We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definitely back again”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a very pleasant experience at Palazzo Busdraghi. This hotel is lovely and extremely clean. The rooms are very comfortable, cosy and furnished with taste. The owners and all the staff are extremely kind and helpful. This was one of the very few times when I had nothing to complain about. A big thank you to Andrea and Marta!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massimo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apalazzobusdraghi, Direttore at A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review!
it will be a pleasure meeting you again soon!
Marta and collegues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    45
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
131
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

After some initial misgivings about Palazzo Busdraghi, we discovered this to be a very pleasant place to spend 6 September 2013 nights in Lucca, a place we came to love. The location is "within in the walls" which gives the visitor a sense of being a part of this ancient city. Palazzo Busdraghi has secure and reserved parking within a short walk from the hotel. There is an extra charge, but the peace of mind is priceless. The original reaction to the hotel can be somewhat negative. The shared courtyard is drab and unappealing, and as one other writer noted, the hotel is a two-story climb. (These are very old buildings and tourists need to have some appreciation for the difficulty of adapting modern concepts to ancient facilities.) The breakfast room is small and lacking in visual appeal but the breakfast is top notch with variety and freshness. Each morning the staff prepares a special opening treat, individually served tableside. The staff are eager to prepare special requests and to honor just about any reasonable dietary request.The rooms are clean and comfortable and good sized for such an ancient building. The strength of this place, and this seems to be universally true, are the people who serve you each day. This is a competent group, pleasant and accommodating in every way. We would be pleased to be guests at Palazzo Busdraghi once again and we recommend it to you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apalazzobusdraghi, Direttore at A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review!
we will try to improve our services and make our Residenza more and more comfortable, following your impressions!
Kindly,
Marta & the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel. The location is excellent and the staff is outstandingly kind.
The wooden entrance doors and inner courtyard are very striking.
The rooms are quite pretty and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel although VERY old has been perfectly updated. Modern bathrooms, comfortable beds and linens, soundproof windows, and air conditioning that works beautifully. Great breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is an easy and short taxi ride from the train station. I wouldn't drive. There are many wonderful places to eat in the immediate area. We had the "red" room overlooking the busy and entertaining street below. Close the windows at night and you won't hear a thing. It is a very good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allegrovideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley. West Yorks
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

From the outset we presented the Hotel with a testing problem, as i arrived having unexpectedly lost the sight in my left eye on the flight from the UK! If you can best judge when there is adversity, our praise for our hosts & this lovely small Hotel should be worth double.
The Hotel is part of an old palace with the entrance in a little courtyard off the main shopping street Via Fillungo. The Amphitheatre & San Frediano are virtually next door. We stayed for 4 nights in Room 4 (with gallery & upstairs bathroom) & then 2 nights in the smaller Room 1 which was light & again had a lovely bathroom, this time with cubicle shower. We had to remain in Lucca for our whole 8 nights in Italy due to ongoing medical treatment, so we stayed 2 extra nights here & Andrea booked us into a nearby Hotel when they were full. We were so grateful to Marta for recommending the private clinic where I was treated so well in a specialist Opthalmic Dept. Marta & Andrea were excellent,caring hosts who helped make our time in Lucca so special despite my disability which lasted throughout. Their Restaurant recommendations were inspiring & made the evenings particularly memorable. This holiday could have been a disaster, but due mainly to all the help we received from the staff, we still came away with happy memories. We feel so fortunate to have been in Lucca with all its facilities, & to have stayed at "A Palazzo Busdraghi". We have promised to return next year, hopefully, in less challenging circumstances.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carnevale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this lovely little hotel. We stayed there for three nights 11-14 September in the junior suite. The room was spotless, comfortable, quiet, and nicely decorated. The little loft area in the room gave some dimension and a feeling of spaciousness. The bathroom has a jacuzzi tub with a retractable shower head - not exactly "rocket science" to figure out how to take a shower in a tub. It works fine. The best part of Palazzo Busdraghi however, is the staff. Thank you Andrea and Marta for all the help both when booking and answering questions and when we arrived getting the bags up the stairs and the always excellent recommendations for restaurants and transportation. They really seemed to care that we were comfortable and happy. The breakfast is plentiful and tasty and the breakfast staff very friendly (sorry - I forgot his name) The small public areas are charming. We were welcomed and then treated just the way you want to be treated as a guest. This one should have 5 stars! We were lucky to have been there. I recommend it highly and thank the previous trip advisors who let us in on this wonderful place.

Room Tip: The hotel website has accurate photos and descriptions - read them or don't complain when you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCRBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apalazzobusdraghi, Direttore at A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review!
we love our job and we try to do it with passion!
the appreciation of our guests is our reward!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This charming hotel has only seven rooms, all very comfortable, clean, and spacious. The best fact is that it sits on the main pedestrian street in the walled city- Via Filungo. The building itself is hundreds of years old, built around 1500. It was turned into a hotel in 1857 and renovated many times, most recently on 2012. If you like charm, stay here.
If you like convenience, stay here. It is centrally located to the wonderful sites, shops, and restaurants. Walk the walls which are planted with trees and dotted with lawns, medieval houses, and other sites to see along their path.
If you like a good breakfast, stay here. Each morning you are greeted with the coffee of your choice. If you want cereal, it's there. If you want the customary meats and cheeses, they are there. Fresh fruit is always on the table. And if there is something you want but can't find on the table, ask. Homemade crepes, soft boiled eggs, and even omelets are custom cooked at your request. Attention to detail is important.
If you like friendliness. Stay here. Marta is the hostess and she, with her staff, is sensitive to your every need and request. She'll offer recommendations of day trips. make reservations for dinner, and offer suggestions to fill your day.
We traveled daily to other small mountain towns like Pietrosanti and Carrara. We even took the car for a day trip to Pisa and Cinque Terre which are about an hour's drive away.
Use Lucca as a focal point. Spend the week and explore northern Tuscany.

Room Tip: By restaurant I mean morning breakfast in the dining room. There is no fitness center. Jack Lalanne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apalazzobusdraghi, Direttore at A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review!!
what a nice souvenir we have of your days here!!
Thank you from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 52 in Lucca
1,061 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 52 in Lucca
888 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 52 in Lucca
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca

Property: A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Address: Via Fillungo 170 | Centro Storico, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marta, and all the staff of Palazzo Busdraghi, with the new owner, will welcome their guests in a charming, silent and pleasant atmosphere, attending the guests stay, giving good advices and suggestions of visit, organizing tours to the nearby most interesting sites. June 2012..: Our Residenza is getting renewed! New owner, new management, accessories, perfumes and atmosphere, tasty breakfast! AIC certification for gluten free breakfast, and vegan breakfast on demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing