We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, friendly, dated hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Stipino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Stipino
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Civita Castellana, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Simple, friendly, dated hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

The reviews all seem to be right: this is a simple, average Italian hotel. From the moment you step into the building, you are transported to another century (and, per the comments of my friend who traveled with me, to your "grandmothers spare bedroom"). The decor is dated, kitsch, almost nostalgic, and about what one could expect from a budget Italian hotel. On a positive note, the hotel is rather clean and provides free parking for its guests. The location couldn't be better, as it is located only a few hundred meters from the city walls on a quiet street. Although I would have preferred to stay within the walls of Lucca, I have to admit that I was pleasantly surprised by the beautiful architecture outside of the center- Lucca's population is concentrated in the center and luckily there is little of the ugly 1960s and 1970s apartments blocks that are found in other Italian cities. The manager of the building was also quite friendly, although he did not make any effort to speak English when he realized that one of his guests wasn't Italian. Our room had one small tv, two modest beds, a desk, mirror, and everything else one would expect. The heating was central throughout the entire building and it was a bit cold. Our bathroom was private but not connected to our room. We had to cross the hallway every time we needed to use it! I actually think I would stay here again, because the price is right and I was more than comfortable for one night.

Room Tip: Get a room with an attached bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpontar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    46
    34
    12
    4
See reviews for
18
66
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Really friendly owners, very welcoming. Basic room but with everything you need. 5 mins walk into the walled part of the city so well situated. Supermarket close by so good if you are on a budget, we had a picnic lunches sat on the walls.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, California, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

The Hotel Stipino was the least favorite hotel of our trip. The room had an off odor, and ashtrays were present on the bed stands (we always request non smokers). The room was small, the shower consisted of a depression in the floor with a drain between folding shower partitions. The first night, a group of drunks sitting outside our window in a patio woke us, and kept us awake for an hour. The breakfast was skimpy, but ok. Clean, if you don't mind dust bunnies. Paid wi-fi worked. On-site parking was good, and we were walking distance from the old city. This is very much an economy hotel, so don't expect much.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room next or above the patio. People like to hang out and talk, smoke, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chadwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lucca hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Make sure u ask for a non smoking room. We had to suffer in a room that reeked of years of tobacco smoke. Staff were nice but were unable to move us. Location is ok, a short walk to the city wall.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiMBiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormskirk,lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here twice over the years and on the second time the owner remembered us and gave me a bottle of his family's wine as a goodbye present. Now what chain hotel would do that? It's about 5 mins walk from the old town walls and then a beautiful 10 min stroll to the centre. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank damoderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidays
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Hotel is very clean and staff and owners are very helpfull and friendly. The breakfast is ok. Staying at this hotel is like being back 20 years as the place seems to need updating but apart from that it is ok if you don’t mind that.

Room Tip: Hotel and roomsneed updating but apart from that it is ok if you don’t mind it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aambrosone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

When you're not in need of extraordinary luxury and just need a good place to sleep in a good old-fashioned bed this is the place to be. Very friendly staff, always with a smile, and including a good breakfast. As a bonus the hotel offers free parking space.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m3ghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Melecchi
Hotel Melecchi
#17 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bernardino
Hotel Bernardino
#42 of 53 in Lucca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Albergo Diana
Albergo Diana
#32 of 53 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Carignano
Hotel Carignano
#34 of 53 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
3.6 mi away
Il Ponte
Il Ponte
#35 of 53 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stipino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stipino

Property: Hotel Stipino
Address: Via Romana 95, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stipino 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new management of the Hotel Stipino, situated a few meters outside the ancient wall of the old town of Lucca, has completely renovated the hotel in April 2015, creating modernity and shininess in a structure known for years, using new and fresh fabrics and wood flooring. 20 different types of rooms are available to the customers, free WiFi throughout the hotel, ample free parking and the possibility of renting bicycles and transfer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Stipino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing