We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is just superb”

Ristorante La Norma
Ranked #11 of 594 Restaurants in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Shropshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is just superb”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

La Norma is just fantastic. It's tucked away on quiet Via San Nicholas and well worth seeking it out. It is a newly opened restaurant and has a very nice, relaxed atmosphere. The tasting menu was so good and each course was a delight to the eye and the taste buds. The restaurant has a good menu choice and an extensive wine list. The waiting staff were knowledgeable, helpful and attentive. This is the best meal and eating experience we have had in Lucca. It is highly recommended and we have booked a return visit during our stay

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shropshireladandlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    122
    31
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Time at La Norma”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The food was ok. The service was awful. There are too many really nice restaurants in Lucca which offer better food and superior service to the diners. We were seated and basically ignored for an hour and a half. The locals were seated in the main area of the restaurant and were well taken care of. The tourists like us were seated in the bar area which was rarely visited by wait staff. We had one glass of wine and one entrée and it took 1.5 hours to eat and get checked out.

The menu was limited and not spectacular.

The purpose of this review is to advise travelers to select another restaurant. The poor service offered to tourists here makes this a very poor choice to dine.

To top it off, I discovered when I returned home a week later, the restaurant charged my credit card twice for the meal!

AVOID La NORMA!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The most wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Never have I felt passionate enough to write a review! We decided to come here on our first night in Lucca. It really set the tone for our absolutely amazing time there. From the second we walked in, we felt like we were being welcomed into and old friend's home. The degustation menu was creative, innovative modern Sicilian food that just warmed our hearts and blew us away. Even more amazing, the chef personally came to visit each table. Our waitress was so kind and friendly, helping us choose suitable wine to match our degustation. We came on our last night because we loved it so much but sadly it was booked out. Grazie di cuore from David and Melanie from Sydney Australia x x

Helpful?
1 Thank melanieclaire82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Thank you other reviewers -great choice”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We had just arrived in Italy and had read the good trip advisor reports so we called in to book a table for Tuesday evening but they were closed that day So we decided to stay and have a single course they were kind enough to fit us in and they did explain that we would have a wait for our order even though it was 730pm and suggested that we had a starter we declined as we were not that hungry. The waitress made an excellent recommendation of a bottle of wine Placido Rizzoto Blanco which was dry with a delicate flavour maybe pear? Anyway it was lovely. See pic as we waited for our main the waitress brought us a small dish from the chef a bit like an Italian ratatouille (see pic) it was delicious along with bread and fabulous olive oil our main courses were delicious too had the fish of the day and my husband had the octopus which he said was perfectly cooked. A delightful unexpected evening the waitress service was first class helpful,efficient and discreet . We would throughly recommend this restaurant .

Helpful?
5 Thank BrendaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We went to this place on a whim. They have only been open for one month. Empty at first but filled completely by the time we left so would recommend reservations. We had the chefs choice which I would recommend. Antipasti (5 small tasters of delicious sophisticated appetizers), pasta, fish, dessert wine and dessert for €30 each. The staff is very helpful and kind and the chef made a special meal for my daughter and added extra cannoli for the children. The food was simply outstanding with great portion sizes. We left full but not overstuffed. Best meal we have had in Italy so far.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lukerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante La Norma also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Ristorante La Norma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing