We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original and very confortable”
Review of Corte di Re Artu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Corte di Re Artu
Ranked #44 of 177 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Location in great, just 400 metres from Lucca ancient walls.
The room (Suite Ginevra) was exactly as in the website pictures, very spacious and confortable, originally decorated (medieval style) and with accurated details. The heater was perfect, you can choose the temperature you prefer. The tub in the room is absolutely fantastic!!! bathroom is large and well equipped. There was also a mini bar and a safe. The only negative feature was the mattress, not very confortable.
The breakfast was good and various and the breakfast room very nice.
Even if there is no reception, when we arrived we found the keys in the postal box and we found everything we needed.
Better than many hotels.

La posizione è ottima, appena 400 metri dalle antiche mura di Lucca.
La Suite Ginevra è spaziosa e confortevole, decorata in maniera originale e con attenzione ai dettagli. Il riscaldamento autonomo permette di regolare la temperatura desiderata. La vasca da bagno nella stanza era fantastica!!! Il bagno grande e ben equipaggiato. C'era anche un minibar e la cassetta di sicurezza.
L'unica nota negativa è stato il materasso, sottile e troppo morbido, non molto confortevole. La colazione era abbondante e varia. Anche se non c'è una vera e propria reception, al nostro arrivo abbiamo trovato le chiavi nella cassetta delle lettere e in camera c'era tutto quello di cui avevamo bisogno.
In conclusione, meglio di molti hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Eternoviaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2008

We stayed 2 nights with our two girls (aged 12& 8 yrs) at this lovely B&B which we booked directly with the property. I had really nice emails from Serena who unfortunately we never got to meet. Serena offered us the Mago Merlino suite with two extra beds for the girls. When looking at the website you realise it's not your typically decorated B&B. There are beautiful stone walls and lovely, cool tiled flooring and some very intricate artwork on the wall!! The roll top bath is actually a very nice touch I think. When the rest of my family were having an afternoon nap I had a long soak with a good book! There is also a good sized bathroom with shower.

As described by a previous reviewer, if arriving after a certain time the keys are left in the postbox along with a nice letter from the owner welcoming you to the property. (this was advised to us by email before we left so we knew what to expect) There are a few parking spaces directly outside but there is a car park just a minute away.

Breakfast is basic continental style. Perfect way to start the day with coffee, hot chocolate, tea etc served and then it's help yourself to the table with pastries, cold meat, cheese, toast etc.

The property is a 5 minute walk from Porta San Iacopo - one of the main entrances to the walled city - and we found it very easy walking in and both nights.

Lucca is one of our favourite places in Italy and we'd certainly come back to this B& B.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2008

I agree with virtually all the other reviewers. We stayed in the large Mago Merlino suite. At first we were a bit put off by (a) the two floor hike up the stairs without help (b) the King Arthur motif (see photo); and (c) the fact that there was no one there to meet us at 5 pm (the keys were left in the mail slot, no worries).

After the initial surprise, though, we really had a good time. That particular suite (a large room, really), had both a shower and a large above ground tub, so we had fun.

At night, we were tired after having walked and biked all day, and we ended up driving to the parking garage inside the walls for dinner, but we really could easily have walked from the hotel. If you go to Lucca, you should definitely bike, as it is absolutely the way to get around.

There aren't a lot of hotels in the walls, and it's not easy to drive in the walls, so the other big advantage of this hotel is that there is free and ample parking right at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

The B&B itself is great, the other reviews cover it well. I am posting just to let people know that Lucca more or less shuts down on week nights at 8PM during March. Not great if you are on holiday. Other than that the town is pretty etc. but other places such as Siena, San Gimignano, Florence, Volterrra all had some nightlife. I don't mean clubs or dancing, just bars and restaurants. Lucca was completely dead. Would I am sure be different in the summer but was very disappointed for a large town to be so quiet.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank MaynoBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

Even though we appreciated the hotel position (near the town), the furniture, and the excellent croissants, our room was quite small, we didn't have the chance to meet anyone of the owners of the hotel (which was closed at 5 pm until the next morning).
Moreover on the second day of our stay, at 8.45 am we were awaked by someone knocking at our own door and shouting "Breakfast!" (which was supposed to be available from 8.15 am until 10.00 am).
And due to the absence of the owners in the hotel, as we finished the toilet paper we couldn't get any and had to use our tissues!!!
Actually not so good indeed!!

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank binnu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2008

The hotel is something a little different from the ordinary as the whole place is themed around King Arthur. As a result the hotel has real character and is very well decorated. The girl whowe dealt with at the property was really helpful and gave us free coffee on our arrival due to the bad weather! It was very much appreciated. Only slight complaints are there seems to be noise from other rooms, perhaps down to the tiling on the floors and it is not the easiest place to find, but i would say it is well worth the effort as it offers good value for money in Lucca which seems to be quite expensive. The hotel is outside the City walls but this isn't so much of a problem as it is only a 25 minute walk to the centre of town.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClovaTheWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2007

We had a great few days at this B and B... We are coming out to Lucca in July to get married and my family chose to stay here so we thought we would check it out and see what they were in for... our room was great- we were given a big double with a large bath in the bedroom and a separate bathroom too, all for 85 euros- we are having over 50 people to our wedding and so have seen lots of b and b's in Lucca and this one has to be up there with the best ones.
The staff were friendly and even gave us a bottle of wine to take home when we checked out which was a nice touch.
Breakfast was good too - lots of choice and the coffee was good too.
The b and b is slightly away from the city walls but the five minute walk in is pleasant enough and gives you the chance to see the outside of the walls which you probably wouldn't if you chose to stay inside the city.
I'm really happy my family are staying here for the duration of our wedding - the owners have done a great job of turning this into a good little b and b and I'm sure we'll return in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozzycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.8 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
1.8 mi away
Eurostars Toscana
Eurostars Toscana
#16 of 48 in Lucca
682 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Corte Degli Dei
Villa Corte Degli Dei
#14 of 177 in Lucca
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
B&B Anfiteatro
B&B Anfiteatro
#15 of 177 in Lucca
431 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lucca Charm
Lucca Charm
#53 of 177 in Lucca
50 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corte di Re Artu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corte di Re Artu

Address: Via San Marco 443, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: £31 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corte di Re Artu 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Corte di Re Artu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corte Di Re Artu Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing