We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B, fantastic host”
Review of Al Tondone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Tondone
Ranked #57 of 170 Lucca B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic B&B, fantastic host”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed three days at Anna's B&B in Lucca, which is located around 5 min cycling outside the center of the city. Anna is friendly and helpful, and she made our stay fantastic. The breakfast is simple but delicious, and we really got the Italian feeling while looking into the garden while eating the breakfast in the morning. Cycles can be borrowed (free of charge) at the B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sungam1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
72
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Wonderful Bed & Breakfast near Lucca. Anna is a fantastic host, whenever we would ask her for information she would give us a comprehensive overview of all options and she would buy maps for us. She was very kind and always in a good mood, she runs her B&B with so much love and enthusiasm. Al Tondone is not far from Lucca and Lucca is only a ten-minute bike ride (you can borrow the bikes at Al Tondone). Great breakfast and the backyard is a peaceful area to relax. All together this was one of the best B&B’s we have ever stayed and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaartenN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We have recently returned from a most enjoyable stay at this delightful, comfortable B&B run by Anna. She deserves all the compliments paid to her by previous guests. She really couldn't do enough for us and made us most welcome. Lucca is a beautiful unspoiled city and best explored by bicycle which Anna provides for guests. Once we had gained confidence we had a great time on the bikes. At first we were surprised they had no gears - but after our first ride to the city we realised that they are not necessary. We only booked Al Tondone about 10 days beforehand as our plans for a longer stay in Florence did not work out. What a good choice we made.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank munsterwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Anna and Benito were wonderful hosts. Al Tondone is a perfect little piece of Italian countryside, with grapes growing on the vines, roosters crowing in the distance and a cosy atmosphere. The breakfast buffet were amazing, with perfect local cheeses and meats plus yummy crusty buns. Anna gave great suggestions for dinners and outings and we were never disappointed. It was a great place for our Lucca portion of our trip.
Grazie

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 days and enjoyed every minute of it. Anna is so helpful picking us up on arrival and delivering us back to the bus depot when we left plus giving us a short tour by car when she went into the town. Al Tonedone is on the outskirts of Lucca and a short walk into the countryside. Bikes are provided but we chose to walk into the town which took us about 25 minutes and is a good way to see the outskirts of Lucca. We were in a large beautifully furnished room with an ensuite and very comfortable bed. There was a good choice of food available at breakfast and additional choices were made for a vegetarian who was staying there. It is very quiet and quite pleasant just sitting in the garden or conservatory where breakfast you also had breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Absolutely beautiful house and gardens. Anna was so helpful with everything, she gave some excellent recommendations towards restaurants and what to do and where to go. She especially and generously accommodated for my coeliac diet! The place itself is easy to find, once you have done the cycle once [on the free bikes they provide] you feel familiar enough with the route . Beds are really comfy and the hosue is really clean. Had a great authentic italian feel to this part of our trip and are forever grateful!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gembowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My 15 year old son and I stayed here for two nights in June. It was well located, quick 6-7 min bike ride to the walls of Lucca, lovely rooms, very clean. The host Anna was lovely with many good suggestions. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#13 of 51 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.3 mi away
Al Porto di Lucca B&B
Al Porto di Lucca B&B
#3 of 170 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Da Carlos
Hotel Da Carlos
#1 of 1 in Santa Maria del Giudice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Pieve di Sant'Andrea
La Pieve di Sant'Andrea
#1 of 2 in Maggiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
6.1 mi away
Relais Victoria
Relais Victoria
#1 of 1 in San Macario in Monte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Tondone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Tondone

Property: Al Tondone
Address: Via di Fontanella 663 | Localita San Filippo, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Al Tondone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Tondone Lucca
Al Tondone Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing