airport and took the bus coach to the Lucca city within the walls. Only $6 Euro for two adults (infants are free). Very convenient. Once we've reached to the Lucca city we took a taxi to the hotel as we weren't exactly sure of the direction of the hotel then. But on return we walked to the Lucca bus station, which took about 15mins, probably faster if you're not pulling a luggage and a stroller together.

Only downside for us is that the room doesn't have an electric jug, where making baby milk at night we require hot water. Fortunately we knew about this beforehand and brought a thermal flask along and got them to fill it with hot water at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We had two beautiful nights at Palazzo Busdraghi and thoroughly enjoyed the beautifully decorated and comfortable accommodations. We are from the historic city of Charleston, S.C., so we loved staying within the wall and having to walk or bike everywhere You can unload your luggage at the hotel and then move your car to their private lot which is close to the hotel, for the duration of the stay. The staff speaks good English and prepare a great Italian style breakfast!
Pack light, there are no elevators in this beautifully restored, ancient building. The hotel staff made great restaurant recommendations. One night we got lost and missed dinner! Came back to the hotel and they fixed us a cheese & fruit plate and we enjoyed another bottle of wine and rested our tired tootsies!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edgeh2o060477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We had the pleasure of spending five nights at Palazzo Busdraghi and loved every night! I always judge a hotel by its service and Palazzo Busdraghi exceeded every expectation. It's true that you have to carry your bags up a long flight of stairs but it is worth every step! We were greeted by Victoria, a delightful young woman who entertained all of our questions and requests with patience and a smile. The room we stayed in was the "red" room - while comfy and cozy, I would alert that this room faces the street and is subject to early morning traffic. If it is quiet you want, ask for one of the rooms in the back. The bathrooms have been recently updated and I loved the bath sheets - it's a luxury I enjoy, whether at home or traveling. No skimpy towels, please! These were big and absorbent. The breakfast offered at Palazzo Busdraghi was more than adequate; the coffee was freshly made and the selection differed every morning. The location of the Palazzo Busdraghi (on the main street) was perfect for shopping, eating and exploring. I highly recommend PB and guaranty that you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: If it is quiet you want, ask for a room that is not on the street side of the hotel. Also, if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalliM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Sadly, we only stayed at Palazzo Busdraghi for one night in late September. It's a wonderful hotel and arguably, the best choice for staying over night inside the city walls. It's a short drive to the hotel and then a U-turn and a couple blocks back to private hotel parking. The location is superb for easy access by car and walking all over beautiful Lucca.

We stayed in a deluxe room, which was fairly large while our travel companions stayed in the junior suite with a second level sitting area. Both rooms were beautifully arranged and similarly decorated. The colors were relaxing and the large bathroom, well, I wish mine were so lovely and well thought out. There's a good sized corner shower, with a corner seat and water sprays for practically any spot you want to hit.

It's a small hotel that makes you feel they're there for you. They seem to put themselves in your shoes and think about what they would want. The breakfast room is small but pleasant and freshly cooked eggs were offered in addition to a selection of Italian breakfast items. Customer service is excellent. The only recomendation I have is about the entrance steps to the hotel. They are steep and concrete. Since it appears a carpet was there previously, for safety, appearances and comfort, a new one should be installed. However, that's a minor issue since it's used only a few times a day.

If you are driving, DO NOT USE your GPS after you enter Porta Santa Maria. It's a mistake we made that still provides talk of our harrowing drive on Friday evening following behind crowds of people on lovely narrow streets. After you enter Porta Santa Maria, drive directly past the parking lot, past the tabacchi shop and turn right. Palazzo Busdraghi is perhaps 200 meters down the road on the left. But, don't hesitate to call the hotel for specific instructions. They were happy to help us.

I hope we can return again soon. Lucca and Palazzo Busdraghi deserve at least two days.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marchelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.6 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#11 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca

Property: A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Address: Via Fillungo 170 | Centro Storico, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marta, and all the staff of Palazzo Busdraghi, with the new owner, will welcome their guests in a charming, silent and pleasant atmosphere, attending the guests stay, giving good advices and suggestions of visit, organizing tours to the nearby most interesting sites. June 2012..: Our Residenza is getting renewed! New owner, new management, accessories, perfumes and atmosphere, tasty breakfast! AIC certification for gluten free breakfast, and vegan breakfast on demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing