We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny and charmng bed and breakfast hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alla Dimora Lucense
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tiny and charmng bed and breakfast hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Lovely little hotel inside the city walls in a quiet street. Ester, who seems to do everything, is very helpful. The room we had was small but OK. Breakfast is very limited but the coffee was decent. Wi fi was erratic in the room but better in the common parts and small garden. It's not a place to bring a car. We didin't have one but we could hear that others had some problems.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0nd0nLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    27
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
27
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Last fall, my family and I stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast which we found on tripadvisor. It was on a quiet little side street around the corner from one of Lucca's main streets. Our party of 5 rented one double and one triple room. Both were large, well appointed and immaculate. The AC worked very well. The bathrooms were well stocked with toiletries and decent towels. My husband and I had the "Colonne Mozza" room on the second floor. Even though it was near the elevator, it was very quiet. The staff was very friendly and the manager was gracious. They had a garage for our car. They served a continental breakfast with fruit, cereals, yogurt, donuts and pastries along with coffee, tea, milk and various juices. I like a firm bed and this was probably the firmest bed I have ever slept on. We were able to use the wifi out in the little courtyard garden. We will definitely stay here again, if we go back to Lucca.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The lady who greeted and helped us with information on directions and restaurants was very friendly. Great location.
The minor problem we had was the parking as we had a big car but the owner was happy to help us out with another solution. We did expect this as we were staying in the old part of the city of Lucca.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Located on a quiet side street around the corner from the San Frediano Church with its beautiful mosaic front, Alla Lucense Dimora offers a comfortable and friendly place to unwind after your day of exploring Lucca's impressive wall and sampling its many fine bistros. Sara and her mother, Rosanna, run a well oiled machine that makes the extra effort to please. We rented a triple and a twin on the second floor. The facilities are not expansive (especially the typically European shower), but they most certainly are sufficient on a budget. Wi-fi is available, generally strongest in the first floor breakfast room (nice starting meal included in room price) and in the lounge areas of the upper floors.

As noted at the start, Lucense's ace in the hole is its blissfully quiet location in a very busy tourist town. The bidet always reminds me of how civilized the Europeans are. Garage parking for €10 extra per night is well worth it, as legal street parking inside the wall is near non-existent. You will find any inconveniences quickly cured by Sara and Ester at the front desk. A very nice find, which we reserved through Booking.com.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newsmyrnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

after ending up at a revolting hotel in Prato during a weekend with a major cycle race, I found Alla Dimora Lucense at the last minute using Trip Advisor.
My mum and I left our bus tour and boarded the train for Lucca. Unsure of what to find arriving at the train station we breathed a sigh of relief, the town just had a lovely feel.

The taxi driver took about 10 minutes to reach the hotel in the narrow streets of the old town. We were received by the manager and we felt very welcome. She showed us to our room on the top floor. A lift took us 2 floors and we had to carry the bags up another. It was not too hard. The room had a small sitting room with a double sofa bed, and upstairs had a queen bed and the bathroom. The view from the windows was of the roofs … a favourite of mums so she was very happy. It was a really quiet and peaceful. The beds were not the most comfortable, and we were happy to stay only 2 nights on them, but that was the only downside.

The breakfasts were simple and continental, as expected … the croissants tasty and fresh with lovely fresh coffee.

Wifi was easy to use in the courtyard, and meant the room really was an ideal escape.

The communication with the hotel was good - with my booking confirmed (with a personal email) at 11pm at night. Above and beyond for a family hotel.

Lucca itself is lovely, stay within the walls and you will adore it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Alla Dimora Lucense for a long weekend in October, visiting for our friends' wedding. We arrived early to a busy reception but were greeted warmly and told that our room was ready for us. Our room was large and clean and although it was next to the breakfast room, not too noisy. The hotel is in a quiet side road but in a great central location near to shops and restaurants (less than a minute's walk). The staff were friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Grand-Pressigny, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My friends and I stayed at Alla Dimora Lucense recently for three nights. The proprietress/manager was so very helpful and kind, she repeatedly went far beyond the necessary to help us. She gave us train timetables, called a taxi, gave wonderful restaurant recommendations, and much more. Our rooms were huge, great bathroom, furnishings were fine except the pillows are like sacks of cement and the bedside light so dim I had to use a flashlight. Breakfast in a cheery room was, however, disappointing. There were piles of packaged little cookies or muffins that looked revolting, and the coffee was surprisingly weak considering we're in Italy after all. Otherwise, some sad fruit, fresh pastries and yogurts. There was also a nice lounge with wifi and comfy couches. The location can't be beat, overall I really enjoyed my stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street may be slightly more exposed to night-time noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbondanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Luna
Hotel La Luna
#19 of 51 in Lucca
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.2 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 51 in Lucca
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Ai Borghi
#46 of 51 in Lucca
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais San Lorenzo
Relais San Lorenzo
#18 of 51 in Lucca
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Dimora Lucense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Dimora Lucense

Property: Alla Dimora Lucense
Address: via Fontana, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alla Dimora Lucense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Dimora Lucense Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing