We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Al Tuscany B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al Tuscany B&B
Ranked #53 of 173 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2013

If I go back to Lucca, which I hope to do, I would stay at Al Tuscany.

I initially had some trouble finding it before I realized I was checking a map while standing right outside the front door. It is located right in the middle of Lucca and the room was as good or better than rooms I've had other European hotels.

The biggest advantage of this place is probably the owner, who is one of the nicest people I encountered during my trip to Italy. He seemed happy to help me with pretty much anything and even let me and my friend borrow two bikes (for free) to ride around Lucca. That was especially fun because the Lucca city walls are a big pedestrian/bike area with great scenery. I also appreciated that, during breakfast, he cut open some blood oranges (or as lucky Italians call them, regular oranges...) and made some freshly-squeezed orange juice.

The room prices were also very good compared to other places in Lucca, so considering how enjoyable my stay was I don't see a reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DirkStrongguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Al Tuscany in Lucca and we had a wonderful time. It was so centrally located that it made it so easy to walk around anywhere. The accommodations were very comfortable and Claudio, the owner, was the best. He was so helpful with all of our needs and even took us to the train station the morning that we left. I would definitely recommend Al Tuscany for a great place to stay if you are in Lucca.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This is probably the best B&B I've ever stayed in.
I was greeted so warmly by Claudio, the owner, who made me feel completely at home. Tea, lemon and cake was served upon arrival.
The place is very cozy, beautifully decorated with taste, such as antiques, piano, ceiling paintings and frescos. It's a Tuscan dream. I had a good night sleep, slept like a princess and woke up to the gorgeous view over the city roofs.
The B&B is situated perfectly right in the city center of Lucca, close to everything, shops, restaurants and bus station.
Claudio was a brilliant host as well for breakfast. There was a lot of choice. He made us delicious bruschettas.
Claudio was also available for guidance about Lucca, and very helpful.
I had a memorable stay here, and I would love to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adorte74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

we only stayed for one night.
Got the roof room with a nice view over the roofs of the city.
I'ts a very cozy place to stay.
The manager/ host is superb: Inteligent, sociable and very helpful!
Nice breakfast (great cereals, orange juice and nutella :).
I recommend it, but do not expect any luxury!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed one night at Al Tuscany in the large room with its royal setting, ceiling paintings and all. Great views over the rooftops of Lucca. Delicious breakfast with lots of ambiance in group setting. Local cheese and cold cuts, and super coffee or espresso. Don't try to reach the building by car, best to call the host Claudio and have him pilot you in. Good overnight parking at the railway station. Claudio is incredibly patient and service oriented. He hooked us up with a bro-deal at the pizzeria next door. Very good food and local wines. Next time in Lucca we will head straight to Al Tuscany, not without calling Claudio first to guide us though.

Room Tip: Choose the large palace room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Stayed here for 2nights. Claudio couldn't have been more helpful. His rooms are wonderful, quiet, massive, arty, romantic, historic all rolled into one. They are located in an easy to find area in Lucca,s historic area. We borrowed Claudio's bikes and rode around the walls, went to Florence for day trip, is quicker on the bus than the train, would come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brooms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My sister and I had a great time during our one night stay at Al Tuscany. Claudio was warm and welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful booking us our Puccini recital in the church round the corner which was wonderful and much cheaper through Claudio. Very comfortable bed and delicious breakfast to set us up for the day. We were able to leave our luggage there on our last day as we had a late night flight from Piza. All in all a very lovely end to our Italian trip and would recommend this B and B to others for it's convenience, value for money and fabulously central location. The elevator of lovers was hilarious!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noreenBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.1 mi away
Antica Residenza del Gallo
0.0 mi away
Lucca Charm
Lucca Charm
#59 of 173 in Lucca
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bed & Breakfast La Casa del Gufetto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camera con Vista B&B Lucca
Camera con Vista B&B Lucca
#105 of 173 in Lucca
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Anfiteatro
B&B Anfiteatro
#16 of 173 in Lucca
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Il Duomo
B&B Il Duomo
#7 of 173 in Lucca
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Tuscany B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Tuscany B&B

Address: Via Cenami 17, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: £56 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This will be your residence in the heart of Lucca, jewel of Tuscany. The charm of the ancient town that relives a renewed splendour, united to the most modern comforts offers you a really relaxing stay. The rooms have private bathroom, TV, telephone line, mini-bar, individual electronic heating and electronic safe. It is possible to use the kitchen on demand. From the spacious suite you can enjoy the view of the San Martino Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al Tuscany B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing