We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel in a gem of a city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel in a gem of a city”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This lovely, small hotel is truly a special spot. We stayed there for 2 nights to get away from the chaos and noise of Firenze in the throes of tourist season and were not disappointed. We were in camere due which faces the side street (via Busdraghi) and has a whirlpool tub worth the price of the room by itself. But what really makes this quiet hotel so different from so many others we've been in is the people. Andrea, Ingrid and Marta are simply the best. They are kind, helpful and genuinely happy to spend time with you and get to know you. We loved our stay here so much we just went back again this week and they accommodated us in camere due, which was not available when I initially made the reservation.

The room's appointments are comfortable and aesthetically pleasing without being fussy. The separate bath and separate entranceway with large armoire are a plus and add more space to an already generously-sized room, which has a large (queen) bed and a separate single bed/divan. Lighting is great especially the wall reading lamps. The bed is very comfy, so comfy we slept far longer than usual. The room has been painted with care, especially the ceiling. Free wi-fi is a plus.

Andrea recommended 2 restaurants to us, Amodonostro and Canuleia, both of which far exceeded the meals we've had in Firenze. All the staff at Busdraghi know their city and are full of information if you do not know Lucca.

This hotel is located on via Filungo, Lucca's main shopping street. Be sure to ask for a room facing via Busdraghi if noise bothers you.

We love this hotel and we love Lucca. We will return to the Busdraghi, which now feels like a second home to us!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 378Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apalazzobusdraghi, Direttore at A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, so important for us, and for letting people know our small Hotel!
Marta & collegues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    44
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
128
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

All the signs were that this hotel would be a wonderful place to stay - the owner wrote personally to me (having booked through booking.com), which is always a nice touch, and, once we worked out where the hotel was (it is not obvious, but getting in through an ancient doorway on the atmospheric via Fillungo added to the sense of adventure/history), the reception area revealed this hotel to be highly personal - it is absolutely not an anonymous chain hotel!
So, what went wrong? The first night there was a lot of noise from the street (a loud party outside our window continuing until 2am), but, instead of asking to change rooms, we thought it must be a one-off and stayed. It wasn't, and so we had two nights of very little sleep. So - ask for a quiet room, which I assume they have. We didn't have any hot water on the first day, but, again, naively thought it would be back on by the time we came back in the evening. It proved impossible to get hot water before we left, on Sunday morning - I fully admit this was our mistake. As soon as we realised there was no hot water, we should have informed the owner. Overall, the hotel provided a lesson for travellers - ask to change room, and let the management know about problems!

Finally, the main person in charge of the hotel was friendly, charming, and very keen to please. Her breakfasts were lovely. Overall, despite the problems we experienced, I would recommend this hotel, for those who want an atmospheric place to stay and to escape dull chain hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cultural_dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apalazzobusdraghi, Direttore at A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you once more for your review!
we already could explain you about the heating problem, resolved in a few hours.
But thank you for appreciating our service and our welcome!
Marta & collegues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

On our mini tour of Tuscany, we stayed here for 2 nights in Sept 13. The location is perfect, situated just off one of the main streets within Lucca. The entrance and stairway up to the reception area is lovely, in keeping with the old buildings of Lucca (as this is one of). The room (we were in the Junior Suite) was perfect, quiet and on two levels with a sitting area above the main bedroom area. The bathroom contained a great corner jacuzzi bath, however the only downside was the lack of proper shower option should you be in a rush. Marta & the team were great, very warm and welcoming and we would definitely stay again should we visit Lucca in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apalazzobusdraghi, Direttore at A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Wonderful reading your nice review! we are so grateful to you!
Marta & collegues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a very pleasant experience at Palazzo Busdraghi. This hotel is lovely and extremely clean. The rooms are very comfortable, cosy and furnished with taste. The owners and all the staff are extremely kind and helpful. This was one of the very few times when I had nothing to complain about. A big thank you to Andrea and Marta!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massimo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apalazzobusdraghi, Direttore at A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review!
it will be a pleasure meeting you again soon!
Marta and collegues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

After some initial misgivings about Palazzo Busdraghi, we discovered this to be a very pleasant place to spend 6 September 2013 nights in Lucca, a place we came to love. The location is "within in the walls" which gives the visitor a sense of being a part of this ancient city. Palazzo Busdraghi has secure and reserved parking within a short walk from the hotel. There is an extra charge, but the peace of mind is priceless. The original reaction to the hotel can be somewhat negative. The shared courtyard is drab and unappealing, and as one other writer noted, the hotel is a two-story climb. (These are very old buildings and tourists need to have some appreciation for the difficulty of adapting modern concepts to ancient facilities.) The breakfast room is small and lacking in visual appeal but the breakfast is top notch with variety and freshness. Each morning the staff prepares a special opening treat, individually served tableside. The staff are eager to prepare special requests and to honor just about any reasonable dietary request.The rooms are clean and comfortable and good sized for such an ancient building. The strength of this place, and this seems to be universally true, are the people who serve you each day. This is a competent group, pleasant and accommodating in every way. We would be pleased to be guests at Palazzo Busdraghi once again and we recommend it to you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apalazzobusdraghi, Direttore at A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review!
we will try to improve our services and make our Residenza more and more comfortable, following your impressions!
Kindly,
Marta & the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel. The location is excellent and the staff is outstandingly kind.
The wooden entrance doors and inner courtyard are very striking.
The rooms are quite pretty and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel although VERY old has been perfectly updated. Modern bathrooms, comfortable beds and linens, soundproof windows, and air conditioning that works beautifully. Great breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is an easy and short taxi ride from the train station. I wouldn't drive. There are many wonderful places to eat in the immediate area. We had the "red" room overlooking the busy and entertaining street below. Close the windows at night and you won't hear a thing. It is a very good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allegrovideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.6 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#11 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca

Property: A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Address: Via Fillungo 170 | Centro Storico, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marta, and all the staff of Palazzo Busdraghi, with the new owner, will welcome their guests in a charming, silent and pleasant atmosphere, attending the guests stay, giving good advices and suggestions of visit, organizing tours to the nearby most interesting sites. June 2012..: Our Residenza is getting renewed! New owner, new management, accessories, perfumes and atmosphere, tasty breakfast! AIC certification for gluten free breakfast, and vegan breakfast on demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing