We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owners; same wonderful garden, service, and terrific food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Canuleia

Canuleia
Ranked #17 of 584 Restaurants in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“New Owners; same wonderful garden, service, and terrific food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Canuleia is the most romantic place in all of Lucca. The garden is so beautiful, so romantic. The service is delightful. Elenora makes sure that the wonderful food prepared by her husband, chef Matteo, who for many years plied his trade in Switzerland, gets to you on time and in a friendly manner. I love this place; I have loved it for years, over four changes of ownership. I think you'll like this one too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank bobpowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matteo c, Proprietario at Canuleia, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Google Translation
Buongiorno

Grazie della visita e della bella recensione è sempre un piacere avervi in Trattoria.
A presto


Eleonora e Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    292
    79
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winters
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Magical garden in a quaint Lucca,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We got to Lucca early in the morning and were surprised that Stevie Wonder was performing in the piazza that night. Luckier yet, we found out we could still get tickets to see him. We had to spend the entire day in Lucca waiting to see him, so being tired we were so delighted walking through Canuleia's little entry cafe to find ourselves in their magical garden. It was so cool and relaxing, the food so delicious but the best part was the owners (a married couple), their family and staff that made us feel so welcome and appreciated. See our photos if you want to see how sweet they are.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeGardnerWinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matteo c, Proprietario at Canuleia, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Google Translation
Buongiorno

Grazie della inaspettata ma molto gradevole visita è stato un vero piacere potervi ospitare da Noi Grazie anche dell'ottima recensione e delle belle foto scattate insieme.
Al prossimo concerto!!!!!!!!!


Eleonora e Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very well cooked and well presented food in a secret garden!
The restaurant is easily passed by,walk through to a beautiful shaded walked garden great food and servuce

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheoFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matteo c, Proprietario at Canuleia, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Google Translation
Buongiorno

Grazie della visita e dell ottima recensione veramente felici di avervi colpito positivamente.
A presto.

Eleonora e Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A beautiful garden setting with exquisite food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had dinner with friends at this local restaurant. We booked on line in advance a table in the garden. The food was delicious and the wine recommended by our waitress was great too. The portion sizes were quite small for the price but the quality was top class!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark-Rainsforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matteo c, Proprietario at Canuleia, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Google Translation
Buongiorno

Grazie della visita e della bella recensione veramente lieti di avervi soddisfatto.
A presto.

Eleonora e Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Lucca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have had a chance to enjoy quite a lot of restaurants in Lucca over the years. This is really one of our favorites.

Exemplary service and wonderful food served in their inner courtyard.

Make sure to book since people come in all the time only to get disappointed that it is full.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JPF_GOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matteo c, Proprietario at Canuleia, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Google Translation
Buongiorno

Grazie della visita e della bella recensione veramente lieti di avervi soddisfatti a pieno e chiaramente anche del fatto che ci riteniate uno dei Vostri locali preferiti.
A presto.

Eleonora e Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canuleia also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Canuleia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing